We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Practically Lakeside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Practically Lakeside B&B
Save
You added Practically Lakeside B&B to your Saves list
14 Turner Place | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Canberra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidstone UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Luba & Chris were most welcoming and helpful.
Spacious comfortable room, nicely decorated, with all facilities.
Very central for all sights in Canberra but situated in a quiet leafy cul de sac.
Excellent breakfast!
Canberra is a very interesting modern City well planned with pleasant gardens, lakeside walks good museums and buildings to see.
We would certainly recommend 'Practically Lakeside' and a visit to Canberra to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. The weather in Canberra is simply perfect at the moment and should you return to these parts in future, we recommend autumn as one of the best times to visit our capital. We went for a blissful paddle on the lake this morning. We're not sure whether you are back in the UK or still travelling around Australia. Either way, we hope that you enjoyed your time down the south coast and the remainder of your stay Down-Under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
45
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Large picture windows look out onto a pretty private garden which is a great place to relax. The room is spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the small details of fresh flowers, bathrobes, chocies and a bedtime tipple of port make this B&B 5 star. Our first trip to Canberra was full of places to see, all done by Chris and Lubas's comfortable complimentary bikes. The B&B is so close to the lake, and the walking and cycling tracks in Canberra are excellent. It was a short picturesque ride into the hub of Canberra. On our travels we not only visited the major 'must see' sites but refreshed at some excellent cafes all suggested by our hosts. Their knowledge and genuine love of the city enhanced our enjoyment. Thanks for a great weekend...we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Wow what can we say! Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about Practically Lakeside B&B. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Canberra and made the most of the best that Canberra has to offer such as the cycle paths around the lake and city, the excellent restaurants and of course our wonderful attractions. Autumn has to be one of the best times to visit as the weather is warm by day and "a touch cooler" by night, perfect for sleeping. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you have a good year in your respective study and work. We hope that you will try our kayaks on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Chris and Luba are very succesful in running this B&B. Attention to detail stands out and the service is what you expect and more. We stayed for a couple of nights and we had fresh flowers, chocolates, port wine. Breakfast comes with a selection of fruits, breads, marmelades, eggs, etc. The room is very ample and spotless.Wifi has a good signal. Bikes are included and are kept in very good condition. The suburb is very pleasant and quiet. Supermarket is at a walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for including the photograph of the cockatoo. You would enjoy seeing the king parrots that are starting to visit the garden in larger numbers as the seedpods on the street trees are a good source of food for them. A family of "cat-birds" have also taken up residence and started drinking from the bird-bath. The autumn weather is just perfect with lovely warm days but cooler nights, ideal for sleeping. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope that you will return to Canberra in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our time at Lakeside was lovely. Luba and Chris are great people with a lot of knowledge of the area. Our room was clean and the bed was amazing. The breakfasts were tasty and thanks for the fruit every morning that was a lovely touch. The walking tracks are great with kangaroo's nearby. Close to the city took us no time to get to our destinations. Luba and Chris could not do enough for us and we will definatley stay there again the next time we are in Canberra. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks again Luba and Chris for making our time in Canberra so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the lovely reviews both in our guest book and on this site. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Canberra. We hope you received the recipe for the Lakeside Muesli and that K. has already made up a batch!. Spring and autumn are usually beautiful times to visit Canberra though, surprisingly, frosty winter days can also be good as we often have wonderful sunny days with brilliant blue skies. Our B&B is centrally heated as are all the major tourist attractions. We look forward to seeing youn both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Situated in a quiet upmarket Canberra residential suburb this B&B provided the ideal base from which to explore Canberra by car. Luba and Chris's local knowledge assisted greatly in arranging our itinerary for our 2 day stay in the Capital City. The B&B is situated close to all the major attractions, museums and the city centre is a plus. Their substantial breakfast really set one up for the day's activities. Having breakfast outside is a good way to start the day. Returning in the evening to sit outside on the deck and to watch and listen to the local birdlife was very calming indeed - almost like home. We even saw a kangaroo in the street about 2 houses away.The B&B is exactly as described and your room and en-suite is spacious and well appointed. Air conditioning or heating will take care of your comfort needs no matter what the season. The close proximity to Lake Burley Griffin makes it accessable by foot or bicycle. Using Luba and Chris' bicycles we rode along the shores of the lake and this provided useful orientation of the city layout and also views of the Parliamentary Triangle. Luba and Chris could not do enough for us and we thank them for making our visit to Canberra special and a pity that it was for only 2 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
