We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poignant reminder of their sacrifice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Police Memorial

National Police Memorial
Wendouree Drive | Kings Park, Canberra 2600, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 146 things to do in Canberra
Attraction details
Katoomba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very poignant reminder of their sacrifice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very tasteful and fitting memorial to our fallen police, and in a great location, on the edge of Lake Burley Griffin and overlooking The Carillon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was excellent & we had a very moving visit here. An AFP Officer explained the memorial to us & we had a Piper play for us at dusk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very touching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped to have lunch in the park here so I moseyed over for a look. A well-loved police officer was murdered in our area a few years back and it was lovely being able to find his name.
The quotes are very touching and some had me close to tears.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Interesting but hard to find who you're looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Although we thought this was a really interesting memorial, we were a little puzzled as to how the plaques were ordered - it wasn't by rank, state or year, so it was hard to find the plaques of those we were looking for, like Tynan and Eyre, Silk and Miller and the police who died whilst rounding up the Kelly gang.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

to remember those we have lost in their duty to serve and protect. Very sad but am glad there is a place to honour these great men and women.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Police Memorial also viewed

 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to National Police Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Police Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.