We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location. Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Superb place to stay. Close to the central city and lots of lovely restaurants. Concierge really helpful with suggesting the restaurants and cafes the locals use. Room was really comfy and a good layout. There was a fire alarm in the early hours of the morning and the public address system made it really clear about what specifically to do. Well done!
I was able to open the windows to let the fresh air in
Park next door was great - lovely to amble through and I did that each day. It was also a few minutes walk to the National conference centre which made getting to my conference really easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Helen H,

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read your comments and see that we were able to leave such a positive impression even with an early morning false alarm. I am thrilled that the location worked well for you and that the facilities and service added value to your experience in Canberra.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    316
    155
    43
    25
See reviews for
131
181
58
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Young, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated superbly. Room was upgraded and chocolates and champagne waiting in our room, plus a handwritten card congratulating us on our 20th wedding anniversary. Room service and meals delivered were excellent. Breakfast was perfect with cappuccinos on demand. Breakfast staff were so friendly and professional. Will make this an annual weekend getaway together. Location was brilliant and parking was included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Red41167,

"Perfect" is high praise indeed and as a team we are thrilled that the service, location and facilities suited your needs so well. We'll continue our efforts to create the "perfect" place from which to explore and enjoy Canberra and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in a great spot. Park next door is beautiful. Service was good, very friendly. Bed was comfortable. Rooms had everything you need. Rooms, especially bathroom needs updating. Shower over bath. Couldn't open windows even a bit which would have been nice for fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Afinidus,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the comment in regard to the bathrooms and we are excited to have some upgrade works for the guest rooms planned. While the bathrooms will take longer to address, I feel sure the work to the wardrobes and the entertainment facilities will add a great deal of comfort and value to the in room experience.
Obviously it was wonderful to read that the team had a positive impact on your stay as well, and we look forward to t the chance to welcome you back for a future stay.

Yours Sincerely
Mat Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here twice and both times was more than happy. The second time as it was a quiet night and I was a returning customer I got a free upgrade on my room. The staff were always delightful and efficient and happy to answer questions I had about the room prior to my arrival. Restaurant staff were so sweet and helpful and really made my time there. I also love the layout of the hotel. Rooms were clean and robes were soft and the beds are amazing I slept so soundly. Canberra Casino is obviously terrible, everyone knows that... but don't let that affect your opinion of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sweet1988,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is great to read your very positive comments in regard to the facilities and most importantly the genuine care and service. The team will be as thrilled as I to read the impact they had.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back on a future visit.

Yours Sincerely
Mat Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Over priced and while tea coffee is provided - if you want a biscuit with your cuppa there isn't one unless you pay for it. $8 for a small bottle of water vs $3.50 in the dairy next door. Breakfast at $24 also OTT. Rooms okay and staff great. Wi- fi expensive - it should be free. Canberra dies at 6.00pm. A concrete jungle. Good shopping precinct and Katmandu discount store opposite worth the visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Alan B,

Thank you for your review. It seems very clear that you did not enjoy Canberra and I'm sorry that we were not able to do more to help you discover some of the really wonderful elements the city has to offer.
I appreciate your feedback in regards to value as well, and we will continue to review and work on our range of offerings to ensure we provide great value to all our guests.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pros- excellent location close to eateries & shopping centre. Room had 2 double beds, good for family with kids & looked exactly like photos, generous selection of teas, coffee & hot choc in minibar, superior room was specious, had extendable table on wheels, big desk, safe & luggage stand. Ruben from reception was especially helpful & polite, hotel buffet breakfast was excellent with generous choices, eggs station (boiled, fried, benedict etc), pancake machine, self service juice fountain, wait staff were nice & friendly. We had 2 kids and found 4 sets of towels on arrival. Express checkout was promised & delivered via statement under the door. Amenities such as shampoo, body wash were actually fairly good. Bathrobes & slippers were supplied. Concierge was helpful & very knowledgeable.
Cons- no toothbrush/ paste unless u ask for it although it's complimentary. Carpark very tight & bit dark, it's also a dead end so u have to reverse or do 3 point turn at the end...at 10pm on a sat night there was no spot even though we had paid $18 already....we ended up parking on the driveway but that was ok. There is some pipe noise occasionally... not excessively loud but can be late in the night. The room itself was quiet but there were bird noises at 11pm & noisy cars at 1.30am (we were on level 1 facing the park). Room was modern but did not feel clean (stains on sheets, carpet edges & skirting was dirty, bug on the wall under window)... we had no "do not disturb" or "pls clean room" doorknob sign & the previous guest had written "pls change our sheets" on the room service breakfast hanger which we had to use as well...the toilet is dated compared to the room...1.5% charge on the use of credit cards...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear mish1208,

Thank you for our review. It is great to read how well the room and the genuine service suited your needs and helped you enjoy your time in Canberra.
I am disappointed to read your "cons" especially your feedback on cleanliness and assure you that this is certainly not our goal level of presentation and the team will share my concern over this inconsistency.
I do hope your experience will allow you to try us for a future visit and that we can prove to you our usual levels of cleanliness and presentation and help you explore the Nation’s Capital further.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Firstly I have to say the staff were very obliging and helpful, the concierge even assisted me with transferring some items to the convention centre (just behind the hotel). Every staff member I came in contact with was very friendly and upbeat which made me feel very much at home - they are a real credit to the hotel! The hotel is ideal for business travel as is central and convenient to the convention centre, has a reasonable gym although could do with an update. I also made use of the spa facilities not owned by the hotel but within the complex - again great staff and fabulous massage.
The rooms are a little dated however very functional, with table that you can move around and work desk behind the bed which looks out to a large window - pleasant work environment. The only negative was the housekeeping, there was thick dark hair clogging the drain in the bath/shower, all other housekeeping was very good.
Room service was expensive and wait time was about 45 minutes - too long for me when returning from a conference. The breakfast offering is good, love that they have a juicer to make your own smoothies and an omelette station, gluten free options were available on request
I did find a café called Thr1ve located in the Canberra Centre only about 5-10 minutes walk, excellent option for the health conscious traveller serving paleo food and shakes which you can opt to have protein powder in and their coffee can be made with almond milk.
Overall the hotel was very suitable for my requirements and based on this I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear FreoKys,

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read your very positive comments on the service you received. We are committed to providing the very highest level of genuine guest care and it seems we met our goal on this occasion. Thanks also for the feedback on the poor cleanliness and long wait for room service. Both areas are short of our goals as well and we value you sharing the comments with us.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you’ll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation’s Capital and within walking distance of the city’s best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 295 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee or herbal tea prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we’re pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Treat yourself to a refreshing sanctuary from the stresses of life at Earth Day Spa. A visit to the spa will leave you feeling relaxed, soothed and pampered, so you can get more out of your stay. Earth Day Spa is open seven days a week and features treatments such as massages, facials, and beauty treatments for men and women. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.