We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed Apartment Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Gungahlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Gungahlin to your Saves list
Abode Gungahlin
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well-appointed Apartment Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for three nights mainly to attend a party in the restaurant/bar which forms part of the hotel. While the rooms are compact, they are extremely well-appointed with a kitchenette which includes a dishwasher. There is also a washing machine in the bathroom. Staff are extremely helpful. Price is above average for accommodation 15minutes from the centre of Canberra but you are paying for the extras. We asked for a room at the quiet end of the hotel and were given Room 16, upstairs and away from the bar which is always busy and can be noisy. Gungahlin township is a few minutes walk to a wide range of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 16 or one close to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Norman H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about Abode. Like you mention, we have aimed to make sure that all the amenities of home are in each room and that our prices reflect the location of Abode Gungahlin and its proximity to the Canberra city and the Gungahlin Town Centre. Thank you for your comments; we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday 20 October 12 for one night. The location was perfect for us as we were attending a wedding in the local area. The room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep. The road outside is quite busy but we could not hear any traffic or noise from the corridor. In the morning we went to the Siren, which is a bar & restaurant at the other end of the building. The breakfast was very nice and is recommended.
We would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: Our room was No 1. The first on the left after reception. We thought that it maybe noisey during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear AI H,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is great that Abode was such a convenient choice for you while staying in Canberra for a wedding. There are some very popular wedding venues in this region of Canberra and Abode Gungahlin is just a short drive to all of the favourites.

It is also great that you were able to dine at Siren Bar & Restaurant and have taken the time to recommend it. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Not that there is many choices in the Gunghalin/Mitchell area but if you need accommodation around here than this is not a bad option. I stayed recently for business in the King Studio which is advertised as there premium room with a little bit of luxury. I guess if space is a luxury than it had an abundance of that which was great, the downside is it somehow looked to spacious with the small furnishings. The furniture didn't seem to suit the size of the space, a very small casual round table and a 2 21/2 seat sofa.

The chairs around the table were in desperate need of replacing, the coverings were really scratched up and one chair had some sort of red stain all through the seat, like a dye or possibly red wine spill that never came out, the wall of the room were pretty badly marked also. If you are going to advertise the room with the word luxury, then you need to make sure you can deliver it.

On the positive the the bed was great, bathroom great and clean room was spacious with a small balcony. The restaurant downstairs was great, good food at reasonable price and quick service, I know it is an apartment hotel which suggests longer stays where you would buy your own food and the restaurant is interdependent of the hotel I believe so there was no Breakfast option unless you went to Maca's next door or a local cafe, which for a short stay is not ideal.

The inside of the hotel was being repainted which left paint fumes to sleep with, which probably should have been advertised out of courtesy to guests booking by the website, but will look fresher for it in the end.

I would go back knowing what to expect now, but i think they should just be wary of using the word luxury in its advertising.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Ulurus,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value your comments because it helps us to improve our offering at Abode Hotels.

We will look into the maintenance of furniture in the rooms and throughout the hotel.

We appreciate your comments about the messaging used on the website for the King Studio (…the king studio at Abode Gungahlin brings a touch of luxury to apartment-style accommodation.) We will take this on board in developing descriptions about the rooms.

Abode’s on-site restaurant, Siren Bar & Restaurant is open from 10am Mon-Fri and from 8am Fri – Sun. The kitchen facilities provided in the rooms allow you to make your own meals but we recognise that for overnight travellers this is an issue so will look at how we can address this.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Abode Apartment hotel is located in Gungahlin, Canberra, about 15 minutes fron the centre of Canberra. It's brand spanking new, as is the little township of Gungahlin. Like Canberra itself, Gungahlin is a brilliantly thought out and well planned township, lots of new housing estates indispursed with parklands and natural areas.

The street the hotel is located on what was formerly 'Gribble St', this has been changed to Efkarpidis St for reasons I cannot fathom, so we got a little lost... ensure your GPS is updated before visiting Canberra.

FIrstly the hotel had everything we needed, you would think due to the excellent rates that the apartment would be lacking in something, cheap hard beds etc, but no... these beds have to be the best quality of any hotel I've stayed in, very comfortable indeed. The kitchen was very well equipped. Everything was in perfect working order. There is even a dishwasher in the kitchen area. The washer/dryer is a nice touch too, everything is neat, tidy and tucked away where it should be. The rooms were spotless, as was the bathroom.. The studio family room was actually quite large and we had a lovely little balcony too. Coles and Woolworths are within easy walking distance, as are all the major fast food joints.

If I had to nit pick about anything I'd say the shower could use a bit more pressure and the dishwasher could have been a tad cleaner, however I should point out that I suffer from OCD, so to normal people this would not have been an issue.

There is a lift at the front of the building, so if you are challenged in the mobility department, request a room closer to the lift. We were located in the last room on the top level away from the lift, we could use the stairs and there are exit and entry points dotted throughout the hotel, so if you don't mind negotiating a few stairs that's the way to go. My other half obviously wasn't listening when this was pointed out to him at check in, we spend our first few days walking all the way to the end of the hotel when we could have accessed it easier through the stair well... our bad.

