We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation to your Saves list
Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation
McMillan Gardens | Griffith, Canberra 2606, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
vic
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked a Larger Studio unit in Griffith for 4 nights for my son and myself. Given the choice when I made the booking over the phone if I would like a double and single or a double and a pull out sofa which was nice. Enough room for us and it was great having a small kitchen to cook dinner. Found the unit warm with the air-con even if it was -5 outside. Larger room than the hotel we stayed in previous in Canberra. All in all we had a great stay and we will be retuning next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in a larger studio which has a double a single or a double and a double pull out sofa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. We were happy to have you as our guest. We will continue to do our best to offer nice accommodation which is spotlessly clean and we look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the 2BR unit in Ainslie for a week with our 2 young children. It was very cold and smelled damp. The bathroom ceiling fan was so dusty that when you turned it on little bits of dust fell on the floor. The quilt covers were not particularly clean nor was the shower. The bathroom curtain was dirty, and hanging on one side where it had come out if its track and the apartment was generally a little worn and 'tired'. We ran the heater in the beginning to try and warm the place up, but about 10am on our first morning a note was put under the door saying that we needed to conserve energy and that the electricity meter was being checked and we would be charged for excessive power usage (how they determined 'excessive' was not stated). This was a bit of a shock as it had been -5 degrees that morning and it was freezing inside the unit. There was also no place to hang washing, which meant that we had to use the clothes dryer to dry our clothes. Surely if they were really interested in conserving electricity then a clothes line or simple clothes airer would be provided? I noted on their website that they have 'quality' inclusions but we were not quite sure what they were - there was no BBQ, and only basic facilities. The charge to use the internet connection was very expensive. The location is excellent, and this could be a great place, but the advertising definitely does not indicate what it really is. It seems that they have a number of units, so perhaps if they listed each one separately on their website with accurate representative photos it would not be such a disappointment when you arrive. This place is good and functional and we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

STAY AWAY!!! My children and I arrived at dinner time to this "spacious studio" to discover an extremely cold room - smaller than most hotel rooms - and an air-conditioner that didn't work. That was apart from the leaky fawcett in the bathroom and unpleasant odour in the room and corridor! I contacted "reception" and it would take at least 30 minutes for someone to check the air-con. At least a refund was offered over the phone if we chose to leave immediately. We left Canberra - vowing never to return to such an unfriendly place. After further attempts to contact the providers, I am still waiting for my refund.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We very much regret that Travelling Mum was unhappy with our accommodation offerings. Our records show that she did not actually stay with us but left within a few minutes of arrival. We also regret that she considered our personnel to be rude and unhelpful as we place a very high priority on client service and insist on our people displaying a friendliness and competence. Accordingly we take the comment very seriously. In relation to the heating unit had had a new reverse cycle airconditioner installed only six weeks earlier. We had it checked by the supplier the next morning and it was found to be operating correctly. July can be very cold in Canberra and it can take a little time for the set temperature to be reached. As to the tariff, we offer top of the range budget accommodation, which is well-located and spotlessly clean, at a very competitive tariff and we are sorry that Travelling Mum feels that it was overpriced. We also apologise for the fact that a faucet in the bathroom was dripping. Our housekeepers should have noticed it and had it seen to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Canberra - What a great place to go to and what a great find for accommodation. My girlfriend and I went to Canberra for a week in May and were looking for a self contained place to stay that was not too expensive and a place where we could get around easily. We came across this place by accident as our previous booked accommodation had fallen though at the last minute. It was really well located near Manuka where we wanted to be.

We stayed in one of the large 1 bedroom units and found them warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean and really spacious. The lovely lady who took our booking even arranged for some groceries to be in the unit on our arrival (we were on a late flight coming into Canberra). The next day we were even driven into the city to pick up our car. All I can say is thanks to Saarah for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building A - dont know about the other buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Before Booking the price was $260 online. When I called they said it was $320 and so I went back online to book at a cheaper rate but they had already changed it. The 2BR only has 3 plates and glasses, not well serviced. Very old looking. NO bbq onsite only a george foreman grill. Pool was dirty on the bottom. If you are after over priced accommodation this is the place to go.

We also had to help others who booked there, but had no room assigned to them,.

Room Tip: Dont book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanbHol, Manager at Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
We offer top of the range budget accommodation, which is well-located and spotlessly clean, at a very competitive tariff. We monitor rates for equivalent accommodation very closely and always strive to offer best value for money in the Canberra market. Rates change frequently depending upon the overall booking situation and we apologise for the frustration about this rate change. We have re-equipped the unit with kitchenware and drawn the attention of the Body Corporate to the pool matter. We thank the client for this review which has been helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

most units are occupied by tenants, not holiday-makers; there's a manager (in officer hours) rather than a reception desk. doors have no soft-close so you're woken by slamming at any time. grateful for the vacuum cleaner - used it to clear the ants each morning in the kitchen area :( rooms rather small but nice little terrace area. tiny pool had no shade and no loungers

Room Tip: ask for one with a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

With $130 per night price tag for a large studio apartment, my expectations were not high but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, standard motel size with one double and one single bed. The addition of a well equipped kitchenette with full crockery, cutlery, pots pans etc. was a useful addition as well as a nice sunny balcony looking out into the street. The linen was clean and toiletries and a lovely bowl of fruit provided.
The location was perfect, south of Canberra by just a few kms and close to some great local shopping areas like Manuka and Kingston.
It is part of a large complex which appears to have some long term residents rather than all holiday clientele. The parking was off road and appeared secure.
My only complaint was the strong smell of cigarettes that greeted you as you left your room to go down stair s to exit the building, obviously some people can't wait to light up!
If you want just somewhere to return to at night to rest your head, this place is fine for a short time.
I wasn't made aware of the $9 extra in charges for credit card payment, so I would clarify that.
You get what you pay for and in Canberra I felt this was pretty good value.
Dee

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room facing the street. I think these are the larger studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation

Address: McMillan Gardens | Griffith, Canberra 2606, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canberra Short Term and Holiday Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.