We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, efficient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Melbourne
1 review
“Clean, friendly, efficient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I am always sure to carefully read former reviews of establishments before leaving one of my own, so I can gain an idea of the general consensus of customer satisfaction...I was SO happy during my stay, the beds were really comfortable, crisp and clean. The bathroom was bright, spotless and functional, there were plenty of electrical outlets to ensure I could have my iPhone, iPad, hair straightener, well my abundance of electrical utensils plugged in at practical spots. Full lengt mirrors, comfortable chairs quality mounted tv that I had a DVD playing in...I really couldn't fault it one bit.
Some previous reviewers have mentioned its small size, which yes, it is...but it isn't overly so, there is room to move around, spread your things out and relax in.
I will most definitely be back, thanks for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for a great review. We obviously had features that were important for your comfort such as plenty of available power points, flat screen TV with inbuilt DVD as well as a clean fresh bathroom…even if a bit on the small size! We are aware that we do not have large rooms but we have tried to efficiently manage available space and include as many amenities as possible such as microwave, crockery, cutlery, wine glasses, iron and ironing board and of course spare pillows and blankets. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
21
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights...The positives...Very clean rooms and very friendly & helpful staff. Very helpful in letting us use the kitchen next door to wash some containers. Felt safe and secure. Handy having car parking right next to rooms. Great location with key access to back gate to some great local cafes and restaurants. On the negative side, room was smaller than I thought it would be and looked in photos. The air con from other rooms (or building next door) was extremely noisy outside our room. I did mention this on checkout and they are going to look into it. The room was newly renovated, but it still felt like an old Motel. Curtains rather than roller blinds that leave lots of gaps for light coming in would be nice. My husbands view was it felt depressing and wished we had paid more for a hotel and something more modern and less noisy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.We are pleased that you found your room clean and the staff friendly.Will pass on your compliments.Being an older property ,although now fully renovated has limitations on room size.Sorry to hear you had an issue with this and the noise from the heating systems in other rooms.
Regards
Paola Baker
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

OK. Maybe that's just my thing...
But seriously - a great and convenient motel. Simple, great service with a smile and within walking distance from the Canberra Eurostar (aka the XPT Train from Sydney to Kingston, Canberra). Especially good when you want to head back to Sydney on the Canberra Eurostar, as it leaves at 6.55am.

Tip - about an hour before the train reaches Sydney, the buffet carriage closes for food, and they sell some of the food at half price. Also, the hot food is pretty good value. Hell, most of the food is pretty good value. Standard fare, but value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review and very pleased you were comfortable with us.Hope to see you again sometime.
Paola
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great location, two minutes walk to restaurants. From the outside looks like any motel but the rooms inside are clean with comfy beds, large comfy pillows and strong hot running showers. It backs onto a car park that I thought would be an issue but there was no noise at all at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for a great review.Glad to hear the comfy beds and the hot showers were appreciated.Having the restaurants close by is a real bonus for all our guests.Hope to see you again in the future.
Paola
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Motel Monaro is in a perfect location to visit Canberra. You have a beavy of choices for your evening meal by walking out the back gate to the local shopping area. The room though tiny is perfect for a night or two. With newley renovated rooms that offer a small fridge and microwave for those who want to snack at home. The free wifi certainly was an added bonus. Besd were comfortalbe with spotless white linen and dooner which was way too hot for our visit but I guess excellent for cool winter evenings. We did not need the airconditioner but I did wake during the night to hear what I thought was next doors aircon unit - but the hum and occassional chug I heard was not annoying.
The location was within walking distance to the river and a stroll to the national art gallery is very pleasant plus close to the glass works with great markets worth a visit.
It is not a cheap stay but well within the price range for the area,

Room Tip: Make sure you pay a little bit extra for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your accurate review. No need to request a renovated room....every room is renovated. Although rooms are small we have tried to include a few extra such as free wi-fi, quality, plunger coffee, eco amenities, full size ironing board,microwave, crockery and cutlery to go with great beds and shower and the best location. Large range of choice for breakfast , lunch and dinner spots right behind us at Kingston is a real bonus just a 1 minute wallk away.
Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good location ,closed to shops and eating places. We had downstairs room.The room is bright and clean, shower is good size. Quiet at night with good car park next to the room. The heating system is very efficient, keeping us warm when it was zero outside. The host is helpful and have good local knowledge when asked about internet cafe which is in the shopping area next to the motel. We found out the free internet at Kingston library because we do not have ipad or iphone.

Room Tip: Downstairs is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to be able to help with local knowledge and glad everything about the room was to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay in Canberra a lot and generally try to get in here. While it's a little more expensive (to be expected), I've always had a fantastic experience with the staff and general decor. The rooms are clean, the new bathrooms are fantastic and I've always felt safe (even walking through the car park out the back.

It's easy walking distance to Manuka and Kingston shops as well, which is handy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Manager at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for your description as "fantastic experience" and thank you for your great review. Our location is hard to beat which is a head start. We try to add genuine,friendly, unpretentious service to our renovated rooms and this seems to be a good formula. Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western
Address: 27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Kingston on the South side of Lake Burley Griffin, just a few minutes from Parliament House, Australian National Gallery, High Court of Australia and the Parliamentary triangle, the ideal location for any visit to Canberra - business or pleasure .The popular Kingston shopping area is just outside the back gate with in excess of thirty excellent restaurants, banks, bars, shops and supermarket. It is a quiet, convenient location close to the major tourist and business areas. Best Western Motel Monaro has a 3+ star rating from the NRMA and all rooms are ensuite with Air conditioners/Heaters, telephone, television, wireless internet, tea/coffee making facilities, toaster and refrigerator. Breakfast is available for service to rooms and ranges from a continental style with juice, cereal, fruit and toast up to a full cooked selection. There are a variety of rooms including single, double, twin and family suites. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.