We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Chinese Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Plate

China Plate
Shop 4, 5/11 Kennedy St, Canberra 2604, Australia
6260 7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Delicious Chinese food in a lovely setting with helpful staff. Everyone in our group of 7 enjoyed the food and we ordered a range of items from the extensive menu - lamb, seafood, soup, rice, omelette. A great local restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Modern, progressive Chinese cuisine.
Great service, relaxed, attitude free.
Standout dishes - Shantung Dumplings, Shanghai Dumplings, Yintai Chicken, Kung Po Chicken, Wasabi Beef, Salt and Pepper Eggplant.... I could go on.
Let the staff advise you.
I've never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As it was close to our hotel we called in here one evening. Very warm welcome and delicious food at a reasonable price. Interesting menu and obviously very popular

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good overall, with some reservations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We walked in off the street around 12.45pm on a Friday. The menu looked good and the restaurant decor was inviting. However, we were immediately taken past the downstairs area, up the stairs, having to edge past a stack of chairs half way up, to a much less attractive upstairs area. Now, downstairs, which was half-full at the time, may have been booked out but we weren't told that. Upstairs had nowhere near the same ambience - bare outdoor style tables with orange plastic chairs - but we would probably have been happier had we been told that it was booked out downstairs but they could accommodate us upstairs. As it was, we felt a little like second-class citizens. One other couple was upstairs. The service was excellent - attentive and prompt. The food was tasty and flavoursome, though the shredded pork was rather salty. When we told the server that, she said that it was strong-flavoured food but said she'd tell the chef. I like strong-flavoured food - chilli, basil and ginger, garlicky, etc - but not salty food. (Is salt making a come-back? We've had overly salty food three times now in the last two months.) Anyhow, overall, good and pleasant service, with tasty food which was hot and seemed freshly cooked. We'd probably go again, but would rather not be shuffled upstairs without some explanation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality Food, Great Value - My Favourite Place in Canberra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I became regular visitors to the China Plate whilst we were living temporarily in Kingston in Feb and March this year. We were very impressed with the quality of the food - an exciting menu with superb tasting dishes - fine dining standard but very reasonably priced. It is not surprising this is a very popular menu.
We were so impressed we chose the China Plate as the venue for our annual Alumni reunion dinner in June - our group of 20 had a fantastic banquet dinner - thanks Amy & Co for such a special night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Plate also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to China Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Plate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.