We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Canberra to your Saves list
Mercure Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Right in the heart of Canberra, a great location within walking distance of the major shopping area, lots of cafes and restaurants and virtually across the road from the War Memorial. Good value advance booking rate. Character and charm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    503
    219
    59
    19
See reviews for
155
500
118
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A reasonable four star hotel, close to the main sights. Take the 100 free loop bus to them, as taxis aren't cheap. The only slight niggles about the hotel was the air conditioning, which was individual reverse cycle, but seemed to lack fresh air, and the windows don't open. Secondly, asked for a bottle of wine on room service, but that wasn't possible. Later, a bottle of Baileys could be bought at the bar/bistro, and taken to the room. The bar in the room had a bottle of red wine for consumption, but I couldn't get one sent up...go figure. I mentioned it to reception, and it was noted, so hopefully it was just a minor glitch. The bistro food was quite good pub food, at fair prices. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Since this hotel became part of Accor (I am a member), I have preferred to stay here rather than other hotels in Canberra. The rooms have been refurbished and are quite modern and have useable balconies, I stayed in a deluxe twin room this time, but last year stayed in a loft family room with kitchenette facilties. There is ample outdoor off street parking at the back of the hotel (but it is a long walk to reception from the this car park with luggage in tow as you do have to go up and down some steps in several places through the courtyard gardens to get there.. Next time I will leave my luggage in the car until I complete check in). There is limited parking at the front of the hotel.
It rained while we were there and to get to my room from the reception area without getting wet I had to go through a maze of corridors. That was the only downside.
It has a pub at the front of the hotel which serves meals for lunch and dinner 7 days a week (we didn't eat there this time) and a hotel restaurant for dinner most nights of the week with prices to match the style of dining. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was on par with other hotels I have stayed out, but the price was better. The Australian War Memorial is in walking distance - about 700 metres down Limestone Ave, and its a 15 minute walk down Ainslie Ave to the main shopping centre which doesn't have free parking - $2.00 for the first half hour - I'm used to shopping centres that give free parking for the first 2-3 hours) and a short drive from the hotel to other Canberra attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I travel quite a bit but have only been to Canberra three times in the last four years.

I often do need a hotel nice and close to a key venue such as the convention centre and yet I always hanker for access to fresh air (liberation from air-con) and if I ever get to "rule the world" I will definitely make a law against concrete for human habitation!

This time, I thought I would try the Mecure Canberra (the original Hotel Ainslie built to accommodate all the distinguished guests for the opening of Parliament House in 1927) because it seemed to offer a short enough but long enough walk into the heart of town but had all this lovely timber pannelling in the hotel foyer. It was such a delight to see the first class craftsmenship of all the timber flooring and walls, to feel part of history but then, what joy to discover my lovely room not only allowed plenty of room to do my yoga in privacy but still having a lovely garden vista...and joy of joys, being able to open french lights onto my own private balcony and garden setting.
Really wished I'd had more time to enjoy slow mornings and lingering twilights on that balcony and can't wait to return. It is now, officially, the only place i would ever want to stay in Canberra. It also has to be said, as a Le Club member, it was great to still feel the reassurance of the same consistently excellent standard of service I have come to know over recent years. Especially the little things like gluten free toast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
BernadetteG14, Thank you for choosing to stay at Mercure and taking the time to write your review on our hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the comforts and historic charm of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Canberra. Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

arrived 20/03/13 at 23:30. at the front desk we were met by a very helpful,cheerful young lady (Billie?) booking was ok'ed and paper work would be fixed up in the morning. Our room was facing Limestone ave. but the early morning traffic was hardly noticeable, the room was excellent,(serviced daily) ensuite clean, the double bed a little on the small side but very comfortable, as a heritage building it has been very well maintained and refurbished, the staff in all areas were very friendly.Buffet breakfast was included and was well presented and replenished often.The hotel is in close proximity to the Civic centre shopping mall (we walked to it in 15 min) War Memorial and other places of interest, would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
crokey45, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and provide such positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and appreciate our services offered. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra in the future. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My Husband and I arrived very late Wed. night and were greeted by friendly, welcoming, helpful, and efficient Billie, with 2 other male staff in attendance, first impressions....really great! After being given directions to our room, and making our way upstairs, (with our luggage) sat down and had a 'think.' No lift? If no lift, surely help should have been offered with our luggage! That was my only 'beef' ...we're no 'spring chickens' and struggling up the stairs with luggage was unacceptable. We later on, a couple of days into our stay, discovered the lift in a different part of the hotel! Other than that hiccup, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel, very clean and comfortable, housekeeping friendly and obliging, a very pleasant walk to the city centre, front-desk staff went above and beyond the code of friendliness and helpfulness. (We missed the daily 'dry-cleaning' run, and were assured that the hotel would have it done and ready, in our room for us, that evening.) A nice touch! The buffet breakfast was delicious, once again.. excellent service ..!! We have family in Canberra, and we have stayed in many hotels and units over the years, the Mecure will definately see us again, happily impressed...!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, happy with position. Double glazed windows, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Jean C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel and provide us with such lovely feedback. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your Mercure experience and our staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Nation's Capital. Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batehaven, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

i recently had 2 overnight stays here, as we were flying out and in to Canberra on our holidays. Our first night stay was exceptional, service outstanding, Our room was fantastic, roomy, exceptionally appointed and had doors out to the courtyard. My only complaint, and it is trivial, is the noise coming from the corridors when people are opening and closing their doors. When we arrived back in Canberra arrived at the hotel, received the same impeccable service at check in, which was at approx 9.45 pm, given our room and directions. We opened our door to find a small room with a king size bed, limited room to put our luggage and the big cushions on the bed. The bathroom was a great size. Very little sleep was had that night due to the Air Conditioning system right outside the bedroom window was obviously was the main system for the reception area, it cut in and out all night, sounded like a truck rolling into the room!!! I did find this very disappointing. I could have called reception about it but by this time we were so tired and jet lagged couldnt be bothered. I will stay here again, but will be picky on which room. The noisey room is in the original building.

Room Tip: Some rooms in original building upstairs facing rear of building will have airconditioning noise cut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
mungie, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you found our rooms to be well presented and our service outstanding. We hope to welcome you back to Mercure on your next visit to Canberra.
Kind Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canberra
#10 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Canberra combines old world charm with modern comforts. The hotel, one of Canberra's first, opened its' doors in 1927 and even after a recent $8 million refurbishment, still maintains many original features. Set around an impressive internal courtyard, the hotel is the ideal place to unwind after a hard day at work, or relax after exploring the many tourist attractions or outdoor activities that Canberra has to offer.Superbly located, the hotel is moments from the city centres' shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment as well as the National Convention Centre and many of Canberra's Government agencies. Canberra's two Universities, Australian National University and University of Canberra are only a short drive from the hotel as are many popular attractions, including the Australian War Memorial which is only 800m along Limestone Avenue.Along with 129 rooms, gymnasium, three flexible meeting rooms, two stunning fish tanks and complimentary off street car parking, the hotel facilities are sure to please business and leisure guests alike. Mercure Canberra offers two dining options, Courtyard Restaurant open for breakfast daily and a la carte dinner Tuesday to Saturday (closed for dinner mid December to end January). Alternatively the Olims Bar/Bistro and Beer Garden is open for lunch and dinner every day of the year for a more casual dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.