Everything ran very smoothly during our stay so we didn't need to seek out staff, however having read other reviews of this hotel we asked the staff what would happen if our keycard ceased to work. They have dramatically extended staff hours and outside of these hours I understand a staff member stays overnight onsite, the emergency number is answered by this staff member, so they are onsite to deal with any problems should they arise.

Noise wise, again, no issue, yes there's a drive through McDonalds on one side and a Police/Fire Station on the other. We had a siren go off at 9am one morning but it was short lived and we were already up. We were directly over Siren's bar and restaurant and didn't have any noise issues from there either despite staying over the long weekend.

Of the staff we did talk to, all were knowledgable and courteous and very professional.

Thank you Abode, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear L410,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback; we really appreciate you taking the time to document your positive comments but also provide constructive critique.

It is great to hear that Abode Gungahlin was exactly what you were after and met all of your expectations. We’re glad that you have made a point about the beds as making sure you get a good night’s sleep when you are away from home is something that is extremely important to us. It is also great that you mention the focus we have put into extending the reception hours and improving the check-in process. You’re also right that we do have a night manager that lives on-site at the hotel for assistance outside the reception hours.

We will look into the items you have mentioned such as the cleanliness of your dishwasher. The issue of the street names is something we will also look at making clearer. At present, most maps still list the newly named Efkarpidis Street as Gribble Street so we look at explaining the change in our booking material and on our website.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks Paul for your help and direction while we stayed at the hotel. We appreciated your knowledge and advice.

Newer hotel. Large studio rooms with good beds. Kitchenette and laundry very helpful.

Walk to shopping and restaurants. Nearby is an amazing place to eat "Jasmine House". Must try! Free Internet at the library or McDonalds.

Take the Red Rapid bus into the CBD for $4.00. The bus stop is in the Gungahlin CBD next to the Woolworths. Fast, cheap and easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear gh2nnz,

Thank you for your feedback about Abode Gungahlin. It is great that you enjoyed your stay and found Paul, our Abode Gungahlin hotel manager, so helpful. We also thank you for the wonderful feedback you have provided about Jasmine House. This is one of the great suggestions we have included in our Abode Gungahlin Compendium. We also appreciate you providing future guests with transport tips; buses are a great way to get around and as you mention, it is very cheap to get to the city.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was impressed of facility because it is a new building compare to other hotels. The furniture are updated. It's a smaller compare to others but for us it was doable. We rented a studio style room that had a kitchenette, a laundry & dryer- which helped because we ended up using all three. Initially you may find prices in Canberra a bit more expensive from north American prices so we used the kitchen.
I found the staff friendly and helpful when I asked for direction and advice.
If you're gonna use internet it's not free though and you have to purchase it online or walk to the nearest library which is only less than a 5 min walk and hook up to their wi-fi there if you don't wanna pay.
The hotel is close to ammenities, restaurants, shopping centre, banks, dry clean, mobile services, grocery stores and etc...Buses run frequently from there to the city central as well. We had no problem going to downtown Canberra, 15- 20 min bus ride. We were able to get our errands done quickly because we stayed in that location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear merincognito,

Thank you taking the time to post your feedback. It’s great that you found the facilities in the room and the staff helpful. You are correct, we do not offer Wifi at our flagship hotel in Gungahlin but we do offer an hour for $8.10, a day for $16.50 or a week for $42.75. You will be pleased to know that we are also trialling free Wifi at our new hotel in Tuggeranong.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am staying here on a 5 night business trip - I chose this hotel as it offers a kitchenette so I can have some home meals whilst away.
Nice rooms, comfortable & cleen. Does not take long to drive to the city & there are local amenities nearby.
Unfortunately, they do loose they "hotel" aspect a little too much. I needed my room made up (clean towels & rubbish removed) & to my surprise this had not been done by 5.30pm when I returned from work. Several requests to the cleaners, and it was done by 7pm which was very unconvenient. The night before, I had no towels in the rooms at all!! There are no water bottles in the room, which is fine but there is no machine in the lobby either (after a 3.5hr drive from Sydney at night, this would be a nice option).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Chickamac,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to provide your experiences. In providing a hotel that offers all the amenities of home, we do not aim to ‘lose’ the feel of a hotel. We will look into why you had challenges in having your room cleaned and rectify the situation. We do not provide water bottles in the rooms but will look at including amenities such as vending machines or a facility where you can access a drink and a snack after travelling. Thank you for your helpful comments.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Gungahlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Gungahlin

Address: Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Gungahlin 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finished to the highest standard, Abode - The Apartment Hotel proves that brand new, stylish hotel accommodation need not be exclusive. The hotel's inspired design provides everything you need for a stay that is both leisurely and comfortable.Situated on the doorstep of Gungahlin's booming shopping and restaurant precinct, and a short drive to the city, Belconnen and the airport, Abode is the perfect place for the business or pleasure traveller looking for style, comfort and convenience with a surprising touch of sophistication.Abode The Apartment Hotel is Gungahlin's only hotel and is close to Canberra's suburbs and tourist attractions. The hotel boasts 61 apartment-style rooms with all the amenities you've come to expect from modern 4 star accommodation including kitchenette, balcony, ensuite, flat screen TV and sofa beds.For whatever reason you find yourself in Canberra, Abode The Apartment Hotel will keep you happy and comfortable during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abode Gungahlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Gungahlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.