We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Canberra

Save Saved
You added Aria Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Dooring Street | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed here 3 or 4 times just to getaway, good location look its a little more expensive than other hotels around town, but better quality than some of the dumps on northbourne avenue that haven't been updated since 1981 at best. Rooms are lovely new, good kitchens in a few we have stayed in and super quiet. Depending on what side of the hotel you stay on views from the balconies are pretty good. All in all you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    228
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
90
248
34
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Aria for just a single night in an Apartment room, encouraged by the excellent reviews on TA.
My stay was perfectly adequate - the apartment had good facilities, including cooking, ironing and laundry and would be great for an extended stay, The bedroom was, however, very small and dark (as others have commented). Staff were friendly and efficient - a minor problem with the DVD player was quickly fixed.
BUT, perhaps optimistically, I was expecting something very special - its not. To me, the hotel has a clinical, cold feeling, facilities are adequate but nothing special (e.g. toiletries are basic, annoying squeeze bottles of soap fastened to the wall etc) and, all in all, it lacks any hint of the 'wow' factor that lifts a hotel to something special. But, it does charge 'wow' factor prices so I would question the value for money.
There is nothing wrong with this hotel - it is perfectly adequate, well run and efficient. But, I suppose my overwhelming impression was 'Beige" and 'Boring"

Room Tip: Apartments would be good for a long stay - if someone else is paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Using TA comments as a guide, and with a discount offer, we booked this hotel for 2 nights. Be aware that the Aria rooms are the smallest and darkest we have encountered (and most expensive), compared with our recent 8 week European trip. The room was so small we both had to juggle to walk around the bed and if one was working at the desk, the other couldn't move. The only place to read a book or relax with a cup of tea or watch TV was on the bed. There was a long, very narrow balcony barely wide enough for a chair and table to be put sideways. We both felt very claustrophobic even with the curtains drawn back. We realised that this must have been the second bedroom of a family suite since we kept on hearing the other guest going in and out and slamming the door in the shared foyer. We tried the cafe for breakfast - once - but cold coffee in a cardboard cup is not for us ! On our next visit we will be seeking out some of the older more spacious hotel rooms where comfort and customer service are valued.

Room Tip: Be aware that the Aria rooms are very very small and dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had the two interconnecting rooms for three people. Very nice rooms with everything you need including kitchen and laundry. Very quiet. Used the shower wand for the first shower and managed to flood the floor as the water went under the door, need a better idea there. We all found the beds too soft, slept but not a great sleep. Just had tea and toast in the small cafe on the ground floor which was very reasonable. Would probably stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My friends and I had a short trip to canberra and they recommended this hotel.what i love about this place was that they gave us an upgrade from our original booking! The staff was pleasant and rooms are spacious and clean, well that is because we had the one bedroom apartment each! ^__^ will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped by Canberra for one night after spending the week at the snow. Had our 6 year old and 5 month with us. It was pure heaven after spending an expensive week of accommodation at Charlotte Pass, sharing a tiny bedroom with our munchkins. We got a great deal on a 2 bed 2 bath (interconnecting room) The shower was deluxe, the rooms were spacious, modern and clean, great idea to have soap and shampoo dispensers in the bathrooms - reduces waste I'm sure. The kitchen is well decked out and modern, shame we didn't get to use it. Only gripe would be our bed was lumpy and it felt like it was actually 2 single beds pushed together rather than one queen bed. Free parking, great distance from everything, quiet. Would definitely stay here next time we are in Canberra.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked the 'Turner at the Tate' package- hotel room, two tickets to the gallery exhibition and breakfast. The rate from the hotel was excellent and cheaper than on Wotif. Room was small but modern, and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Even comes with a plunger coffee maker, (bring your own coffee) which always rates highly with me. The rain shower is lovely and yes the shower is big enough for two. I couldn't really fault the Aria - furnishings, decor, service was terrific. My only quibble would be breakfast which is served at the sister Pavillion hotel. Two staff on duty just wasn't enough to cope with the influx of guests from two hotels at 9am, let alone the chef keeping up with a steady supply of eggs, sausages, hash browns, etc. The coffee was disgusting - out of those yukky machines - press 1 for coffee, press 2 for coffee with milk etc. Tip - pay for a proper coffee if the staff have time to make it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring Street | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.