We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teething Problems??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Canberra to your Saves list
Mercure Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Ardlethan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Teething Problems??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Not happy that sheets on bed had not been changed after previous guest. Quickly replaced by a staff member. Fridge was not switched on. Pillows like bags of cement! Bathroom was great- recently refurbished. Good quality large soft towels. Despite the few problems, enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    505
    219
    59
    20
See reviews for
156
501
119
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mel;bourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the staff at the reception desk and the location is good with a large carpark for guests and so close to the city centre.It is free parking.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This property represented good value, with extremely courteous and helpful staff. A quiet location close to Canberra CBD - easy walk to shopping and a selection of good restaurants around Civic. A very comfortable short stay in this historic property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great snuggly sleep under a lovely soft thick light doona. I want one!! Everything bout the room was excellent. We stayed in a loft room. All fittings were spotless and modern. It was very quiet despite the busy day of Anzac day with lots of guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I usually stay in the hotels on Northbourne when I visit Canberra for business, but I thought I'd give Mercure (formerly Olims) a try to check out the property after it's recent refurbishment.
I was pleasantly impressed. It's an historic oasis in the middle of suburbia. The building is quaint and is built around a courtyard of immaculate gardens. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished, modern while maintaining the old world feel of the property.
I stayed in a very large room that had a terrace overlooking the gardens. Room service dinner meal was great. There is an a-la-carte restaurant as well as bistro/bar style venue onsite.
Staff were friendly and there seemed to be a mix of regular business travelers and leisure guests.
Plenty of off street parking provided at no cost.
Great hotel, I will be staying there again on my trips to Canberra.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels,in ambience ,service & quality easily up there with the best i,ve stayed at anywhere. i will definately be coming back !!!!!!!!! .The fact that you are staying in a city you would not know it because you do not hear any noise at all even though you are on 2 busy roads such as Limestone ave & Ainslie ave. The proximaty of the hotel to the main touirist spots sells it,s appeal straight away. The choice of two dining areasis also a plus,
Thank You

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I often travel to Canberra and have never stayed at the Mecure (olims) and now I wonder why not - I have been missing out. This building was built at the same time as the Hyatt and the old Parliament House and is an historic experience in itself. the room I stayed in was large with a balcony overlooking the courtyard - lovely! The only difficult one might would have in this room is navigating the stairs to the bedroom but I found it no issue. The whole hotel is liking stepping back in time but the not losing any of the modern feature we like - flat screen TV etc. The food in the bistro was great - home style and very good value. The staff were lovely and the car parking was free - better than the hotels in the cbd. It is a little bit out of the main cbd but nothing that should bother the traveler who is in a car - I will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Canberra combines old world charm with modern comforts. The hotel, one of Canberra's first, opened its' doors in 1927 and even after a recent $8 million refurbishment, still maintains many original features. Set around an impressive internal courtyard, the hotel is the ideal place to unwind after a hard day at work, or relax after exploring the many tourist attractions or outdoor activities that Canberra has to offer.Superbly located, the hotel is moments from the city centres' shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment as well as the National Convention Centre and many of Canberra's Government agencies. Canberra's two Universities, Australian National University and University of Canberra are only a short drive from the hotel as are many popular attractions, including the Australian War Memorial which is only 800m along Limestone Avenue.Along with 129 rooms, gymnasium, three flexible meeting rooms, two stunning fish tanks and complimentary off street car parking, the hotel facilities are sure to please business and leisure guests alike. Mercure Canberra offers two dining options, Courtyard Restaurant open for breakfast daily and a la carte dinner Tuesday to Saturday (closed for dinner mid December to end January). Alternatively the Olims Bar/Bistro and Beer Garden is open for lunch and dinner every day of the year for a more casual dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.