We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Gungahlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Gungahlin to your Saves list
Abode Gungahlin
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks Paul for your help and direction while we stayed at the hotel. We appreciated your knowledge and advice.

Newer hotel. Large studio rooms with good beds. Kitchenette and laundry very helpful.

Walk to shopping and restaurants. Nearby is an amazing place to eat "Jasmine House". Must try! Free Internet at the library or McDonalds.

Take the Red Rapid bus into the CBD for $4.00. The bus stop is in the Gungahlin CBD next to the Woolworths. Fast, cheap and easy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear gh2nnz,

Thank you for your feedback about Abode Gungahlin. It is great that you enjoyed your stay and found Paul, our Abode Gungahlin hotel manager, so helpful. We also thank you for the wonderful feedback you have provided about Jasmine House. This is one of the great suggestions we have included in our Abode Gungahlin Compendium. We also appreciate you providing future guests with transport tips; buses are a great way to get around and as you mention, it is very cheap to get to the city.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
23
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was impressed of facility because it is a new building compare to other hotels. The furniture are updated. It's a smaller compare to others but for us it was doable. We rented a studio style room that had a kitchenette, a laundry & dryer- which helped because we ended up using all three. Initially you may find prices in Canberra a bit more expensive from north American prices so we used the kitchen.
I found the staff friendly and helpful when I asked for direction and advice.
If you're gonna use internet it's not free though and you have to purchase it online or walk to the nearest library which is only less than a 5 min walk and hook up to their wi-fi there if you don't wanna pay.
The hotel is close to ammenities, restaurants, shopping centre, banks, dry clean, mobile services, grocery stores and etc...Buses run frequently from there to the city central as well. We had no problem going to downtown Canberra, 15- 20 min bus ride. We were able to get our errands done quickly because we stayed in that location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear merincognito,

Thank you taking the time to post your feedback. It’s great that you found the facilities in the room and the staff helpful. You are correct, we do not offer Wifi at our flagship hotel in Gungahlin but we do offer an hour for $8.10, a day for $16.50 or a week for $42.75. You will be pleased to know that we are also trialling free Wifi at our new hotel in Tuggeranong.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am staying here on a 5 night business trip - I chose this hotel as it offers a kitchenette so I can have some home meals whilst away.
Nice rooms, comfortable & cleen. Does not take long to drive to the city & there are local amenities nearby.
Unfortunately, they do loose they "hotel" aspect a little too much. I needed my room made up (clean towels & rubbish removed) & to my surprise this had not been done by 5.30pm when I returned from work. Several requests to the cleaners, and it was done by 7pm which was very unconvenient. The night before, I had no towels in the rooms at all!! There are no water bottles in the room, which is fine but there is no machine in the lobby either (after a 3.5hr drive from Sydney at night, this would be a nice option).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Chickamac,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to provide your experiences. In providing a hotel that offers all the amenities of home, we do not aim to ‘lose’ the feel of a hotel. We will look into why you had challenges in having your room cleaned and rectify the situation. We do not provide water bottles in the rooms but will look at including amenities such as vending machines or a facility where you can access a drink and a snack after travelling. Thank you for your helpful comments.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

great hotel, cheap, clean and nice. almost brand new smells like paint. great quality for great price. Close to the huge shopping centre which is relatively new near by.......ccan get a cab to the inner city clubbing area for cheap. didnt see a pool though?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear drmmer07,

Thank you for your great feedback about Abode – The Apartment Hotel. You’re exactly right, Abode Hotels are a new brand in Canberra so offer all the modern features and are very close to all the amenities you need when away from home. Our properties don’t have pools but this allows us to provide a great hotel at a great price.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Abode as our children were staying with Gran and Pa in a Northern suburb nearby, and there wasn't enough room there. All we needed was somewhere to go to at night. We stayed twice, experiencing different rooms. Both times the rooms were exactly as indicated on the website, very clean, warm and comfortable. Bed and pillows were 5 star. The owner or manager Paul (if he is not the owner he certainly acts like one !) was very friendly and helpful. He knew all about the restaurants and shops in the close by shopping area, and also gave us some great tips for our trip to the snowfields. Some small problems (one light bulb blown) were dealt with very promptly.

4 minute walk to Coles/Woolies etc, lots of eating options.

Only problem was the parking. As the carpark was undercover I suspect lots of patrons from the nearby club and restaurants parked there, so was quite full on weekends, however we always got a spot, just not near the front door !

Took 1o mins easy drive to the centre of Canberra.

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in were fine. Some noise from road and nearby shops....but nothing that kep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear CraigS1968,

Thank you for your comments. It’s great to hear that you found the website description matched what was delivered during your stay. We receive a lot of comments about the bed and pillows being some of the most comfortable our patrons have experienced while being away from home.

We also thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about Paul. He is the hotel manager at Abode Gungahlin and it’s great to see that he is was helpful and knowledgeable, ensuring you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are glad that your maintenance issue was dealt with promptly and hope to see you at Abode again one day soon.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The properaty is located 15 minutes out of town at Gangahlan. We only stayed there because it was close to a function we were attending. The property is clean and tidy but the rooms are sterile. All white with no atmosphere. If your planning a stay in the capital I would recommend you stay close to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode_Canberra, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear pparko,

Thank you for your feedback. As you mention, Abode Gungahlin is very user-friendly when you stay in the area for a function. There are a lot of wedding and function venues in this part of Canberra.

We appreciate your comments about the atmosphere. We will take your feedback on board and look into ways that we can address this issue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts; we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here on way back from snow trip. 2 rooms, exec studio for us, and studio next door for our 2 teenagers. Spacious, very new, modern & well equipped. Great food options next door & nearby. Kids went takeaway Subway & sushi, we had Indian, at the nice restaurant next door. All happy!
Sirens is a funky restaurant /bar/cafe at far end of the hotel [ not the quiet, airport style minimalist bar we were expecting.] Had a lovely breakfast there, waffles,eggs benedict, good coffee. Would suit a variety of travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms near Sirens or McDonalds end might be noisy. The middle or near reception might be quieter. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Ruby026,

It sounds like you had a great stay at Abode – The Apartment Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about Abode Gungahlin.

There are some great dining options in Gungahlin and, as you mention, something to suit everyone in the family. Siren Bar & Restaurant, which is part of the hotel, does have a great offering for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is quite a popular spot for both hotel guests, as well as local Canberra residents.

Thank you again for reviewing Abode. If you’re a family that enjoys travelling to the snow, Abode Tuggeranong (located in the south of Canberra) is due to open within months and is a very convenient stopover. Find out more at abodehotels.com.au.

Kind regards
Abode - The Apartment Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Gungahlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Gungahlin

Address: Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Gungahlin 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finished to the highest standard, Abode - The Apartment Hotel proves that brand new, stylish hotel accommodation need not be exclusive. The hotel's inspired design provides everything you need for a stay that is both leisurely and comfortable.Situated on the doorstep of Gungahlin's booming shopping and restaurant precinct, and a short drive to the city, Belconnen and the airport, Abode is the perfect place for the business or pleasure traveller looking for style, comfort and convenience with a surprising touch of sophistication.Abode The Apartment Hotel is Gungahlin's only hotel and is close to Canberra's suburbs and tourist attractions. The hotel boasts 61 apartment-style rooms with all the amenities you've come to expect from modern 4 star accommodation including kitchenette, balcony, ensuite, flat screen TV and sofa beds.For whatever reason you find yourself in Canberra, Abode The Apartment Hotel will keep you happy and comfortable during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abode Gungahlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Gungahlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.