We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient but noise can be an issue for some” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abode Gungahlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abode Gungahlin to your Saves list
Abode Gungahlin
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient but noise can be an issue for some”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed for two nights recently with our two young children. Location was right next to Gunghalin town centre, good for the shops and transport, but our room overlooked a 24 hour MacDonalds drive through, hence some issues with noise, which were exacerbated by internal corridor noise which often came into the room too. Other than that, the rooms were well appointed with kitchenettes, ensuites etc and the beds were very comfortable. Some less frequented common areas could do with better cleaning. Reception hours are very limited (once you have checked in), which is OK so long as you don't lose your key or need other assistance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
25
28
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The pre-booking inquiry and confirmation process and experience before stay was so bad that we ended up cancelling our booking. Where do I start?
I phoned up for inquiry but there is only 1 phone number which no one tends to pick up. They list their office hours and if you call within these hours, you still get no one but an answering machine.
If you leave a message, you will get no response either. However, if you ignore their published listed office hours, you will get some rude, unfriendly, unprofessional staff. If you send email inquiry, they don't reply either. We never got a response till this day.
When I checked with trip advisor and the previous comments left, that was the last straw and we decided to cancel our booking.
Then waited anxiously for the refund to turn up as we did not have any confidence that it would happen at all or correctly. But to their credit that was the only task they did get right.
So my advise to their owner/management, they should enroll in a basic hotel management and customer service course.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode T, Owner at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello maxzoomx3,

While Abode the Apartment Hotel prefers that guests book their accommodation through our website, we do offer a phone and email service. Unfortunately, during our first few months of operations there were teething problems with both these services. We acknowledge and accept that our limited reception hours didn’t meet the level of service expected by our guests.

To put it simply, not responding to phone and email enquiries is unacceptable. Since these problems were identified, Abode has significantly increased its reception opening times and ensures that email and phone enquiries are answered promptly.

We unreservedly apologise for your poor experience and hope that as we continue to improve our service you will again consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Like all previous guests have mentioned this hotel should not be operating with such terrible amenities, rooms and service!

During my stay i encountered the following:
-checked into room after hours and the room hadnt been cleaned. Hair in bathroom, kitchenette was filthy and sheets were dirty!
-No hot water in shower
Fridge leaking water
-Appliances (microwave amd washing machine) difficult to use as they were some brand i have never heard of and did not come with instructions
-cleaning: No cleaning was consistant(get towels one day, then no towels the next)
- aircon leaking (hotel told me i couldn't use it so they will show me the operation - i'm not 2 yrs old who is experimenting or learning new things. İ KNOW how to operate an aircon)
- insulted by staff, rude and abrupt, that is if you ate lucky to get someone there to talk to
- locked out on my first night as the self check in failed. 1300 number didn't answer, when they finally did answer i was driving to anthor hotel to find shelter for the night
- mould and mildew smell thoughout the hotel
- leaking walls in room
- cafe and restaurant not yet open but was advertised on booking info
- OVERALL A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY AWAY. IF YOU DONT WANT TO GET SICK STAY FAR FAR AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode T, Owner at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello Seriouslytravel,

It’s obvious from your review that your stay at Abode was inferior. We are sorry for your experience but would like to let you know that we have been tirelessly working to ensure that these problems are not experienced again.

It’s also worth mentioning that although the hotel clearly received some complaints in the few months after we opened, they represent only a minority of the many hundreds of bookings we received.

In response to your specific complaints:
Room wasn’t cleaned properly prior to arrival – This was not a commonly experienced issue, however, cleaning protocols and systems have been improved to ensure that rooms are properly prepared as needed or requested.

No hot water in shower – This is a difficult one to explain and was also not a common occurrence. However, now that we have increased our reception times help is closer to hand. If this situation were to reoccur help would be available to assist you.

Fridge leaking water – Once again, not a common problem. The appliances were very new at the time of your stay and the fridge in your room may have had some problems that unfortunately can come with the installation of new appliances. Our appliances undergo regular checks and maintenance. If problems are reported we aim to have them fixed in a timely fashion.

Appliances (microwave and washing machine) difficult to use and lacking instructions – Instructions for these appliances will be included in the room in the future.

Inconsistent cleaning – Daily cleaning of rooms is one of the services that we offer as optional. Normally rooms will not be made up each day unless the service is specifically requested. We’re not sure whether you requested this service or not, however, if you did then we sincerely apologise that your request was not met. As per the first point above we have improved our cleaning protocols and wouldn’t expect this problem to reoccur.

Air conditioning leaking – As per the response to the leaking fridge above, this may have been an unfortunate case of a new appliance presenting with an unfortunate fault.

Insulting staff – this is unacceptable and we take all complaints of this nature very seriously. While Abode strives to offer an excellent quality of service incidents such as this may occur (as they can anywhere). We expect our staff to act appropriately at all times, however, we also encourage guests with poor service experiences to report them to the hotel so they can be dealt with accordingly.

Locked out of room due to malfunctioning self-check-in facility – we experienced a number of difficulties with the self-check-in facility. As a result Abode no longer uses the self-check-in kiosks.

1300 number didn't answer – Reception opening hours have been significantly increased and the Abode phone line is now better staffed to ensure that our guests receive prompt service.

Mould and mildew smell throughout the hotel – This complaint was not received from other guests, and we can assure you that this is not an issue now.

Leaking walls in room – A couple of our rooms experienced some leakage during periods of wet weather. This problem has been fixed and we can assure you that the walls in our rooms do not possess this problem now.

