We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation to your Saves list
Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation
McMillan Gardens | Griffith, Canberra 2606, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ideal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent a week at this place and actually felt quite at home. What set the right tone was that in addition to instructions emailed to us earlier, on the day we were due to check in we received a text message confirming that they were expecting us and giving us our security codes to get into the building and so on. This sort of personalised things as well as allowing us to go straight to our accommodation without the usual check-in rigmarole. We found the unit to be very clean which was important because I am very fussy about that as most people are. One of the reasons we chose this place was that the unit had its own cooking facilities which saved us a lot of money and, apart from cost, we get tired of restaurant and takeaway food. The unit had a double bed and a lounge which pulled out to a bed although we just used it as a lounge which made for a bit more comfort. The bed had a decent mattress which was good but the first night was marred by a dripping tap in the kitchenette. I eventually put a dish cloth under it which quietened it and when I rang the management in the morning to complain about it they apologized profusely and sent the maintenance man straight around to fix it so that was not too much of a problem. This place is quite close to Parliament House and various places of interest such as the National Gallery and War Museum and so on and is in a side street so there was very little street noise. The accommodation was not five star but it was clean, comfortable, secure and well located and the price was very moderate by Canberra standards. In fact it was the cheapest we could find for the dates we wanted and given that it also enabled us to self cater we got good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We were happy to have you as our guest. We will continue to do our best to offer nice accommodation which is spotlessly clean and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
7
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks in a unit the advertising blurb described as a standard studio. Our unit was located in an older style building and was fairly small but very well maintained and I had an enclosed courtyard area which was a nice touch (although it was a little chilly for outdoors in September). The furniture appeared to be new and the unit was very clean with a kitchenette which had everything I required for self catering.

The location was great and close to most of the touristy places. The tariff was about mid-range, ie not cheap and not expensive but I was comfortable and felt secure so all in all I felt that I got value for money and would certainly stay there again. Staff were pleasant and helpful and provided us with bus timetables etc.

Room Tip: Our unit was in Building C which was a secure building and quite pleasant and although our unit face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We were happy to have you as our guest. We will continue to do our best to offer nice accommodation which is spotlessly clean and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked a Larger Studio unit in Griffith for 4 nights for my son and myself. Given the choice when I made the booking over the phone if I would like a double and single or a double and a pull out sofa which was nice. Enough room for us and it was great having a small kitchen to cook dinner. Found the unit warm with the air-con even if it was -5 outside. Larger room than the hotel we stayed in previous in Canberra. All in all we had a great stay and we will be retuning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a larger studio which has a double a single or a double and a double pull out sofa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We were happy to have you as our guest. We will continue to do our best to offer nice accommodation which is spotlessly clean and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the 2BR unit in Ainslie for a week with our 2 young children. It was very cold and smelled damp. The bathroom ceiling fan was so dusty that when you turned it on little bits of dust fell on the floor. The quilt covers were not particularly clean nor was the shower. The bathroom curtain was dirty, and hanging on one side where it had come out if its track and the apartment was generally a little worn and 'tired'. We ran the heater in the beginning to try and warm the place up, but about 10am on our first morning a note was put under the door saying that we needed to conserve energy and that the electricity meter was being checked and we would be charged for excessive power usage (how they determined 'excessive' was not stated). This was a bit of a shock as it had been -5 degrees that morning and it was freezing inside the unit. There was also no place to hang washing, which meant that we had to use the clothes dryer to dry our clothes. Surely if they were really interested in conserving electricity then a clothes line or simple clothes airer would be provided? I noted on their website that they have 'quality' inclusions but we were not quite sure what they were - there was no BBQ, and only basic facilities. The charge to use the internet connection was very expensive. The location is excellent, and this could be a great place, but the advertising definitely does not indicate what it really is. It seems that they have a number of units, so perhaps if they listed each one separately on their website with accurate representative photos it would not be such a disappointment when you arrive. This place is good and functional and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

STAY AWAY!!! My children and I arrived at dinner time to this "spacious studio" to discover an extremely cold room - smaller than most hotel rooms - and an air-conditioner that didn't work. That was apart from the leaky fawcett in the bathroom and unpleasant odour in the room and corridor! I contacted "reception" and it would take at least 30 minutes for someone to check the air-con. At least a refund was offered over the phone if we chose to leave immediately. We left Canberra - vowing never to return to such an unfriendly place. After further attempts to contact the providers, I am still waiting for my refund.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We very much regret that Travelling Mum was unhappy with our accommodation offerings. Our records show that she did not actually stay with us but left within a few minutes of arrival. We also regret that she considered our personnel to be rude and unhelpful as we place a very high priority on client service and insist on our people displaying a friendliness and competence. Accordingly we take the comment very seriously. In relation to the heating unit had had a new reverse cycle airconditioner installed only six weeks earlier. We had it checked by the supplier the next morning and it was found to be operating correctly. July can be very cold in Canberra and it can take a little time for the set temperature to be reached. As to the tariff, we offer top of the range budget accommodation, which is well-located and spotlessly clean, at a very competitive tariff and we are sorry that Travelling Mum feels that it was overpriced. We also apologise for the fact that a faucet in the bathroom was dripping. Our housekeepers should have noticed it and had it seen to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Canberra - What a great place to go to and what a great find for accommodation. My girlfriend and I went to Canberra for a week in May and were looking for a self contained place to stay that was not too expensive and a place where we could get around easily. We came across this place by accident as our previous booked accommodation had fallen though at the last minute. It was really well located near Manuka where we wanted to be.

We stayed in one of the large 1 bedroom units and found them warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean and really spacious. The lovely lady who took our booking even arranged for some groceries to be in the unit on our arrival (we were on a late flight coming into Canberra). The next day we were even driven into the city to pick up our car. All I can say is thanks to Saarah for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building A - dont know about the other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Before Booking the price was $260 online. When I called they said it was $320 and so I went back online to book at a cheaper rate but they had already changed it. The 2BR only has 3 plates and glasses, not well serviced. Very old looking. NO bbq onsite only a george foreman grill. Pool was dirty on the bottom. If you are after over priced accommodation this is the place to go.

We also had to help others who booked there, but had no room assigned to them,.

Room Tip: Dont book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We offer top of the range budget accommodation, which is well-located and spotlessly clean, at a very competitive tariff. We monitor rates for equivalent accommodation very closely and always strive to offer best value for money in the Canberra market. Rates change frequently depending upon the overall booking situation and we apologise for the frustration about this rate change. We have re-equipped the unit with kitchenware and drawn the attention of the Body Corporate to the pool matter. We thank the client for this review which has been helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation

Address: McMillan Gardens | Griffith, Canberra 2606, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.