We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations NOT MET” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Canberra to your Saves list
Mercure Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    560
    238
    61
    22
See reviews for
173
551
129
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumbarumba
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Mercure is an old hotel, built about 1927 but is well maintained and has a charming and unique character. It is within easy walking distance from the city centre, shops, restaurants and cinemas. We stayed at a quiet time over Xmas. The service was excellent. We were upgraded from a standard to a loft room which was superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
sstyche,

Thank you for staying at our hotel recently and taking the time to give your feedback. Our hotel and has plenty of unique character, with being built in 1927 if only the walls could talk (maybe good they don't). The hotel is certainly conveniently located, great to hear that you found our team members deliver excellent service, we will pass this on to them which will assist in driving them to continue this level of service. We hope to see you again one day at Mercure Canberra.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our second stay at the Mercure Canberra. The location is excellent, safe, quiet at night and the rate very affordable. We love the history of the hotel and the upgrade to contemporary settings in the rooms is very complimentary to this history. I have never requested an upgrade before so thank you to the front office staff who were happy to provide one on this occasion. Our only gripes - ones that we experience in just about any hotel we stay in - room doors that 'slam' shut (can someone please invent a kind of cushion to absorb the impact) and inconsiderate guests who talk loudly in the hallways late a night/early in the morning.
We were delighted to find out from another guest that the Mercure is a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Ditto2,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, good to hear you are a repeat guest and enjoy our hotel facilities. Sorry that you found some doors to 'slam' we will have our maintenance team check all our door closers as this shouldn't happen. We have 2 pet rooms that enable you to holiday with your pet which are very popular. We look forward to welcoming you back (maybe even with fido) next time.

Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was a fantastic place to stay. Old world charm with a lovely modern edge to it. Great service, very pleasant and helpful. We definitely recommend this as the place to stay in Canberra for your holidays, or even if just driving through.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Carolyn1955,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your Mercure Canberra experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I'm biased because I got a super special - 2 nights for $150, and for that price, it's great. I think the full price is low-to-medium for Canberra and, given the low standards in Canberra, it's worth considering this place. Staff were fine and the room was fairly good - reasonably sized with a good (although not very big) bathroom and a balcony overlooking the car park (the room was right at the back - a long way from reception but convenient to the car park). It's a rambling building surrounding a nice but dated courtyard. It might be a hassle for less mobile people - there are lifts and ramps to every area but they might involve a long detour.

The location is a little remote - there's nothing at all around it (apart from roads, houses and parks) but the edge of the mall is only 15 minutes walk. The hotel seems to cash in on the lack of alternatives by charging very high food prices (I didn't try any). Every other add-on is expensive, although they have self-service laundry. TV only gets free-to-air channels. Nothing else to complain about, so I'd stay here again, even at normal price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are fairly large, quiet and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
mrdom,

Thank you for staying at Mercure Canberra and reviewing our hotel. It is good to hear that you found our hotel value for money and enjoyed your time here. With 129 rooms only over 2 floors the hotel does cover a reasonable section of land. Our bistro classic menu items don't exceed $25 and we believe are good value for money, we also have a daily specials board. We would like to see you when you are next in Canberra and hopefully we can turn your good comments in to great.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

In Canberra en-route to Hobart and pre booked via Internet. Upon arrival the place looked run down and shabby. When we went into check in it looked worse.

We were allocated a room upstairs. I asked to borrow a luggage trolley but was told it was useless as there was no ramp to the car park and no lift as it was a heritage building. The heritage thing seemed to be the standard excuse for all other shortcomings too. The place looked dowdy and very much like somewhere awaiting renovation. As we had a lot of expensive camera gear in the car and the car park was "outback" we were faced with either lugging everything upstairs piece by piece or risking leaving it in the car overnight I decided to forget what we'd Pre paid and leave....

All I can say that as grand as it once was, as it is now its not even a decent suburban hotel motel and even at what they're charging its rubbish and best avoided

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dusse,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, it is unfortunate that you didn't speak up about your concerns when you checked in so we could resolve. We have 129 rooms and 39 of those are in the original part of the hotel which doesn't have access to a lift. The remaining 90 rooms do have lift and trolley access. We could have even located you in a room within 20mts of the rear car park. We are sorry that you didn't find our lobby and public areas up to standard, we receive may positve comments about our polished wooden floors and sitting rooms.

Regards,
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Highly recommended for its location, rates and service. Rooms are well appointed and newly refurbished e.g. Room 212. The bistro food service and Buffett breakfast are excellent including the quality of menu and wine list were high standard.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with easy access to courtyard and bistro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Mercure Canberra, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Joey B,

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Mercure Canberra and that you were able to sample our Food and Beverage venues. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Canberra

Address: Corner of Ainslie and Limestone Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Olims Hotel Canberra An All Seasons Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Canberra
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#11 Business Hotel in Canberra
#14 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Canberra combines old world charm with modern comforts. The hotel, one of Canberra's first, opened its' doors in 1927 and even after a recent $8 million refurbishment, still maintains many original features. Set around an impressive internal courtyard, the hotel is the ideal place to unwind after a hard day at work, or relax after exploring the many tourist attractions or outdoor activities that Canberra has to offer.Superbly located, the hotel is moments from the city centres' shops, bars, restaurants and entertainment as well as the National Convention Centre and many of Canberra's Government agencies. Canberra's two Universities, Australian National University and University of Canberra are only a short drive from the hotel as are many popular attractions, including the Australian War Memorial which is only 800m along Limestone Avenue.Along with 129 rooms, gymnasium, three flexible meeting rooms, two stunning fish tanks and complimentary off street car parking, the hotel facilities are sure to please business and leisure guests alike. Mercure Canberra offers two dining options, Courtyard Restaurant open for breakfast daily and a la carte dinner Tuesday to Saturday (closed for dinner mid December to end January). Alternatively the Olims Bar/Bistro and Beer Garden is open for lunch and dinner every day of the year for a more casual dining experience.We look forward to welcoming you to Mercure Canberra ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Canberra Hotel Canberra
All Seasons Canberra
Canberra All Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.