We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time worth spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Portrait Gallery

National Portrait Gallery
King Edward Terrace, Canberra 2600, Australia
02 6102 7000
Website
Improve this listing
Visit National Portrait Gallery like an insider
Top Rated
$140*
and up
Canberra Day Trip from Sydney
Ranked #6 of 146 things to do in Canberra
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The new National Portrait Gallery building, situated on King Edward Terrace, Parkes, Canberra, bounded by the High Court of Australia and the National Gallery of Australia, displays some 400 portraits of people who have shaped Australia and who continue to shape our nation. Home to the nation's portrait collection the National Portrait Gallery comprises gallery spaces for the collection and temporary exhibitions, public areas including a cafe, shop, function room, theatrette, education and school group areas, and basement car parking.
gosford
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Time worth spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

very interesting have visited many Galleries here and Europe always enjoy looking and spending time on my own enjoying the talent

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    193
    28
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best of the galleries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The National Portrait Gallery is my favourite gallery/museum in Canberra. I love everything about this gallery including the beautiful location, space and design of the building, the layout of the gallery itself, the friendly staff, easy access to parking and the cafe. The gallery is unpretentious and allows you to access art from many levels. I don't have an art background and often feel intimidated in galleries which is perhaps one reason I love the Portrait Gallery so much. They have a number of fantastic exhibitions at the moment they have the Contemporary Chinese Portraiture exhibition which I highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“No better way to fill in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were taken here by friends without explanation except to say there is a portrait of the Queen there. Yes there is and it is spectacular but it is only one of a whole range of portraits which cover a large part of Australia's history. If planning to go there allow enough time to enjoy them all and read the information with each portrait.
Split the viewing by having a coffee etc in the cafe so you can go back rejuvanated.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just do it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is one place that you have to allow lots of time, even if you are not into art.These portraits are just stunning and give the viewer an insight into the many wonderful people that have graced our country

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“A must -see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A National treasure trove of brilliant expressive photography. Heart warming portraits. Creativity at its best.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Portrait Gallery also viewed

 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to National Portrait Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Portrait Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.