We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Canberra to your Saves list
Novotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed overnight at Novotel Canberra on our way home from a five day trip around the Snowy Mountains and planed to be in town for NYE and wanted to watch the fireworks which we walked the 5 minutes to Civic Sq to watch.
The room we had was very good, quite and well layed out and we would consider staying there again if it suits our plans.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear RJJSydney

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy your NYE’s in Canberra whilst staying at the Novotel. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    1,107
    452
    98
    43
See reviews for
680
831
238
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kurri Kurri, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The room was very clean and bedding was fresh and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent, with plenty of space. The airconditioning, television and bar fridge worked well. Room service was excellent and staff excellent. Reception was always helpful. Parking was atrocious, although the parking staff were polite and helpful. Restaurants were very close by and this was useful, as we could walk comfortably.On our first night, guests in the room beside ours were holding a party of sorts, there was shrieking, laughing, jumping, banging of doors and loud music. (unsure from where they were sourcing their music. We decided to see it out, with an intent to contact reception if the noise had not ceased by 11.30 pm. As it happend, the noise abated just prior to that time. The next night there was no noise at all from that room. We cannot say with certainty that we would stay at the Novotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A great central location to see the sights over a weekend.

Get in early for brekkie, it was packed and they ran out of plates!

Parking is at the back!!

Staff found my lost sun glasses. A very courteous team too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Novotel Hotel in Canberra is a great location , for any stay in Canberra. It is very central to all restaurants and main shopping centre, Canberra Centre. The rooms have been upgraded and are very comfortable, and the first floor restaurant serves a fairly good meal. Breakfast buffet is fine, with assortment of Organic food, and fresh Orange Juice. The Gym is fairly small, with a bunch of treadmills, and bikes, and free weights. The swimming pool and spa, is good, but was very crowded when we were there bw Xmas and New Year. Location wise cannot fault, as its right next to the main interstate bus terminal ( if you are travelling by coach, it is very convenient), and close to all attractions in Canberra.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor is where the Pool and Gym are located. If you want to be close by these facilities the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Lew88,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Canberra when you visit the nation's Capital. It is our goal to create a great experience for guests that are staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Canberra in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel over New Year. Location was great as we could just walk into town in minutes. Hotel rooms really look like they are for business travellers. Very clean and comfortable but that's it. Breakfast buffet was great but - given the time of year - very busy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool was useful for the kids and for viewing the NYE fireworks. Pay extra for car parking - its not valet but you have to hand in your keys. Some car spaces very difficult to get into. Overall the stay was just OK.

Room Tip: Search websites to get the best deal for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A good standard hotel in a central location in the Civic area of Canberra. Staff very helpful and ensured that we had a room as per our request (room at back of hotel with bath). Free wifi was a great bonus. Breakfast which was included in the price was fantastic. Amazing choice of hot and cold buffet, fruit etc which was excellent quality. Would definitely recommend the two queen room for families as very spacious. They do ask for keys to be left at the car park but as we had a hire car we were not happy to do this which we explained to the staff and there were no problems or issues with this,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym, and the onsite One Restaurant and Bar. Winner of the Canberra & Capital Region Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism in 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.