We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum cha” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Scholar Chinese Restaurant

The Scholar Chinese Restaurant
Woolley Street | Dickson, Canberra, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #263 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Yum cha”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This used to be the New Shanghai but has now opened as Scholar. went with 8 friends for Sunday yum cha, place was packed so they gave us a private room which was ok but service certainly slowed down. Food was good, is byo.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Yum Cha in Canberra - problem is, everyone knows it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Family migrated from Hong Kong when my dad was a teenager, so we know yum cha! The Scholar is hands down best yum cha in Canberra. All the classics are there and done well, plus a whole heap of dim sum you won't find anywhere else in town.

On weekdays it's pretty quiet and you order from a tick menu rather than from carts. Weekends - brace yourself. It's packed, it's extremely noisy, and you will line up all the way down the stairs if you don't have a reservation. We don't tend to come here with my extended family anymore as my grandparents can't hear a thing amongst the din.

They do have a couple of private rooms which are great for bigger groups - noise is lessened considerably but trolleys don't forget you.

Yum cha is a mission, not a romantic lunch - you go in there to EAT EAT EAT, not to have deep and meaningful discussions. As long as that's your expectation, you should enjoy The Scholar!

NB. This restaurant is on the first floor and is NOT wheelchair accessible. Access is via a steep flight of stairs - may also present problems for the elderly or mobility impaired.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Dinner was very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

While they receive great reviews for yum cha, our experience for dinner was really disappointing. Very ordinary food served on unmatched plates which had several chips and cracks by uninterested staff. I would not go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best 'Yum Cha' I've had in Years!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband loves Yum Cha. We went on a regaular basis with a work collegue. I was never really all that fussed. So they used to go, and I would always opt out!!! Hadn't been to the Scholar before, and was ravinous, so recently agreed. WOW!!! FANTASTIC!!!! This food is so fresh, and so tasty!! Better still, you don't have to wait for the cart to com e round, you can actually order your preferences. Have been there three times now, and (as a frequent Asian traveller and having lived in Asia), couldn't find better!!!! Don't waste your time anywhere else, go to this restaurant, and you won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Yummy Yum Cha But Service Needs Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have been there a few times for lunch. We really enjoy the wide selection of Dim Sum, which is always fresh and tasty. Service however, needs improvement (which seems to be the norm in a lot of Chinese restaurants). They don't seem to have a system for their carts to cover all tables and depending on where you sit, you can wait a really long time for food when the restaurant is packed, while you watch the carts go up and down the same sections over & over and don't come near your table at all. Go early if you want to avoid the long queues that form on the weekend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scholar Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to The Scholar Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scholar Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.