We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we wanted to go back tonight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of taze

taze
4/21 Genge Street, Canberra, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 808 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: It is a rather new restaurant.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good we wanted to go back tonight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The menu is jam-packed with things to choose from, we were overwhelmed with the great choices! We went with the 3 mixed dips and Haloumi to start, they certainly weren't light on the bread or dips, coming out with two large baskets of bread and almost a gravy boat size of each dip. The Haloumi was extra salty but hardly something to complain about. The mains were large, flavoursome and impossibly fast. Towards the end of the night, as large groups of tables arrived our waitress tried her best to keep our table attended. Overall a fantastic experience if only they were open on a Sunday night or we would be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Dennis and the team at Taze set the benchmark for fresh and exceptional Mediterranean cuisine in Canberra. No wonder they win awards year after year. No breads and pastries imported from Sydney for them; they have their own Pastry Chef who produces the freshest breads and biscuits every day. I love Taze because apart from excellence in the quality of their foods, the team there always shows attentiveness to their customers and I appreciate all the efforts they go to. Incidentally, Taze more than competes in the coffee stakes; they use a fantastic blend and whether sit down or takeaway, Taze can not be between for quality coffee in Civic! Well done guys, no wonder you win the awards!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

No matter whether you are wanting a snack or memorable meal... this restaurant has it all. Highly recommended and a great selection of wines.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Dinner here was wonderful - lots of gluten free options, reasonable serves, with tasty, fresh ingredients. My eggplant entree was fantastic as was my fish of the day main. My partners lamb accompanied by eggplant and garlic puree with a side of beans and walnuts was perfectly cooked and unbelievably delicious - I'm ordering it next time. Service was friendly and efficient - we were well looked after. Wine was expensive and unfortunately my moscato didn't have the spritz it should have but otherwise the night was good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Every Bite! (Even though I couldn't get down to the last bite!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I visited Taze for the first time earlier this month and was thoroughly impressed. The food amazing! The service attentive and the atmosphere relaxing! Can't wait to go out there again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed taze also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to taze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage taze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.