We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Hotel to your Saves list
Diplomat Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is 5 minutes drive from Parliament House and offers good value for money as far as Canberra hotels go. There is undercover parking but if you arrive late it is more likely your vehicle would be outside. Both are free of charge. The rooms are spacious and both the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, something I'm a tad fussy about. I'd recommend a room on the third (top) floor as the rooms are situated around the perimeter of the breakfast and lounge areas. I am a very light sleeper and I could hear traffic from Camberra Avenue but it was not 'loud'. The bathroom was very clean and well-equipped with shampoo, grooming kits etc.

Breakfast was $18 and $22 if you wished to include hot food from the buffet. Staff were very helpful and,apart from an error made on my bill calculation, couldn't have gone out of their way more.

The carpet is a dull green but otherwise it is a pleasant place to stay and I would recommend it for business stays rather than families with young children due to the layout of the hotel.

I didn't get to use the gym but the usual facilities are available in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    90
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
41
78
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Diplomat is an older hotel, more like a boutique hotel. We got a good deal on a room using one of the search engines ($129 Australian for a queen room). The rack rate is much higher ($400) and that may be why we were assigned a room on the first floor very close to the bar and thus quite noisy. The room was very clean and nice and had an additional single bed plus a table and 3 chairs and another comfortable chair. All the normal amenities were provided plus free parking and free internet.
There is a restaurant and we ate there for dinner one night. It was adequate but not inspired. The bartender doesn't know how to make a dry martini.
The staff were very helpful and the hotel in general is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be far away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this place for a 'cheap n cheerful' weekend in Canberra. We found the service both at reception and at the bar to be superb. There was a small fault with the room heating which was swiftly rectified. The room was of adequate size all in all we were happy with our stay and would come back again. It is not flash, but was also not in a 'flashy' price range.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong NSW
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well how sad and tired this place has become!
Many years ago it was definitely the place to stay, with a nice casual, yet professional buzz to it!
Now it is old, tired and the carpets stained.
The bathrooms are tiny with nothing upgraded in them in 10 years!
The breakfast Buffet was AVERAGE at best, as was my room service meal. In fact the best thing I ate here was the cheese and cracker plate...all out of boxes and wrap...not cooked in house!
The beds were comfortable but the rooms ruined by the stained green carpets.
The staff were wonderful and very friendly, only let down by the tired old environment.
Under cover car parking was good to have in the Canberra Winter!
For $200 a night I felt ripped off!
Morning were very noisy as the noise from down stairs echos throughout the Atrium!

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room. maybe the others are of better quality, but obviously more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

The best word to describe this hotel is 'faded'. The furniture is old, the carpet is stained, threadbare and like a bad 80s brown suit!!

The only redeeming features are that the rooms are large, parking is complimentary and Gary on reception is friendly.

I paid 259 for a Standard Room expecting something on par with that price category!! Wrong!!

Avoid like the plague

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I visited the diplomat while on a business trip to Canberra. The staff were very friendly and inviting, and welcomed us to Canberra and the diplomat. The first room I was put in was below average right near reception and the dining area. I promptly went back to reception and asked for another room. The front desk obliged very politely and then followed up to make sure I was satisfied.

The hotel is quite dated and does need a perk up, but this was made up for by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place has to be better value than the surrounding hotels. The staff were friendly, the room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. I guess some of the rooms could get loud because of the bar but we would definitley stay here again,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Address: Cnr Canberra Ave & Hely St | (2 Hely St), Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diplomat Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diplomat Hotel is located in the heart of Manuka-Kingston - an easy walk to the best that Canberra has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Canberras Boutique Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.