We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Canberra to your Saves list
Mercure Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    559
    238
    61
    22
See reviews for
173
550
129
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

although of historical interest, this hotel was not up to advertised 4 star standard. No lift, and very small bathrooms. There was a mix up with our booking. The grouting in the shower needed a scrub.
The bed was great and it is in an ideal situation to easily access Canberrra attractions

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your trip to Canberra and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that standard room was not ideal for your stay at the hotel. Due to the Heritage listing for, that part of the hotel, we are unable to put a lift in place. We do have superior rooms, which are serviced by a lift, available. On your next visit please let us know and we can show them to you. I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Built in 1927 as a symbol of the prosperous and decadent times, the Mercure has lost nothing of its old world charm. Well appointed rooms that are warm, clean and spacious. There's plenty of parking, a bar and restaurant on site which is only a couple of minutes from the War Memorial.

Quietly located 10 minutes from town this hotel has the best of everything. Only drawback is there is no lift to the first floor.

I loved my stay at the Mercure and will certainly return in the future for a longer stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and choosing to stay with us, for your business trip. It is fantastic to hear you enjoy your experience at Mercure and that we cater to all your needs and requirements. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra. Regards Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great value in a location that is close to our Capitals must see sites. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Most comfortable modern spacious rooms, in a classic 1930s decor hotel. Definitely will stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Front Office Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel's old world charm being a heritage listed building. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Nation's capitol Kind Regards, Daryll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Business Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Canberra combines old world charm with modern comforts. The hotel, one of Canberra's first, opened its' doors in 1927 and even after a recent $8 million refurbishment, still maintains many original features. Set around an impressive internal courtyard, the hotel is the ideal place to unwind after a hard day at work, or relax after exploring the many tourist attractions or outdoor activities that Canberra has to offer.Superbly located, the hotel is moments from the city centres' shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment as well as the National Convention Centre and many of Canberra's Government agencies. Canberra's two Universities, Australian National University and University of Canberra are only a short drive from the hotel as are many popular attractions, including the Australian War Memorial which is only 800m along Limestone Avenue.Along with 129 rooms, gymnasium, three flexible meeting rooms, two stunning fish tanks and complimentary off street car parking, the hotel facilities are sure to please business and leisure guests alike. Mercure Canberra offers two dining options, Courtyard Restaurant open for breakfast daily and a la carte dinner Tuesday to Saturday (closed for dinner mid December to end January). Alternatively the Olims Bar/Bistro and Beer Garden is open for lunch and dinner every day of the year for a more casual dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.