We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value for cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really only needed a room close to the office for an overnight trip. BW Monaro served the purpose - tidy enough, small studio style. Park at the door and walk in to the room. Smallish bathroom, but serviceable. Liked the fact there was no a/c, but ventilated room. Didn't wake up with the usual stuffed up sinus from hotel room.

Room Tip: Doors don't seal, so let in headlights/engine noise from carpark right in front. Not good if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thanks for the review. All of our rooms have access to an opening window, which is important to some. I am pleased you found us value for money which is a good result with such a good location. Hope we see you again.
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
24
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We unfortunately had to visit Canberra for a family members funeral, I rang Best Western early on the morning we left Gosford to book in for that day, the staff was so helpful I asked if possible could we occupy our room about 12.00, the lady on the phone said your room will be ready by 11.30am just in case you arrive earlier them expected. We didn't arrive till 12.40pm & were in such a hurry to leave for the church the staff said just fill n the forms when you return don't worry now, then she asked us if we knew our way to the church we said we didn't, so she said don't worry I will print it out for you, we went to our room to change then a few minutes later there was a knock on our door with printed instructions for us. The staff & manager Graham, were so courteous & friendly, our room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable, tea coffee milk & even a few little cookies for us. If your staying in Canberra do yourself a favour & stay at Best Western, believe me you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We try to accommodate the needs of our guests and it was not difficult in your case to make the room available early and help with some directions. Glad you were comfortable despite the circumstances of your trip.
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The car park is a nightmare to get in and out of and there is not enough spaces for all guests. Many have to park on the median strip or in the street. The motel rooms are tiny and cramped. The rooms are old and outdated but have been given a quick coat of paint in an attempt to modernise. This was our first trip to Canberra and we chose this motel as it was close to our friends we were visiting. We have since learned that there are much, much better motels and accommodation in the same area where we could have stayed if we had known at the time. The overall poor experience at this motel marred our time in Canberra. Look elsewhere. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you AP for your review.

I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations.

We are fortunate that there is extra parking available free of charge on the street right at our drive, when required, as well as a public carpark with free overnight parking right at our back gate.

I beg to differ on " the quick coat of paint" as I personally supervised the total renovation of every room from the complete removal and rebuilding of bathrooms, new plumbing, lighting, bedding, cabinets, curtains plus the addition of all in-room facilities such as microwaves, flat screen TVs and a full repaint over a period of around two years.

We are aware that there are other motel properties, however we are confident we sit very well in the market at the price point and location, and the volume of guests would attest to that. Our property is inspected and assessed at least once a year and comfortably meets all of our advertised standards at 3+ stars. All room images accurately reflect our rooms and guests should be confident that what they see is what they get and pay for.

I am sorry the experience marred your stay in Canberra and I could have assisted you to search for something more suitable if you had made us aware of your plight. We may have even had a larger room available if size was the main issue.

I hope you have a better experience of Canberra in the future.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had booked and paid two nights but left after one! Comfortable beds but that was about it. Rooms are noisy - I think we had every single water pipe in the building positioned above our room. As soon as anyone in the motel had a shower we could hear it. Lots of loud music. No re-imbursement offered. Definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not alert us to any problem until you were leaving, the following morning. Anything that disturbs any of our guests is a very real issue for us...as long as we know about it. In this instance we had no opportunity to take any possible remedial action. Our guest information clearly states “Late night noise or disturbance of others is not tolerated. Call 24hr manager/security (Dial9) to report any disturbance any time.” We treat this very seriously and have procedures in place to deal with it immediately.

Believe me we are here to assist and try to make your stay comfortable. Unfortunately we had no overnight reports of any problem from our security patrol or any other guests, and only your comments the following day. We were fully booked on the weekend with many participants in the Canberra Marathon and many guests were in bed early for the 6am start. In fact we had 2 bookings for next year for the same dates!

It is usually peaceful here and we try to keep it that way for the comfort of our guests, as you can see in other reviews.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were lucky enough to visit Canberra for a wedding and stay at the lovely Motel Monaro.

From a welcome check in to helping us with directions and even providing an umbrella, we were well looked after by the friendly staff.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable - not that you will spend a lot of time in them seeing as it's only a 2 minute walk to the great cafes and restaurants in Kingston!

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you MjWard4.

Sounds like you had a great time in Canberra and enjoyed our location and facilities. I will pass on you kind comments to our wonderful staff. Hope we can accommodate you on another trip. Please tell your family and friends about us.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely room, very nice staff, personalised service. By filling out the "your stay... your way" form you could choose whether you wanted a full service, no service, take-away-rubbish-only etc. etc. Also, the "get up and go breakfast" delivered the evening before departure was really a great idea. Staff was ready to give all sort of precious information. There was a relaxed atmosphere even among the guests.
The only disadvantage that I can think of is a tricky one: the location. On the one side, it's very good because it's 10 minutes walking distance from the railway station. On the other side, if you come by train keep in mind that it takes a while to walk to the center from the motel, but then again Canberra is not a city where you can walk or rely on public transportation, so regardless of where you're staying you might want to hire a car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks Cristina for you feedback.

We realise we are small, old style motel so we have concentrated on an practical renovation to make our guests comfortable and try to focus on friendly efficient service, such as asking what style of room servicing is required and offering a convenient early breakfast option.

Hope the remainder of your trip was a success.


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

4 nights in Canberra to see Mapping The World, Gold of the Incas and the national capital. The BW Monaro is well located (walk through the back gate to 30+ restaurants in Kingston, OR 10 min by car to galleries and sites, and less to Manuka shops and restaurants) and quiet (a few hundred metres from any main activity). Rooms and ensuites very clean and comfortable (but not spacious - ok, acceptable). Staff professional and helpful, free wi-fi- all we could expect at this price point.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you FCarroll18.

Your review appears to have got us exactly right.

We aim to have very clean and comfortable rooms and provide professional, friendly service. We have an excellent location close to the best range of eating establishments and are handy to most attractions, including the National Gallery. It is generally quiet here and usually remains like that thanks to our considerate guests.

Free wifi has been very popular and this service has been recently improved.

Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Address: 27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Kingston on the South side of Lake Burley Griffin, just a few minutes from Parliament House, Australian National Gallery, High Court of Australia and the Parliamentary triangle, the ideal location for any visit to Canberra - business or pleasure .The popular Kingston shopping area is just outside the back gate with in excess of thirty excellent restaurants, banks, bars, shops and supermarket. It is a quiet, convenient location close to the major tourist and business areas. Best Western Motel Monaro has a 3+ star rating from the NRMA and all rooms are ensuite with Air conditioners/Heaters, telephone, television, wireless internet, tea/coffee making facilities, toaster and refrigerator. Breakfast is available for service to rooms and ranges from a continental style with juice, cereal, fruit and toast up to a full cooked selection. There are a variety of rooms including single, double, twin and family suites. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.