It was indeed a pleasure meeting you both and exchanging information about local attractions, flora & fauna and South Africa during our informal chats. We really appreciated your inquisitive minds and the tenderness you showed towards HB and the pets in the street. We enjoyed R’s good humour about "renting-a-kangaroo" and G’s fascination with our wonderful birdlife. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our B&B. We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your time in Australia and that you have a wonderful reunion with your pets back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We really enjoyed the stay. For me a good test of how good is a place is to go back to the website after you have stayed there and see how much you agree with the descriptions provided and pictures presented. For Practically Lakeside, I would have to say that in our experience everything is spot on as advertised. The only thing that I would add is that Chris and Luba are also very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is only one room and it is a good one, so if there is availability you will be fine on this sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax after a somewhat hectic year. Advertising can often be misleading and we're pleased that our descriptions matched your expectations. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope that if you do return, you’ll have the time and energy to visit many of the wonderful cultural attractions nearby as well as take advantage of the marvellous facilities at Lake Burley Griffin and surrounding parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Many thanks to Chris and Luba for their hospitality. A beautiful city, lovely bed and breakfast , tastefully appointed accomodation, spacious room and ensuite, beautiful garden with a fish pond and a sumptuous good quality breakfast with good coffee. Free Wifi was good.
From a conventional standpoint, the b&b is not in the heart of the city, but is well connected bybus service 2, a five minute walk from the b&b. perfect for those using public transport. A few good eateries, such as Sukothai, farmer's daughter and the turkish eatery are a 10 minute walk away.

Weston park with kangaroos in the open, great lake views, picnic spots is best accessed from the b&b.. It was just perfect for us with kids aged 5 and 2. Ideal for a relaxed break.
Finally, our big thanks to the hosts for taking the time and effort to source out information and help us with route planning and the weston park recommendation.. They were super nice in even getting us some toys from their neighbours for our kids... Need i say more...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fureliseAdelaide, Owner at Practically Lakeside B&B, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It was indeed a pleasure meeting you all. The children are absolutely delightful and it was wonderful meeting people who appreciate the fresh air & natural environment surrounding our B&B. We think that we have the best of both worlds living so close to the city (5 minutes by car) & major tourist attractions but being so close to the lake and parklands as well. Hopefully, if you ever return to Canberra, you will be able to stay longer and also get to see some of the world class galleries & museums that we have here as well. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Practically Lakeside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Practically Lakeside B&B

Address: 14 Turner Place | Yarralumla, Canberra 2600, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy superior quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation & privacy in a quiet, tree-lined street in central Canberra. Near tourist attractions, Manuka & Kingston cafes & Parliamentary triangle, this beautiful B&B is located in the historic, lakeside suburb of Yarralumla, it is near the CBD, Turner from the Tate exhibition at the NGA, Weston Park, John James and Canberra Hospitals & popular outdoor cafes. Ideal for those who enjoy serious or gentle exercise, those interested in golfing, ornithology, photography, horticulture or for those who just enjoy a comfortable, tranquil environment. Be "Actively Lakeside" by taking advantage of our close proximity to Lake Burley Griffin to walk, run or cycle to major attractions. Bikes & kayaks are available at no cost. We are close to the marshalling area for marathons/cycling events, AIS Rowing course, inter-school regattas, Hot Air Balloon rides, Canberra Olympic, Manuka and Phillip Pools, tennis courts as well as the Royal Canberra Golf Course and Canberra Yacht Club. The room has both ducted & Nobo panel heating, ceiling fan, air conditioner, TV/DVD/radio & desk for computer /work materials. Free WiFi / broadband/cable internet is available. The adjoining dining room has a microwave, toaster, kettle & refrigerator, crockery & cutlery and a wide selection of teas & coffee. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Practically Lakeside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.