We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Dickson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Dickson to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Dickson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Cape & Badham streets, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Benalla, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was a very quiet and clean hotel. Handy to the Tradies Club next door and many restaurants. Which was handy come dinner time. Did not have to drive to find a place to eat. Good underground parking and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    97
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
43
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had a good stay.

The reception though should be more informed about whats happening or where to go directions.

Try the restaurants nearby and they are a lot to choose from.

When staying definitely get the quiet room( Followed the advise of one reviewer).

Room Tip: Try restaurants nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
929 helpful votes 929 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This motel is owned by the adjacent licensed club. Hence, you are given entry privileges to the club.

The location of the motel is in Dickson, a short drive from Central Canberra. There is an underground car park. Some rooms offer car parking adjacent to the room.

Dickson is regarded as being Canberra's "Chinatown", and the motel is situated in the heart of it. This means that within walking distance, there are several interesting dining opportunities, including Asian themed restaurants as well as a steakhouse. Aldo within walking distance, there's a Woolworths supermarket.

Within the adjacent club, there's a variety of well priced dining areas, as well as a friendly bar and a cafe.

I stayed in a room in the main building. It was clean, spacious and comfortable, with all the appointments you would expect in a motel.

The bathroom was quite large, with a shower. For toiletries, they had dispensers- not my favourite solution, but it's quite common in this type of "value-for-money" accommodation.

The staff were friendly and hospitable.

I enjoyed my stay here- the accommodation was comfortable- and quiet- while the location made it a pleasant place to stay, as well as a good base for a visit to the area.

Well worth considering.

Room Tip: You can stay in the main building or the annexe. Read a few reviews to assess which type of room wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was a bit of n eye-opener. The experience of my wife and I with the hotel and its attached club, the Tradies, was formed 10 or so years ago and we remembered it as a scruffy club and a below-average hotel.
We booked for three days to attend a family reunion and were pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were super-helpful and the room was big, with a pleasant outlook and two queen-size beds. The fridge was a reasonable size and thankfully was not a mini-bar so we could store our food and drink without having to empty it first. The bedside clock had a huge dial and the shower in the larger-than-usual bathroom was the old-fashioned good-pressure type. These are little things but they certainly help to make for a pleasant stay. Two face washers were also supplied (for some reason, many hotels supply only one). The only gripe we had was that the soap and shampoo dispensers were difficult to squeeze. However, a bar of soap was also supplied so this was a minor issue. The TV worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable.
Hotel guests get temporary membership of the Tradies, which is accessed by an adjoining door. What a surprise that was. Gone are the dark recesses and shabby appearance. It is open, friendly and the clientele are a far cry from the yesteryear collection of drunks and no-hopers. This could be because the club has super-efficient security on the door. The bar has a huge number of beers on tap. The restaurant serves standard club fare at a reasonable price. And, of course, the hotel is located right in the middle of Dickson's Chinatown, with so many restaurants within a couple of minutes' walk that it is difficult to choose one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

For a 4 star hotel it is very odd. We had a huge suite but the only window of the 2 rooms opened onto the hallway of the hotel. The hallway was kept dark during the day and the lights only came on at night - it opened onto a enclosed lobby area but it was all very quiet. The lobby is also very uninviting and the staff generally indifferent. We decided to go somewhere else after one night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked a Standard Double Room over the internet for 1night after reading the comments by Tripadvisor contributors.

The hotel is located in North Canberra, not far off Northbourne Avenue. There are lots of eateries around Dickson, so we ate an early dinner and breakfast the following morning in the neighbourhood.
There is free undercover parking.

When booking, we had requested a quiet room and that is what we got.

We were allocated Room 332, out the back of the property. Its a lovely large room with a balcony overlooking the bike track.

Since the balcony door was openable onto the balcony, we could turn off the a/c system, a bonus. The room was provided with an iron and board, tea/coffee making, a toaster, microwave, bar fridge, crockery, so if you needed to, could make a light breakfast. A round table and desk was also provided. Complementary newspapers are offered at reception.
The bed was really comfortable and since the room was quiet, had a great nights sleep.
The ensuite was large, well appointed, with plenty of storage space. Nice quality toilettries were provided. The shower recess had plenty of room in it and the shower was wonderful.

Everything was clean and well appointed.

All staff we encountered were friendly and professional.

There is a fee for use of wifi, which is the only negative for this hotel. If it had been free, I would have given the hotel an 'excellent' rating.

We would stay at Quality Hotel Dickson next time we need a bed in Canberra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not the greatest but is definitely above the average. This hotel is one of my preferences because of the hotel chain they’re part of (you generally know what you’re paying for), free parking, location and very good value for money ratio. This hotel is not a skyscraper and as such you might need to walk quite a bit between your room, reception and a restaurant. Rooms aren’t flashy – pretty standard but clean and serviced properly. All the linen is high quality and is always fresh. Some rooms have spas – ask at the time of booking if you’re interested.

Talking about the restaurant – don’t expect a fine cuisine there. They actually don’t have a restaurant and have some sort of arrangement with a worker’s club (pub) nearby, which is absolutely perfect for the breakfast but I’d go elsewhere for lunch or dinner.

Check-in and check-out is quick and easy. I really appreciate it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Dickson

Address: Cnr Cape & Badham streets, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.