We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location of the motel for visitors to Canberra is great. Some of the earlier reviews made me a little uncertain of what to expect but the staff were all very friindly and helpful. The room was very clean and well furnished. The bathroom was a small but more than adequate. The rooms can be a noisey but this is to do with inconsiderate neighbours returning at 1:30 am, not much a motel can do about that.
The local area has some great restaurants and shops.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Our excellent central location close to all the restaurants of Kingston and proximity to attractions and business is a big winner for us. Added to this is that we have been in the same location for almost 50 years which means we have many returning guests ( I think our most frequent is up to around 100 odd seperate stays!) Look forward to seeing you next time in Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
22
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I read a LOT and i have never been in any hotel where the lighting was bright enough to read comfortably by. Our room had fantastic overhead lighting as well as reading lights on the bedhead - total bliss! Graham was really helpful sorting out an issue with our internet booking, my husband loved the shower, the bed was very comfortable and Silo Bakery and the shops of Kingston only a short stroll away. The outside looks a little daggy and old school, but don't be misled - everything else is great. Free WiFi a plus as well as i don't often find this in Australia in the places i have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. I think you have summed us up nicely.

Our property is around 50 years new! To change the outward appearance is rediculosly expensive so we have not interfered too much but tried very hard to make the guest rooms as good as possible (including the reading lights, showers and of course beds!) After all not many people sleep on the outside of a motel!
The WiFi is about to get areal boost as well...and will remain free.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay and were pleasantly suprised and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waitomo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 4 nights staying in Motel Monaro while visiting our son. The room we stayed in was probably for a family, with 2 extra beds, so we had plenty of room to stow all our luggage. The beds were comfortable, the room was spotless and well serviced each day, the bathroom was modern and the shower good. It was quite cold and miserable when we stayed there, but the heat pump was on when we arrived and it was cosy and warm. Great location for the restaurants and shops of Kingston - just sorry we didn't book the Tuesday Belgian Cafe half price mussel night - looked a really lively place to be, but full! All in all a great stay and the weather improved as we left - sod's law!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and also had a good "Kingston" experience. Our prime position with a walk through to the restaurants is a big plus.
I will pass on your comments to our tireless room crew who do a fantastic job turning out spotless rooms.
Hope we can be of service on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Motel Monaro for two weeks in June 2012. I was delighted with the room cleanliness, friendly staff and modern facilities at the motel. It is also less than 5 minutes walk from at least 30 good restaurants and shops - dined with two prominent members of the Australian Federal Parliament a visit to a nearby restaurant.

The bed was very comfortable an facilities such as micro wave, fridge, plates and cutlery helped make my stay more pleasurable.

The bathroom was clean and newly refurbished (like the room) and the shower was brilliant! The room was kept at a constant comfortable temperature by the split unit conditioning.

Free internet access made staying in touch with work and friends easy. Complementary cable TV means those lazy evening are enjoyable with access to a wide variety of channels.

In summary, great motel, great location, friendly staff, excellent and practical facilities, comfortable bed, free cable TV and free internet access.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I appreciate your informed review.
Our rooms are designed to provide comfortable clean accommodation in a great location. With that in mind we have included a few extras we consider essential for travellers, especially those away from home on business on a regular basis. Microwave, crockery, cutlery, free internet, Foxtel, iron and full sized ironing board, proper hair dryer, plunger coffee, quality tea/coffee, reverse cycle aircon, great shower, quality environmental amenities and great bed with wool-filled doona and MicroCloud pillows.
Although our property is almost (proudly) 50 years old and the rooms are not large by todays standards we have completed an excellent renovation to compliment our fabulous location.
Our fastidious housekeeping staff keep it all up to the mark and complete the picture by making sure rooms are super clean.
Very pleased we satisfiied a discerning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This property is family owned and operated and it really shows.The whole procedure from initial enquiry thru to checkout really took me back to another era when guests were more than "bums in beds".Friendly ,laid back but efficient.After a long day in the saddle to have a shower that didnt require a search party to find the water was a pleasent change.All rooms have just been completely refurbished and were spotlessly clean.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thanks for your great review. Its nice to hit the balance right and see that our renovations hit the spot with guests. We recognised that our rooms are small but have maximised our inclusions and guest comfort items where possible. For that reason a great shower and bed are high on the list. We are always pleased when we get such positive feedback.

I am a little confused that you indicate that you would not reccomend us to a friend but I understand that sometimes the click does not go in the right place!

We look forward to a repeat visit and I am confident we will repeat your experience and hopefully get a yes tick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This motel is right in front of the cafes, shops and restaurants in Kingston, which made it super-easy for us to meet our friends on a night out. It's literally just a 30-second walk through a parking lot, making this the best-located motel in Kingston. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the water pressure in the shower is excellent! Good choice of TV channels, and lots of bathroom amenities provided. The hosts are also incredibly friendly, even when they are busy, which I think is the hallmark of customer service. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are an older property in a fantastic location and we are pleased when the work involved in extensive renovations has a positive impact on the guest experience (such as great showers, new TVs, adding FOXTV and additional bathroom amenities). Hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This motel sets the benchmark for this type of establishment. Although the rooms are small they are well furbished with everything you need and are clean comfortable with excellent shower facilities and lighting. It’s well placed with restaurants and shopping near by.

The management and staff were very friendly and helpful. Its also has an interesting display of Australian sporting memorabilia unfortunately, most of it is lost on us Brits, except for a signed cricket bat by the great Aussie captain,Ricky Potting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham V, Owner at BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We have tried to add to the small bathroom space with quality inclusions (such as strong, hot shower, quality towels and lighting) and I am pleased it hit the mark with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro

Address: 27 Dawes Street, Canberra 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Kingston on the South side of Lake Burley Griffin, just a few minutes from Parliament House, Australian National Gallery, High Court of Australia and the Parliamentary triangle, the ideal location for any visit to Canberra - business or pleasure .The popular Kingston shopping area is just outside the back gate with in excess of thirty excellent restaurants, banks, bars, shops and supermarket. It is a quiet, convenient location close to the major tourist and business areas. Best Western Motel Monaro has a 3+ star rating from the NRMA and all rooms are ensuite with Air conditioners/Heaters, telephone, television, wireless internet, tea/coffee making facilities, toaster and refrigerator. Breakfast is available for service to rooms and ranges from a continental style with juice, cereal, fruit and toast up to a full cooked selection. There are a variety of rooms including single, double, twin and family suites. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Motel Monaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.