We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Crowne, maybe attached to the Casino, but one can ignore that as it is via a footbridge and around the back. It is a good 4-5 star hotel with parking (additional $18) but in a walk to almost everything location.

Typical 5 star has in house dining, restaurant, King size beds (in some rooms). Service is excellent. Pretty hard to fault.

Room Tip: The higher the better - facing outwards. It the budget doesn't stretch to the higher rooms - fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear sbadert,

Thank you for your review. Ou rlocation is often commented on and I'm glad it worked well or you. More pleasing are yopu wonderful comments on the service received, thank you.
We appreciate you choosing us and do hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back on future trips to the Nations Capital.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    332
    164
    45
    27
See reviews for
139
192
61
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great staff and a brilliant location that allows you to walk to central Canberra. Rooms are a good size and whilst a bit dated it had everything you could need. Breakfast is very good quality and range. Nothing to complain about here - will be back.

Join the Club Rewards program before you book. It is free and will give you perks like late checkout and express check in. If you are lucky, as I was, you will get a free room upgrade.

Room Tip: Park view is nice and better to get the end of the hotel away from the Casino just in-case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear ozziemale1964,

Thank you for your review. It was particularly pleasing to read your comments about value from our loyalty program. Our Priority Clubv guests are an absolute focus at all times and we strive to ensure we are delivering value in return for these regular guest loyalty. Thank you for joining and for choosing Crowne Plaza Canberra. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really liked this hotel. It's a good, reliable hotel in a great location with windows that open to get fresh air. It looks like they ran out of money when they refurbished the room as the bathrooms are only half refurbished, but that was no big deal. The bathrooms are just a bit dated, but very practical and serviceable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MandM27,

Thank you for your review. Great to read that the location and facilties suited your needs and that you have experienced good consistent service. We are continuing our refurbishment efforts and I do hope you will enjoy the new elements as they are completed through 2013.

Thankyou again.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had 2 nights at the crown plaza hotel in Canberra as part our tour around the southern part of Australia. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in and the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Whilst we only had breakfast in the hotel it was very good and reasonable value comapered to a number of other hotels we stayed at. The hotel was very clean and modern and in a good location which was very well located for central Canberra. There was a great walk around Great Burley Griffin Lake and the War Memorial is a 15 minute walk away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear BertieBasset1957,

Thank you for your review and for the wonderful recommendation. High praise indeed and we are really thrilled to have been able to impact your stay so positively. This is absolutely our goal.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived they greeted us with bottles of cold water. We'd just travelled from Sydney on THAT day when temperatures reached 48 degrees (Friday 18/1/2013) so the water was gratefully received. They were very welcoming and as we're with Priority Privilege there were extras like packets of snacks and late checkout.
The room was quiet, complete with blockout blinds, a comfortable bed, lots of pillows and a good sized bathroom, Nice view over the park.
I'm not into walking but this hotel was within walking distance of the shops even for me. The casino is right next door.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear RCD2012_12,

Thank you for your review. "That Day" was tremendously hard on anyone travelling and I'm thrilled we were able to provide some relief when you arrived. We try very hard to find opportunities to deliver the best guest experience to support our great location and I'm really pleased to read of the impact our efforts had on your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on a package rate through hotel website - "Toulouse Lautrec" exhibition at National Gallery. Package included king size bed, parking and two "untimed" tickets costing $50 to the exhibition. Great value IMO.
Was upgraded to a park-view at check in (Priority Club Gold Member).
Room was very clean and well kept but bathroom in need of modernisation.
Hotel check-in staff and concierge extremely friendly and helpful. Check-out time of 11am very convenient.

Hotel in a great position adjacent to Casino and walking distance to cafes, restaurants and pubs. Large shopping mall with everything from ALDI, Myers, David Jones etc to BOSS across the road.

Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear mandmshow,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that the location suited your needs, you felt you received great value and of course that your wonderful loyalty through our Priority Club program was recognisd by the team.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and our other Crowne Plaza hotels.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great refurbished hotel at a good price purchased on their site. Very honest and sincere service from all staff I met. Rooms are well fitted out and work space in room is a good touch. Location spot on and walking distance to good shops. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and couples.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear VrisTravel01,

Thankyou so much for your recommendation. Personal recommendations based on first hand experience are the very best way to promote anything, and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Canberra
#14 Family Hotel in Canberra
#16 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#17 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you’ll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation’s Capital and within walking distance of the city’s best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 295 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee or herbal tea prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we’re pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Treat yourself to a refreshing sanctuary from the stresses of life at Earth Day Spa. A visit to the spa will leave you feeling relaxed, soothed and pampered, so you can get more out of your stay. Earth Day Spa is open seven days a week and features treatments such as massages, facials, and beauty treatments for men and women. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.