We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived they greeted us with bottles of cold water. We'd just travelled from Sydney on THAT day when temperatures reached 48 degrees (Friday 18/1/2013) so the water was gratefully received. They were very welcoming and as we're with Priority Privilege there were extras like packets of snacks and late checkout.
The room was quiet, complete with blockout blinds, a comfortable bed, lots of pillows and a good sized bathroom, Nice view over the park.
I'm not into walking but this hotel was within walking distance of the shops even for me. The casino is right next door.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear RCD2012_12,

Thank you for your review. "That Day" was tremendously hard on anyone travelling and I'm thrilled we were able to provide some relief when you arrived. We try very hard to find opportunities to deliver the best guest experience to support our great location and I'm really pleased to read of the impact our efforts had on your stay.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    309
    150
    43
    25
See reviews for
128
178
58
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on a package rate through hotel website - "Toulouse Lautrec" exhibition at National Gallery. Package included king size bed, parking and two "untimed" tickets costing $50 to the exhibition. Great value IMO.
Was upgraded to a park-view at check in (Priority Club Gold Member).
Room was very clean and well kept but bathroom in need of modernisation.
Hotel check-in staff and concierge extremely friendly and helpful. Check-out time of 11am very convenient.

Hotel in a great position adjacent to Casino and walking distance to cafes, restaurants and pubs. Large shopping mall with everything from ALDI, Myers, David Jones etc to BOSS across the road.

Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear mandmshow,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that the location suited your needs, you felt you received great value and of course that your wonderful loyalty through our Priority Club program was recognisd by the team.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and our other Crowne Plaza hotels.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great refurbished hotel at a good price purchased on their site. Very honest and sincere service from all staff I met. Rooms are well fitted out and work space in room is a good touch. Location spot on and walking distance to good shops. Definitely recommend this hotel for business travelers and couples.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear VrisTravel01,

Thankyou so much for your recommendation. Personal recommendations based on first hand experience are the very best way to promote anything, and we are very grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience.
We look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is easy to find and it is very close to government buildings and shopping mall. Hotel room was clean but bathrooms should need a renovation. They look quite tired. From room I had good view to the park. Hotel has also a gymnasium with sauna and outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear RST50,

Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled tat our excellent location helped you enjoy Canberra. We receive a great deal of positive feedback from guests who find us the perfect base for the attractions and business hubs. I'm pleased to advise that we are currently in the planning stages toward an upgrade of our bathrooms. Of course we try to ensure they are immaculately presented always and will hopefully be able to complete a refresh of the physical product this year.
Thank you again , we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra and the Crowne Plaza.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I travel lots (in Australia and overseas) and I can honestly say that during the two nights I spent at the crown plaza at the start of this year I experienced the friendliest and most helpful staff I have just about anywhere. The only reason that I dont say they provide the best service of any hotel in the world is that I have stayed in Dubai.
Well done Crown Plaza. Only place I will ever stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Glen255060,

Thank you so very much. We are thrilled to have created such a great impact. This is absolutely our goal and we look forward to welcoming you in similar style on all your future visits.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Two thumbs up for the discounted price on the deluxe suite and for the flowers/chocolates/bubbly as my wife and I celebrate our honeymoon year. The suite was very spacious, had two flat screen TVs (one in the sitting room, other in bedroom), two sofas, kitchen, dining table, comfy king size bed, walk in robe, ensuite and large windows overlooking the park. Staff were all very nice and welcoming. Also dined in-room one night and thought the food was great.

The gym is definitely in need of an update as does the pool which is awkwardly located (you have to go through the gym). Thought the spa bath was a little undersized for what supposedly is a suite. Complimentary bottled water was only provided once and only when we requested it. Kudos for the free internet during our stay but the process of requesting a new access code from reception that can then only be used on ONE device was very annoying. Also strange that we were only provided one toilet roll between us on the first night, that sounds kind of petty but just to put that into perspective, we had just driven a few hours from Sydney powered by nothing more than fast food & soft drink...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear DarkRevan,

Thank you for your review and the feedback it provides for our focus.

I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the faciltiy and service overall and we have noted the inconsistencies you mention. Consistency is after all the true mark of quality and our goal is to provide our guests with the highest quality experience in Canberra alongside genuine guest care and a great location.

Thank you again. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you top the Crowne Plaza Canberra in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here with a close friend late last year, he was very impressed with the room saying it was one of the nicest rooms he had ever stayed in.
Anyway my opinion, i loved the view we had and the layout of the room was perfect, the bed was facing the massive window that covered the whole wall, perfect view from a high floor! We slept with the blinds open as the night was so lovely!
The bathroom and room size is a little small but thats expected with many studio rooms anyway.
I decided to get room serivice in the morning, i got French Toast and to be honest i was a little down as i loveee french toast but it wasnt really cooked enough a little bit eggy but thats the only negative comment i have to make.
Check out was fast and easy :) and they have alot of carparking accessible near the hotel and it only cost me $2 for the night! Cheapest car parking ever.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Belinda G,

Thank you for this lovely review. We have spent a great deal of time and effort over the last year to improve the product and service and it is tremendous to see your feedback that supports our efforts and encourages us toward the continuation of the this improvement.
Great also to read that you found the nearby parking easy to use. It is extremely affordablea nd almost right next door.

Thank you again - we look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Matt Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra

Address: 1 Binara Street, Canberra 2601, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#12 Business Hotel in Canberra
#15 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter friendly service, easy accessibility and all the amenities you’ll need to stay connected at Crowne Plaza Canberra. Ideally located in the heart of the Nation’s Capital and within walking distance of the city’s best bars, restaurants, attractions and main shopping fair, Crowne Plaza Canberra is the accommodation venue of choice for those seeking a memorable experience. Each of our 295 luxurious rooms have been designed with comfort in mind and feature ergonomic workstations and deluxe bedding to ensure you are well rested during your holiday or business stay. Excite your palate with succulent grills and fresh local produce in our signature Redsalt Restaurant, or enjoy lighter fare and a selection of wine, beer and specialty cocktails in our vibrant and popular Binara one bar. Meet with friends or hold an informal meeting with colleagues in the picturesque Atrium Lounge and enjoy an espresso coffee or herbal tea prepared by one of our expert baristas. Being active is a big part of enjoying life, which is why we’re pleased to offer guests complimentary access to Pro-Fit Health Club with sauna and outdoor pool. Guests may also take advantage of our 24 hour Business Centre, high speed broadband and wireless connectivity in public areas designed to keep you connected. Treat yourself to a refreshing sanctuary from the stresses of life at Earth Day Spa. A visit to the spa will leave you feeling relaxed, soothed and pampered, so you can get more out of your stay. Earth Day Spa is open seven days a week and features treatments such as massages, facials, and beauty treatments for men and women. Be confident in your decision to experience Crowne Plaza Canberra and rely on exemplary service, easy access and modern facilities designed with your comfort and enjoyment in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Canberra
Canberra Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.