We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience on a quiet night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Latsamy

Baan Latsamy
9 Flinders Way, Canberra 2603, Australia
(02) 6295 0426
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A great experience on a quiet night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We decided to give this restaurant a try as we have an Entertainment Card and we were entitled to a 25% discount on the meal.
We dined very early - around 6pm - because we were heading to an early movie. It was a chilly night on a Tuesday and we were the only diners, though people called in to pick up take-away while we were still there.
The decor is very nice and the place looks extremely clean. The young Thai waitress was a vision in beautiful traditional fabrics, and she was very pleasant and attentive. There was some Thai-sounding music in the background - not too loud, just enough that we didn't feel every word we said was bouncing around the empty restaurant.
There's a fairly good range of wines by the bottle; but not that many available by the glass. The wine tends to be more at the budget end, which is fine but I would happily have paid $10 for a decent quality wine by the glass - rather than having to choose from their limited range ($6-$7 per glass).
We are vegetarians and there was a good selection of dishes for us - a separate vegetarian section as well as other veggie dishes scattered throughout the rest of the menu. We ordered the fresh spring rolls, followed by a tofu, vegetable and cashew stir-fry and a vegetable red curry, plus rice.
Presentation is excellent, portions are generous. Overall the food was flavourful, but definitely not the best Thai food we've ever had.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average food, Disorganised service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thai is one of my favourite cuisines and I was disappointed with this relatively new comer to the Manaka restaurant scene. I was one of seven diners and four of our group had the base banquet and the other three, myself included, ordered off the menu. I had the mixed entrees and although the food was OK, most of it had been in the deep fryer too long and was a tad over done. My main was the chicken panang curry that was watery and lacked any character, it more resembled a dark version of tom yum gai. That said, the ingredients were fresh. Two others from our party had stir fried dishes that looked appetising but were judged to be just OK. This theme was repeated with the dishes that made up the banquet. Service was disorganised with some food being delivered to our table late and to the wrong people. The restaurant's atmosphere was quite pleasant and our waitress was polite. All in all, an average dining experience... you can do much better in Manuka/Kingston.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I've been to Baan Latsamy several times since they opened and have always had a great experience. Go for the 'drunken' dishes. Very tasty.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadford, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable Thai food with good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a Thai restaurant in the Maunka Sopping centre, a place well-endowed with eateries.
We booked for 2 on a busy Saturday night. On arrival we were politely and quickly shown our table and given menus; our bottle of wine was opened promptly.
Our entrees, rice paper spring rolls and grilled ginger and chilli squid arrived very quickly; I didn't think the squid quite matched the menu listing but it was tender and hot. Then a little later another plate of squid, more matching the menu arrived. It seemed we'd been given somebody else's salt and pepper squid. This seemed to disconcert the staff, but I assured them it was fine, I'd already eaten a squid dish.
The mains were pot-roasted duck (2 maryland portions) and and a fish curry with a side of steamed vegetables; the staff asked us if we were ready for mains. The duck was meltingly tender, but sadly only just warm. The fish was well cooked and the veggies crisp. There were no wow! flavours; it was pretty much average Thai food. Rice was plentiful and served in the traditional silver pot and was good and hot.
The restaurant was full, the tables not too close together and decor was modern with a few traditional Thai motifs. It is licensed and BYO wine only. There is a large supermarket across the road where you can buy wine. Corkage was $5.50 per bottle.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Latsamy also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Baan Latsamy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Latsamy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.