We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel , not so good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Canberra

Save Saved
You added Aria Hotel Canberra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aria Hotel Canberra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Dooring Street | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 10%
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel , not so good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Aria hotel . Very impressed by the quality of the room and bathroom .
My room was on the 7th floor and had a small balcony. The location of the hotel is not close to the city centre and the taxi fares to travel to the city centre added quite lot to the general cost of my stay.
The hotel is close to a major street. The traffic noises at night were somewhat troublesome.
It is a good hotel for people travelling with their own car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    216
    46
    7
    7
See reviews for
85
229
31
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. As arrived on Friday and checked in at 5pm. Unfortunately their computer system was down so we had to wait 30 mins before we could get into a room. The aria room we booked was small (as I'd read in most reviews) but was nicely decorated with THE most comfortable bed! Bathroom was nice and the shower was awesome. Location was good, only 1km to nice restaurants. It was also quiet. We had booked for 2 nights but that got mixed up and I got a phone call on the Saturday morning asking when I would be in the foyer checking out. After a quick check of the system it was resolved no probs. nice motel, great value for money - would stay again.. Would just hope the booking /computer system is run better in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Frankly speaking we did not expect much of Canberra. We did not prepare to be impressed by the hotel. We were wrong. The hotel is fresh, relaxing, very well equipped and very well designed.
The location is very convenience. It is in Dickson and away from the CBD maze. The Northbourne Avenue allowed easy access to places. The neighborhood is quiet, but has all the things you need i.e. Woolworth, and great eating complex with variety of international restaurants to choose. We were surprised!
We stayed for 3 nights in a spacious 2 bed room apartment with fully equipped kitchenette. We enjoyed cooking dinner in a modern well design compact kitchen. The washer & dryer were well placed to keep the noise down. The balcony had a concrete look which did not bother us. The view of Canberra from the 7th floor is pleasant. Basement car parking is spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were very impressed with the size of the rooms, new finishing and comfort. Excellent rooms, friendly service.

The deal we found for this room was fantastic, however I would be comfortable paying up to $250 for a room of this calibre.

The spacious, light, modern foyer also offers a great early morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed in both Aria's hotel rooms and an apartment. The apartment was spacious, well equipped and comfortable but the hotel room was - well - compact. Both styles are scrupulously clean but I cannot recommend the room for anything other than an overnight stay, for which it is just adequate for one person. The apartment is a far better option for a longer visit or when travelling with a significant other - especially if he is 1.90m tall as mine is! The staff on all occasions have been courteous and efficient. The hotel has a dining arrangement with the adjoining Pavilion Hotel which is perfectly pleasant. It is also close to the great range of cafes in Dickson. The free parking was a huge bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Dickson Street side on a higher level are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My visit to the city Canberra in Australia is pleasantly optimistic because of the delightful stay I had at the ARIA hotel in the city. Thanks to the staff members who made me really fell-good just like my home. The facilities which I was provided are no less and they are awesome. It's a grand honor I received over there from each and every working staff. The room gave me the best sleep I ever had in my life. I appreciate the designs and overall decorations at the hotel. I'll be very happy if a get one more chance to visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: Building is pleasant with amazing designs and a cleanliness working
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our 1 night stay at Aria was probably about a 3.5 star, but we've happily rounded it up to 4 stars. We thought overall it was excellent value for money. Check-in was quick & friendly, parking was included, the 'Aria Room' was small but sufficient for our 1 night stay, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom & bedroom were clean and tidy (and we are picky about cleanliness). There weren't the usual mini toiletries that would have helped this place get to 4 stars for us, but they did provide liquid soap in a dispenser by the basin and liquid shampoo & body wash in a dispenser in the shower. Providing a small cake of soap for the shower would have been preferable for us. The shower cubicle is small and the shower head is enormous, but great pressure so overall no complaints. Our balcony was a bit of a concrete cell, but we weren't in Canberra to enjoy the view from a hotel so it didn't phase us. Oh, and there were helpful powerpoint connections to blow-dry hair outside the bathroom in front of a full-length mirror!

There was a cafe in the lobby area which we didn't use as it's only open at certain hours for breakfast. No mini-bar or cafe nearby open after breakfast, except for the facilities at Pavilion on Northbourne, the hotel next door, which Aria guests can use for free and have food charged back to their room. We went to a function at Pavilion and were pleased we'd stayed at Aria by comparison. Check-out was quick and easy because we filled out a simple card for express check-out, as there was a group trying to check out of one big room on separate accounts so we would have otherwise had to wait about 5-10 minutes to check out in person. This is such a fresh, modern hotel that is easy to find when you drive from Sydney - it's pretty much on the main road that you drive into Canberra on! We would definitely stay here again if we return to Canberra.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aria Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Canberra

Address: 45 Dooring Street | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Canberra 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aria Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aria Hotel Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.