We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Canberra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Canberra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Canberra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Spent one night here recently after a harrowing day and it was like being in heaven! Very tasty room service meal, a little TV and off to sleep in a very comfortable bed - what more could one want? The staff are extremely polite and pleasant and prompt with service delivery.
Just love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    250
    96
    45
    29
See reviews for
101
311
46
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Overall: this is a well situated, charming hotel with character. Although not without minor flaws (see below), for the right price in my view it's the perfect Canberra stay.
We stayed for 1 night in the entry level room: a deluxe king. We paid a rate of AUD$230 for the night from hotel.com.
The room: it was very large room, with an enormous bathroom with full bath. Although the style was marginally dated (due in part I guess to the nod at the period style of the hotel), it was well maintained and very comfortable. The bed was great. We were on the ground floor and looked to the carpark through a small garden. All in all, lovely despite the limited outlook.
The hotel: it tries very hard to maintain the 20s feel, and succeeds. It has a very nice atmosphere throughout the hotel.
Pluses: location (next to the lake and close to major tourist attractions); the price for what was provided (a very high quality hotel, with free wifi and free parking); the gym and swimming pool (plus we were offered free use of bikes to ride around); the service was uniformly friendly and professional.
Minuses (relatively minor but could do better): some maintenance issues in the room (chipped bathtub; some stained shower tiles); warm and relatively tasteless room service coffee; noises from other rooms - particularly water use.
In summary: excellent value for the rate we paid, and a very enjoyable stay despite our minor quibbles. Easily beats the other Canberra hotels for its mixture of charm, comfort and ambiance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you are a lover of heritage buildings, then you will appreciate the early 20th century features and décor. Unfortunately there is a price to pay with heritage and that is lack of soundproofing between rooms and noisy air conditioning. Generally service was excellent - staff greet at any opportunity. For a five star hotel though, I was disappointed find no hand towels or face washers in my room. Fluffier towels would have been appreciated as well. Breakfast is overpriced, with few alternative options within walking distance. Within walking distance to major attractions such as Parliament House, National Gallery, and National Library.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A wonderful heritage hotel with a lot of class. From the amazing decor, the sprawling buildings, quirky dressed doormen, easy parking, great location near the city. lake and some major attractions the Hyatt is amazing. We loved room 354 because of it's quiet leafy outlook overlooking the gigantic Chinese embassy. Protestors were a little noisy at times but the noise was rare. We learned quickly that this area was a long way from reception but was very close to the Ambassador lounge for breakfast and evening drinks and canapes. We changed where we parked our car from the front to the back of the hotel near the swimming pool and gym.
The breakfast and canapes were fine and the eating room comfy. Having a spa and swim on a cold Canberra afternoon was wonderful. Great showers and lockers if you want them. Lots of gym equipment if you have time or inclination.
The room was luxurious and the bathroom amazing. We found the huge king bed and long pillows much too soft but not much else was at fault.
We could not have afforded to stay at the Hyatt if not for a 72 hour special we found in the Sunday Canberra Times so we were grateful for the opportunity. We would not recommend paying the full price which was exorbitant considering there are many Canberra hotels offering similar for quarter of the price. Still enjoying a piece of Canberra history felt very luxurious and special indeed. They do need more staff on at check in time and maps or a room compendium to help you find your way around the large hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony opening. The hotel is hot but room comfortable especially if you can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Canberra Hyatt Hotel shows how good Aussie hospitality can be. Definitely the best stay I have ever had in an Australian hotel and right up there with the best internationally. Rooms, cuisine and service al exceptional. Not a glossy Asian shopping mall or high rise hotel, simply a classic old style hotel with quality refurbishment a while back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed for a conference for three nights at the Hyatt in Canberra. The staff was friendly and helpful but overwhelmed at busy check-in and check-out times. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. Breakfast is not included in the package which is a disadvantage as there are no other breakfast places around the hotel. In general, there is a limited number of restaurants. The hotel compound is huge and you have to walk quite a lot. The hotel is in the government district with a limited number of facilities around.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and spent last Friday and Saturday night at the Hyatt on a promotional package, at all times we were met with great courtesy and professionalism. The service we received from the staff in the Ambassador Lounge for evening canapes, drinks and for breakfast was wonderful and the staff are to be congratulated. The seafood buffet was also well up to expectations. Throughout our stay we found that the quality of the components and attention to detail in service of the food was of the highest order. The delicate use of a dressing brought the sometimes bland Balmain Bug to a really tasteful event,careful presentation of the Baby Octopus and the Pacific Mussels raised these components to avery high level. The overall selection of dishes available was above expectation.
All in all the whole stay was a wonderful experience. Other establishments should take note of the way in which the staff present themselves, thereby using this model to raise their standards.
Full marks to all, both front and back of house.
Will be back

Room Tip: Doubt if you will be disappointed in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.