We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel in a perfect location to all things canberra!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great business hotel in a perfect location to all things canberra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Canberra for 2 days whilst visiting with work.
The hotel itself is nice, Clean and a great location to all things Canberra.

Staff were nice enough to store a bike for me that I had with me.

The Gym in this hotel is 1 of the best set ups I have ever seen and wont disappoint those looking to work out.

As with most business hotels I didn’t touch the mini bar or the internal cafes and restaurants rather opting to walk 5 mins to the super market and buy some bottled water there and taking advantage of some local cafes for meals. ( I recommend Dobinsons café on bunda street )
Be warned a bottle of water from the mini bar was $8!!!

The only real issue I had was with a member of guest services trying to enter my room without knocking to drop off something that wasn’t actually for my room ……. She was very apologetic realizing her mistake.

The room was faultless..... Great design, big comfortable bed and everything you would expect in a deluxe or king level room.

I forgot my razor and the staff were nice enough to supply me a complimentary razor kit.

All in all, I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Canberra!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear ChrisCondon

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on our Hotel.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Hotel and that staying with us was good location-wise. I really like Dobinson’s Bakery as well and I recommend trying Cream Cafe if you are ever back in town. It is just a little farther up Bunda Street at the Canberra Centre.

It is good to hear that you took advantage of our toiletries (razor kit), we have other toiletries available as well in case anything else is forgotten.

The team has been reminded by your review of the proper procedure for entering guests’ rooms. I am pleased this did not impact your stay too negatively.

We hope to see you again in the future if you are back in Canberra again.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    339
    167
    47
    27
See reviews for
141
193
61
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I just spent four nights at the Crowne while at a convention in Canberra. Wonderful service, clean and beautiful facilities and the most beautiful and comfortable king-size bed. I travel a lot and find many beds too hard, too soft..but like Goldilocks...this one was just right.
The staff unobtrusively cleaned while I was out for the day. The walls are solid and there was never even a sound from another room. The concierge and reception were polite friendly and responsive to all my needs.
It is ultra-convenient to shopping, the convention centre and all the sights of Canberra

Room Tip: Park view rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear AussieCanadian

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed our beds and that you were comfortable while staying with us. For your information we use Sealy mattresses and the type is Civic Pillow Top.

Thank you for your very positive review. I am happy to hear that your stay went well and our service, location and facilities helped you get the most out of your time in the Nation’s Capital.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Canberra in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Never again will I stay here. $300 plus tariff for Poor Internet that they charge for in your room, not a flash room, toiletries not replaced every day, no pool working, never service avail at concierge in early evening, just tacky all round. Not value for money. Location the only positive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Caroline E

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the amenities or the service of our Hotel.

I understand that during busy periods the concierge desk is not always manned and I am sorry that this impacted on your stay.

At the moment we are upgrading our pool facilities, improving upon them for summer time. We are looking forward to providing a better experience in this area.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to our Hotel to demonstrate the high levels of service we are capable of. We are aware of the necessity to provide value for our guests and sincerely regret that we were unable to achieve this for you on this stay.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Crown Plaza for leisure. Had previously stayed there for business a few years back so was not able to enjoy the pleasures of the proximity of it to the city centre.
It is close to the city restaurants should you not want not to eat in.
We were there for the annual Floriade tulip displays. It is just a 5-10 minute walk to the Floriade tulip display gardens.
Accommodation is great and the rooms are of ample size. As we were there over a long weekend holiday period, it was a bit crowded at breakfast in the hotel, but service was fast and efficient.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more to get a room view of the gardens rather than the city buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Melach9_2009

I am pleased to hear you chose to stay with us for a reason other than business this time. It is good to hear that our convenient location helped you get everything you wanted out of your trip to Canberra.

It is also good to read about your positive experience of our breakfast even though it was busy. Floriade was a very busy time for us and I am glad the abundance of people at breakfast had little effect on the quality.

We hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Canberra when you are back for business or pleasure.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its about as central as you can get, next to the casino,right in the city centre.
Rooms are fresh, comfortable and roomy.
Service is friendly , the bar is a little expensive and the restaurant id ok.Food is good, on a rather small menu. We had dinner one night with A roast chicken and mixed grill. Both reasonable value, well cooked and presented meals.Another night we had sweets and coffee -- breakfast is excellent big choices, egg station, fresh fruit drinks and expresso.
Car park is on premise but $18 a day and i really object to an amex surcharge on a hotel of this standard, its just an australian extra, very few hotels overseas, would even think about it.

Room Tip: Higher the better ,of course and the street view is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear BarryJ_100

Thank you for your positive review.

I am thrilled to hear what a wonderful time you experienced in our Redsalt Restaurant, both at dinner and at breakfast, during your recent stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel when you are next in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Kim Baxter
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel was better than we expected. The room was very pleasant and the breakfast excellent. Canberra is a spread out city with few things within easy walking distance but the hotel location was a good one

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear robw17,

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that the location service and especially the extensive breakfast met your needs and helped you get the most out of your time in Canberra.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a break in our journey from Melbourne to Sydney, given how long a drive we had we were in need of a nice room and we got it. The room was spacious and clean, everything seemed to be design for comfort. The reception staff were helpful and there was plenty of information provided for the weary traveller on where best to eat. The hotel is situated next door to the casino, ideal for anyone looking for a bit of gambling fun but not to busy or noisy as a result. The hotel is also only a couple of minutes walk from the main shops and bars and equally close to the main tourist attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be in the centre of things but likes the quiet retreat of a comfortable room.
The only problem we had was we were charged the deposit on our credit card when we returned to the UK despite having paid in full, I have to say however the money was refunded as soon as I emailed the hotel about their mistake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear k_dbird_11,

Thank you for this very generous review. It is fantastic to read what a positive impression our location, facility and service had on your stay. I'm really pleased that the room afforded you the well deserved R&R you needed and am delighted to have your review posted publicly. Thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay in the Nations Capital.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Canberra
#14 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Business Hotel in Canberra
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you’ll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation’s Capital and within walking distance of the city’s best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 295 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee or herbal tea prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we’re pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Treat yourself to a refreshing sanctuary from the stresses of life at Earth Day Spa. A visit to the spa will leave you feeling relaxed, soothed and pampered, so you can get more out of your stay. Earth Day Spa is open seven days a week and features treatments such as massages, facials, and beauty treatments for men and women. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.