Café and restaurant not yet open despite being advertised in hotel info – Unfortunately, there was a significant delay in the opening of the onsite restaurant and we apologise to anyone who stayed with us believing the restaurant had opened. We are pleased that the excellent Siren Bar and Restaurant has recently opened to much fanfare, and has become a popular spot for tourists and locals.

It’s clear from your review that you experienced not just one problem but many problems that lead to a regrettable stay at Abode. We unreservedly apologises for your poor experience. The quality of accommodation at Abode has been greatly improved since we opened, and we hope that as we continue to improve our service you will again consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here but one night and was charged nearly $1000 for the pleasure, i was also over charged on the one night then 7 other times on my credit card, when i arrived I couldnt get access so I had to go away for a few hours, then when I did get access they had the jack hammers at 7.30 am going flat out, there was no one to help or speak to, trying to contact anyone in regards to the over payment was impossible, I am still left with the over payment and an unusable credit card, they did promise to fix this but clearly this hasnt occured:
this is the worst place ever, never ever stay here

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode T, Owner at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello kirisydney,

I’m not sure why you were overcharged as our online booking system is normally reliable and easy to use. This is certainly not a common problem and can only presume that it was an unfortunate glitch that was beyond our control.

However, what was not beyond our control was our response to your issue. To have to wait so long for a refund of overcharged money is unacceptable. We have now increased our reception opening times and as a result this kind of delay should not reoccur. I trust that you were eventually refunded appropriately.

With regards to accessing your room: It’s not clear from your review if this problem was a result of the self-check-in kiosk failing or something else. If it was a result of the kiosk, I am happy to tell you that, owing to a number of problems experienced by customers, we no longer use them.
Unfortunately construction noise is not something we can control.

Abode unreservedly apologises for your poor experience at our hotel. We hope that if you were to choose to stay with Abode again you would see that we have worked hard to improve our quality of stay so that problems like these are no longer experienced by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Suburb
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Room exceptionally clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable. Room cleaned and amenities restocked every day. Could do with better lighting in the bathroom. Surprisingly very quiet for the location right next door to McDonalds and a shopping centre. Couldn't work the microwave as had no instructions. Could have had better instructions for the washing machine. Iron leaked but reception changed it for me. Kitchen only stocked with very basic items but was not issue as so close to restaurants

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Not good for a long stay. The walls are paper thin. The staff and service are unpredicatable and barely there, with the exception of weekends mornings, which they would spend vaccuming. The kitchen utensils were almost as non existent as the bathroom towels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abode T, Owner at Abode Gungahlin, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Hello fancymavis,
We’re sorry that you encountered these problems making your stay unenjoyable! Since your visit Abode’s staffing levels have been greatly increased. While problems such as having no towels or kitchen utensils and hotel noise shouldn’t occur in the first place, with more staff and longer reception opening times we hope that any such problems can be quickly rectified.

Abode unreservedly apologises for your poor experience at our hotel. We have worked hard to improve our service so that problems like these are no longer experienced by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockkingham WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Like the previous guest i arrived at 10:45pm at night to find no one to check me in. I tried the 1300 number but no one answered. After an hour of waiting someone who was smoking showed me where they kept the after hours guets keys Pity there was no room number with it! As such i spent another 20 minutes putting the key in every apartment door in the hotel to get into my room.
The next problem was the airconditioning which continuously gushed out water when on, and when turned off it dripped. The hotels initial response was "the installer refused to fix it so let it drip!". After 3 nights of no sleep due to constant drripping - someone supposably came and fixed it. Of course it wasnt fixed at all. Eventually i was moved to another room.
However this next room had its own problems. When i tried to use the washing machine it flooded the entire bathroom and entranceway. Again when i asked them to fix it they said they would send someone in. This supposed fixer left the cover off the wall and the machine unplugged - yet i was told by reception you can put it back together as its now fixed. Of course when i turned it on it leaked everywhere again.
My colleagues also had there own problems with the entire wall leaking from the rain into the carpet, showers not having hot water for longer then a minute, rooms with no curtains, walls that cracked and washing machines and microwaves that didnt work.
Another interesting thing to note is the cleaners - who didnt clean! After three weeks i still did not have my sheets changed. I also noted my TV channels were changed from the morning so i guess instead of cleaning they were watching tv.
This place was the epitome of "Faulty Towers" and i would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abode Gungahlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Gungahlin

Address: Cnr Anthony Rolfe Avenue and Gribble Street | Canberra, Canberra 2912, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Gungahlin 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finished to the highest standard, Abode - The Apartment Hotel proves that brand new, stylish hotel accommodation need not be exclusive. The hotel's inspired design provides everything you need for a stay that is both leisurely and comfortable.Situated on the doorstep of Gungahlin's booming shopping and restaurant precinct, and a short drive to the city, Belconnen and the airport, Abode is the perfect place for the business or pleasure traveller looking for style, comfort and convenience with a surprising touch of sophistication.Abode The Apartment Hotel is Gungahlin's only hotel and is close to Canberra's suburbs and tourist attractions. The hotel boasts 61 apartment-style rooms with all the amenities you've come to expect from modern 4 star accommodation including kitchenette, balcony, ensuite, flat screen TV and sofa beds.For whatever reason you find yourself in Canberra, Abode The Apartment Hotel will keep you happy and comfortable during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Abode Gungahlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abode Gungahlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.