We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Canberra to your Saves list
Novotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I was given a balcony floor room at no extra cost when I told them I have a preference for a window because I need to sleep with fresh air coming in.

When I left behind my hands free mobile earplugs, they sent them to me but unfortunately sent them in an unpadded envelope so they were broken on arrival. They couldn't have been more apologetic and helpful, they replaced them with a brand new pair without a fuss.

Because of that I will always make a point of staying there!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Wishingwell_fc

It is great to know that we were able to accommodate to your requests efficiently. I apologise again for the head phones, and hope that the new ones are being used well. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    1,109
    452
    98
    43
See reviews for
681
831
238
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Room was quiet, large, comfortable and clean. Hotel location is very convenient, reasonable value for money, right at the bus station, the staff were very warm and welcome, easily walk to a variety of shopping / restaurant / bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was at Novotel in November 2011 for a business trip to Canberra. I was in Sydney for a week and decided to go to Canberra by using the Bus Service which I must say was Awesome. It took around 3 hours to reach the bus station at Canberra and the Hotel was right adjacent to the station.. Wow, that is awesome since you do not want to get into the expensive cabs of Australia.. They are EXPENSIVE...

Anyways, hotel is in the business district hence it has easy access to all the offices. People staying here are mostly business travelers and the hotel is quite in demand. Yes, the property is good, a bit dated though, but there are not much options in Canberra to my surprise.

The room was nice, though the view was disappointing... It had an old look to it due to the boring color of tiled floor... With the price i paid I was at least expecting Wall to Wall carpet.. Nice eating joints nearby, though Canberra itself is DEAD by 9 PM usually...

The staff was decent and helpful. Overall a great option among the very few which you have in Canberra. As said before, its expensive, hence would not book for personal trips for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCanberra, Manager at Novotel Canberra, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear SunnyDua

It is always great feedback from guests to hear that our location is convenient and aids them in their day to day activities with getting around Canberra. Thank you for taking time to provide us with this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Novotel in Canberra is in an excellent location, only minutes from all major venues. The rooms are very comfortable and with a walk in shower just perfect.
The buffet breakfast was delicious.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Canberra

Address: 65 Northbourne Ave | Act, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#9 Family Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#12 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Canberra offers premium 4.5 Star hotel accommodation in the heart of the nation's capital and close to the retail, entertainment and business district. Novotel Canberra features 286 rooms, suites and apartments, all with a comfortable, modern design. The hotel features an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, spa and gym, and the onsite One Restaurant and Bar. Winner of the Canberra & Capital Region Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism in 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Canberra Hotel Canberra
Accor Canberra
Canberra Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.