We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at its best at time of year? But still good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not at its best at time of year? But still good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was another visit - and not as good as the last but, if I hadn't stayed before, I probably would think nothing of it. It may have been because it was the very slow period between Christmas and New Year, but the service just wasn't up to Hyatt standard. Reception was slow (both check-in and check-out) and not particularly welcoming. Likewise in the cafe: service was slow, but at least it was friendly. Room was great and the hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    301
    112
    53
    35
See reviews for
132
445
53
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I have just had one night at the Hyatt. We have stayed at the hotel many times over the years and we have never had a bad experiance. This stay, we had a deluxe park room, first time, normally stay in the newer rooms at the rear of the hotel. We were not disppointed, room was a good size, with a view over the gardens. Beds are always good and bathroom is large. Only negative was the cobwebs on the windows and on the air conditioning ducts. The buffet breakfast is just about the best around (almost as good as Westin Frankfurt), huge selection of cold and hot food, pastries and egg station, if you wish. Good flat whites as well.
Just before we left, my wife had a coffee in the lounge - $6.50 is just a bit steep !!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a bed and breakfast package as the breakfast is very expensive otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

A great classy Art Deco hotel - feels like a country club house. We found the service excellent - check in was a little slow but a group arrived in front of us - stuff happens! The rooms are clean and large as are the bathrooms. The gardens and bar area are nice. Room service was expensive and the food ok - the only area that wasn't up to scratch. The prices were 5* - the food was 3*. You're walking distance from Parliament (new & old), parks and Lake Burley Griffin. A great characterful place to stay in Canberra

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I arrived early from Melbourne and were treated to an early check in. We had a few hours to kill before a wedding we were attending so we went and grabbed a coffee from the lounge area. We sat outside and it felt as if we were in the middle of the country - beautiful green grass with trees and flowers. A perfect place to relax. Our only complaint would be that the coffee was dreadful and the gardeners just popped out of nowhere and we were forced to leave due to my boyfriends nasty hay fever.

We then decided to go into town for lunch, and all of the staff members were willing to help. I find that at some hotels with high star ratings the staff members are forced to be stuffy and are reluctant to chat, whereas at the Hyatt in Canberra everyone seemed down to earth and willing to chat - again aiding the country-like feel.

Our wedding later that evening served only a few canapés, so on return to our room we ordered room service - it came promptly and was the perfect (almost) midnight snack.

In all the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the staff were fantastic - would we stay again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic Park King room and it was large and comfortable enough for one evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I'd stay here again, don't get me wrong, but i'd call it 4.5 stars, not 5. The rooms were large (the large bathrooms might have made it seem more this way).

The service wasn't quite right. My check in might have been done by a trainee, otherwise I can't explain why she was paying little attention to me and constantly looking at what her friends were doing behind the scenes. I asked her to pass amessage on to my partner who would be a few minutes behind me (to let him know our room no.) instead he waited in the near empty lobby for a half hour.

I'd recommend getting a room with breakfast. The spread is great, plus a la carte is just as expensive as buffet. I'm pretty sure room plus breakfast for two is cheaper than room plus two paying for buffet separately.

So the room was large but old, the service wasn't great, breakfast was expensive, and there's no shops close by. But returning to Canberra, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach NSW Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

By far, our favourite hotel in Canberra, the olde world style combined with great service and really good maintenance throughout, make for a pleasant stay.
Our room was terrific and genuinely spotless, there were two comfortable chairs, an often overlooked essential, bed and linen configuration tailored to our requests.
The Christmas lunch was as expected from the Hyatt, good quality and plentiful. The included wine choice was average in selection and quality though.
We were lucky enough to be waited upon by Stewart who should be on stage with his remarkable humour, he added a very pleasant dimension to our lunchtime.
Yes, it is a little expensive but you do get what you pay for and this is not always the case with some establishments.
Some of the extras that all hotels seem to be hitting you with these days are there but experienced travellers know how to avoid the more outrageous ones.
Add to this the very pleasant surroundings to walk off the aforementioned lunch and this hotel really has it all.
One surprising aspect in such a grand and traditional style place was (with the exception of two sparsely decorated Christmas trees), the lack of Festive Season decorations, which in the past have been wonderful.
We quizzed staff on this obvious omission and couldn't get a clear decision between cost and "political correctness".
We will investigate doing it again next year as overall, it was a marvellous experience.

Room Tip: The sunny side rooms in Summer can be very hot in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We (4) booked Christmas lunch at the Hyatt in the Canberra room. We chose this particular room because it was smaller than others suggested. It was a buffet lunch with tons of seafood, hot dishes, amazing desserts but with a very small cheese selection. We were disappointed though with the vegetables. With a hot lunch we would have expected the roast potatoes, pumpkin, carrots etc. but there was only mashed potato which was not impressive. There were some hot vegetables - baby squash and some greens. The lunch included drinks and we found the house wines to be very good. When we asked why there wasn't any of the usual vegetables you got with christmas we were told that the new head chef who was Indian decided that they weren't needed. What actually made our day was the service. Not only from chef Michael but the waiting staff which was impeccable. Would think twice about another christmas here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Address: Commonwealth Avenue | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#2 Business Hotel in Canberra
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Hotel Canberra 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Listed Hotel which retains many of the classic Art Deco design elements of the original building built in 1924. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Canberra
Canberra Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.