We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Burbury Hotel to your Saves list
Burbury Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Burbury Close | Barton, Canberra, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Hurstville, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simple and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed there over the weekend. The hotel is simple and elegant and the location could not be any better. Its close to the parliament house and also not far away from the manuka area where all the dining are at night. We will come back again if in Canberra next time.
p.s. the hotel breakfast - pancakes is sure not to be missed while there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    108
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
28
76
9
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only negative would be the location. I’d rather be in the CBD. The hotel doesn’t have room service which is fine with me as I always eat out and between the Burbury and the Reams Hotel opposite there is enough dining options to keep me happy.
My room was large, well lit plus heaps of natural light. The decor is contemporary and the electronic were modern and meet the demands of the fussiest business traveller.
The hotel would rate about 4 stars, it has no valet or concierge, but frankly these are things I can do without as I usually travel light and cab it.
The Gym (located under the Reams hotel, was crowded but well equipped. At $15 per session it’s reasonable but in my opinion should be included.

Room Tip: room 116 is a corner room. it was very large, but is on the st corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a modern hotel with funky decor in tan and black. Location is great if you're wanting to be in the Government area of Canberra. Service is great although there are no room service meals. You can eat breakfast on roof top terrace with views to Parliament House. For other meals you'll need to either eat at nearby restaurants or you can ring and order from the restaurants at the Realm Hotel and then collect it to eat in your room.

The only negative I've come across is due to the dark decor in the rooms its hard to see to do close work or put on your make up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband was in Canberra for business so I tagged along on our first trip with a baby. The Hotel was so accommodating on all requests. We stayed in a suite which was very much like an apartment . Very large, great location, wifi that worked, huge bathroom. Dishwasher and washing machine in the kitchen was a bonus with a baby. Baby crib was supplied too.

Husband loved the bed, I got little sleep as the pillows were huge and high so my neck was craned all night and couldn't sleep.

If staying in a suite, ask for one on the lake side of the building- the other side looks at Hotel Realm.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: suites on the lake side of the building for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have stayed in the Burbury several times on business. The hotel is relatively new. The beds are comfortable. Yes the decor is dark and very modern. Easy walking distance to restaurants in Manuka and Kingston. Restaurant and bar next door at the Realm if the weather is bad. Recommend the wagyu burger and pizzas. The selection on beer on tap is pretty good as well. Free wi fi in room a bonus. Convenient if have meetings in Barton.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

At first glance this looks like the hotel. But as they say appearances can be deceptive. The place is funky and furnished with modern trimmings. Latest electronic toys like apple tv and excited.
But the downside. Price. This was an expensive room. And then they charge parking. Kerching. Then $15 to use a treadmill. Kerching. Surprisingly the Internet was free.
On the plus side food was great and staff try hard and are very enthusiastic.
But cleanliness. Black carpet can be tricky BUT when we checked in the carpet had very obvious crumbs and dirt on te floor near the sofa. And it was still there the next day. Dust on te click radio. Urine stains on tiles around the toilet and I am feeling slightly uneasy. Good job I am not germophobic!
Place tried hard but needs to lift its game for me to come back. But heh, it was full (parliament was sitting) so perhaps I just got unlucky. But whatever you do with this drop the extra charges. They're just rude

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Burbury one night in a studio room. Very funky looking with illuminated room numbers in the corridor and modern panelling decor. The room was nice with apple TV, comfy bed (although the pillows are far too big) and good shower. The lighting however is quite poor..in the bedroom and the bathroom, so much so that it's a little hard to see your own reflection in the mirror. The toilet and shower are separated from the basin by frosted glass, not full height to ceiling, so if you are staying with another person, the bathroom is not totally private. Quite pricey considering it doesn't include breakfast or access to the gym which is $15 per day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbury Hotel

Address: 1 Burbury Close | Barton, Canberra, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burbury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Burbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.