We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soi VIII Thai on Griffith

Soi VIII Thai on Griffith
U1/8 Barker Street, Canberra 2603, Australia
02 6239 7999
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was a first timer, and stumbled on this restaurant by mistake, however it will not be a mistake when I return! The food was great both in presentation and taste and I was pleasantly surprised with the price as well. We had a mixed entree, 2 Mains and rice for $50. The presentation was fantastic and the service couldn't be faulted. I'll be back !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Tasty and reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very flavourful. Many recommendations from friends and had to try it out. It is a BYO place and not overly fancy but the staff are friendly and the food is tasty. Want to go back with more people to try the whole menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Felt like I was back in Thailand!
Authentic flavours. True Thai spice not mild imitations. Plates bursting with fresh colourful vegetables and garnish. Despite being a full house the staff managed seamlessly.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Thai restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located in the small leafy Griffith shopping centre, Soi VIII is a nice, inexpensive Thai restaurant with a reasonably varied and authentic menu. Parking in the area is free and it never seems to be particularly crowded. Soi VIII is BYO, which also helps keep the price of lunch or dinner quite low. The only downside is the strange failure of the place to open on time. Recently 6 of us decided to meet there for lunch, but after arriving at noon - the advertised opening time - and waiting for 10 minutes for someone to appear, we went elsewhere. The same thing happened a few months ago - which is a pity because the food is quite good and the place is frequently empty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Refreshing take on Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been eating at Soi Eight for a couple of years and have always found the food to be very good to excellent. Service is average, but you don't go to Asian Restaurants for 5 star service. The food is tasty, well presented, with good flavours. I especially like the Angel Prawns.
We have found it to be the best of those in the inner south of Canberra.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soi VIII Thai on Griffith also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Soi VIII Thai on Griffith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soi VIII Thai on Griffith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.