We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but far from restaurants and shops” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Canberra to your Saves list
Mercure Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good rooms but far from restaurants and shops”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had three night stay here once. The room was good, comfortable bed, neat and clean but I don't like the location of the hotel. It's nearly 1.5km from the city center and you can't find any restaurants nearby. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Arshid, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with Mercure Canberra. We are happy to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us and found the rooms to be clean and the bed comfortable. Yes, we are approximately four blocks away from the city centre and an abundance of restaurants. The reception staff are always happy to arrange a Taxi at any time should you not be up for a short walk. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Canberra.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    493
    215
    58
    19
See reviews for
154
490
114
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location, we walked back from the city centre after dinner. All the staff we had contact with were amazingly friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere, you can almost feel a bit of the history around you (the hotel book in the bedroom was an interesting surprise). The bed was comfy and the hotel was surprisingly quiet during the night so a good night sleep was had by us both, the buffet breakfast was excellent, fresh and varied. Really couldn't fault the whole experience. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Mrs_S_W_86,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our Hotel's location very convenient. We will certainly pass on your postive comments about our team members, our 'Olims' history book takes you on a journey that the hotel has gone through and a very interesting read. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Canberra.

Thanks
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here about 12 months ago when just taken over from previous owner. Refurbishment appears to be mostly complete with a couple of painters still around.
On both visits, booked through Accor website, details were lost or not or incomplete.
Once in the rooms have modern facilities with the period flavour of its origins.
Initially I was offered a room close to reception [101] which was small and the window overlooked by an external fire escape and an internal connecting walkway.
The requested change was fuss free and rooms anywhere along either side or rear would be recommended.
Breakfast was good although room service food quality [ steak ] was average. Eat in the bistro next time.
Room "make up" was good and check out efficient and professional.
Well located for car access to Canberra's sights but still possible to walk [ approx 20min ] to city centre if preferred.
Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hotel Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you mention we have undergone a full refurbishment and the project has now been completed. We apologize for the issue with your reservation and room service and will be addressing with the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are visiting the Nations Capital.

Regards
Scott Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a huge room in the old part of the hotel, the down side is there is no lift to this part of the hotel so if you need help with luggage you need to ask.
This is walking distance to the National War Memorial and a short bus ride over to the the parliment area. There is also the main shopping area within a 10-15 minute walk.
The bar on site is multi-purpose - a bottle shop and bookies as well as a bar and bistro.
Very comfortable room and overall a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
jec01, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious rooms and found our location convenient and easily accessible to all the main attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra on your next trip to the Nation's Capital.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Booked the bistro for a work lunch / meeting
Good range of meals with all serves being generous.
Those that ordered steaks found them to be tender and cooked as ordered, pretty rare these days (excuse the pun).
Out of a group of 20 people, not one complained about the food or service.
Drinks were at pub prices and the prices of meals between $15 and $25.
All in all, good value for money, good quick service and not rushed by staff to get out of the restaurant after the meal.
Yes we will use this restaurant again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dooligahl M, Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback. Great to hear you and your group enjoyed your dining experience in our Bistro and our staff service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Canberra for another work lunch.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Centrally located with plenty of free parking available although the car park is located quite a distance from reception - a pain when you first arrive unless you know to go to the front of the hotel first to check-in. Booked into a loft suite for x2 nights inclusive of breakfast - this was reasonably priced. The hotel is a rabbit warren of rooms but retains some of the charm of the earlier Olims. Internet charges are not cheap. Staff were not particularly efficient and the meal served in the bistro was average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
skillr01, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your feedback. We are very conveniently located and good to hear you found your stay well priced and good value for money. I am disappointed to hear that your Bistro dining experience was average and did not meet your expectaions. We hope that if you are in Canberra again you give us another opportunity.
Regards, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Business Hotel in Canberra
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#13 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Canberra combines old world charm with modern comforts. The hotel, one of Canberra's first, opened its' doors in 1927 and even after a recent $8 million refurbishment, still maintains many original features. Set around an impressive internal courtyard, the hotel is the ideal place to unwind after a hard day at work, or relax after exploring the many tourist attractions or outdoor activities that Canberra has to offer.Superbly located, the hotel is moments from the city centres' shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment as well as the National Convention Centre and many of Canberra's Government agencies. Canberra's two Universities, Australian National University and University of Canberra are only a short drive from the hotel as are many popular attractions, including the Australian War Memorial which is only 800m along Limestone Avenue.Along with 129 rooms, gymnasium, three flexible meeting rooms, two stunning fish tanks and complimentary off street car parking, the hotel facilities are sure to please business and leisure guests alike. Mercure Canberra offers two dining options, Courtyard Restaurant open for breakfast daily and a la carte dinner Tuesday to Saturday (closed for dinner mid December to end January). Alternatively the Olims Bar/Bistro and Beer Garden is open for lunch and dinner every day of the year for a more casual dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.