We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving to Tassie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eaglehawk Holiday Park

Eaglehawk Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Save
You added Eaglehawk Holiday Park to your Saves list
1246 Federal Highway | NSW/ACT Border, Canberra SUTTON 262, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Moving to Tassie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Looking for a comfortable two bedroom cabin that was reasonably priced so we could chill out for a few days whilst furniture and effects was removed and the house tidied up. Not much to choose from really, so I thought Eaglehawk might be the go. Talk about disappointing. The cabin is very basic, beds are rock hard, shower is weak, and to top it off, the divan bed in the main room is broken and nearly tore my fingernail off when I tried to pack it away. $169/night - I've stayed in much better for much less. Wouldn't come back!

Room Tip: On the highway, on Canberra airport flight line and just down the hill from a pub. Be careful which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    9
    23
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyndoch, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Thanks for a great stay. The staff were fantastic and were very accommodating to the hoards of German Shepherds that invaded Canberra for our National Show. Nice park with a pub, service station and excellent cafe next door. Thankyou Eaglehawk

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Hi Susie H,

Thank you for you recent positive feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend of the German Sheppard Dog Show.

I will forward your compliments to the Reception Staff & Café Staff.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked a En suite site as we had our own caravan. Site was level and easy to get into. En suite was small and a bit dated but otherwise clean (except for the exhaust fan cover) Parts of this park are new and parts very old. We used the camp kitchen which was very very old, but we cooked our meal and had the heaters on and it was fine. Check in was easy and friendly. This park is about 13 kilometers (approx) out of town. Park is situated next to a Pub, Cafe, Servo and Ibis Hotel. The Pub and Cafe food was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Hi Lee G,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

We are pleased that you found the Ensuite Site easy accessible, our apologies on the exhaust fan, we have attended to this matter.

We have passed on your compliments to our Reception Staff.

We will be more then happy to pass on your positive feedback to the Café & Bistro at the Pub.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Arrived with our caravan and stayed one night on a power site. My wife went to the female "disabled toilet / shower" at 10 pm. Timer light turned off after 4 mins and left her in total darkness. No lock on door. She felt very fearful of falling while trying to find her way out. Once outside she was threatened by 2 teenagers who were holding a knife and demanding her mobile phone. She is disabled with one leg, heart problems, back injuries and pain from recent hip surgery. She was frightened sore and angry and yelled at them. Fortunately they dropped the knife and ran. Next day told manager. He said "timer often goes out of sync, and needs to be re-set back to 10 mins". So why doesn't he fix it? Still not enough time for a disabled person to have a shower. Re the teenagers he did not seem to care and said, "not much I can do about that". We left, never to return or to speak favourably about this dive. Worst caravan park experience ever.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Paul G,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

After speaking to the Manager he advised that he did re-set the timer and apologised for the inconvenience.

Regarding the "Knife Incident", I have also spoken to the Manager and he advised that he was NOT informed of this incident, had he known he would have called the Police and he would have taken the footage from the security cameras that are on the park to identify the teenagers and report the incident.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

Kind Regards
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwarry North, Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked a 4 star cabin. We would not recommend staying there, unless you are travelling with a school camp, or are workman staying there between jobs. Our cabin was full of cobwebs, the mattresses needed replacing, furniture old and dirty, windows not secure, shower old, dirty and very cramped, no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Nowhere to put toiletries in the shower, toilet roll was empty (but there were replacements). We needed to wash some clothes but when we found the laundry we WOULDN'T use the
machines (they were disgusting) old and very dirty. To top it off the blankets for the beds were stained ( who knows with what) wish I had a UV light.

So this was FAR FROM 4 STARS. DEFINITELY NOT WORTH THE $140/NIGHT. VERY POOR.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Caroline H,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that our accommodation was not satisfactory.

Yes we do cater for a lot of School & Sporting Groups throughout the year and Workmen do stay here aswell.

We apologise for the issues that you have raised, they have been passed onto management and they are endeavouring to improve the Accommodations. Please note that Management are undertaking the appropriate procedures regarding the cleanliness inside & outside of the accommodations.

Once again please accept our apologies and we hope to see you in the future.

Kind Regards
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at Eagle Hawk for school trip to Canberra.
Stayed in the cabins.
The accommodation was what you would expect for the price.
It was clean, a negative is that there was no lounge chair in my cabin justs a table and chairs I had a 8 person cabin to myself.
You could get up to 8 kids in a cabin if you wanted.
The food was ok kids will eat anything when they are hungry.
Teachers and Parents got a special sweets and extra serves if you wanted for breakfast.
They also provided cut lunches that we took out each day.
Hey!! its not the Hilton but it was perfect for a school trip. I was told by our bus driver that it has improved a lot recently. He said it would rate no.3 on his list of places in the Canberra area for school groups.

Room Tip: I would say stay away from the large lodge style accomdation when there are school kids staying woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Panweather,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your School Group Booking with us here at Eaglehawk Holiday Park.

We are pleased to hear that we are a great option for School Camps as it is one of our main trades. Yes our Cabins can house up to 8 people. We have mentioned to Management about Sofas, this is in negotiation.

We have undergone new management since Feb 2013 and yes we are endeavouring to improve the park as best to our ability.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we apologise about the sofa inconvenience.

Kind Regards
Eaglehawk Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Easily the worst accommodation option in and around Canberra.
1st room old, ant ridden and fridge broken.

2nd room newer, already run down, broken kettle and missing remotes.

After hours number didn't work. Had to search to find someone to help us out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EaglehawkPark, Guest Relations Manager at Eaglehawk Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi notausedscreenname,

Thank you for your feedback, we apologise that your stay here with us was not satisfactory.

Our Maintenance Man would have been asked to look at your accommodation re: Ants & Fridge. I believe we had moved you into a different accommodation to accommodate you. Our apologies on the appliances not working, unfortunately for us to find out it does take the guest to come and notify us. Regarding the TV remotes, we have had many issues in the past with missing remotes, we are endeavouring to fix this issue.

Our on-site Manager has the After Hours Phone on him whilst the office is closed. If we are notified by our guests of an issue regarding the After Hours Number we approach him direct to see what had happened, we apologise for this inconvenience.

We thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaglehawk Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglehawk Holiday Park

Address: 1246 Federal Highway | NSW/ACT Border, Canberra SUTTON 262, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eaglehawk Holiday Park is a Caravan & Tourist Park located just inside the ACT/NSW Border in SUTTON NSW.We offer Cabin/Villa/Cottage Style accommodation and also Powered Caravan Sites and Powered Ensuite Sites.We also cater to Group Bookings. We have Lodge Style Accommodation aswell as our Cabin/Cottage/Villa Accommodation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaglehawk Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.