We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra to your Saves list
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Giles Street, Canberra ACT 2604, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's hard to tell if this Medina was purpose-built or if it was once apartments. Regardless, it is in a very nice, quiet neighbourhood and close to shopping and restaurants. The unit was clean and furnished nicely. Parking is free but wi-fi is not. There is a nice pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear TravellingTex,

Thank you for your feedback. Our team are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our team are continuing to work hard to improve the hotel product further.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in 2013 for Canberra's Centenary Year.

Kind Regards,

Mervin Lim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    225
    87
    24
    9
See reviews for
249
56
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The apartment is set in quiet leafy surrounds and is well located, especially if you're in Canberra for the rugby or footy - Manuka Oval is very close by. The apartments are very clean, with a private courtyard. The kitchen has full cooking facilities and the bathroom facilities are excellent. If you're staying for a few days with a large group or with family, this is a great alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, General Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ben_Luiz,

Thank you for your recent feedback of our hotel.
As you have discovered, we are a very family friendly hotel as kids love the indoor and outdoor pools. Our team are continuing to improve so we hope you will notice the difference when we get the opportunity to welcome your family back to Canberra.

Your feedback will be shared as always with our team members.
Kind Regards,

Mervin Lim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed last night in a 3 bedroom apartment with some co-workers on our way to our Christmas party.
The apartment was nice. The location was great for our purpose. It had lovely private "courtyards" for each apartment which was nice.
The beds however were a little uncomfortable, as were the pillows.
There wasn't too much coffee, sugar, milk etc to cater for a potential 6 people that could have been in the apartment.
I do think that a 3 bedroom apartment should have 2 bathrooms, as theoretically a maximum of 6 people shouldn't have to share 1 bathroom.
The property itself has nice flowers and gardens, which was nice and added charm.
Overall it was a nice experience, could have been better with more comfortable beds and pillows.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, General Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Flavia_Vizcaino,

We appreciate the feedback for your stay in December.
I'm glad you still enjoyed your stay with Medina. Our team have been working on resolving the bedding issues and hope to complete that very soon.
It is unfortunate that our 3 bedrooms only have one bathroom in its original design however the other points you have raised will be resolved by our team for the future comfort of our guests.

We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your work colleagues back again.
Thank you once again.
Kind Regards,

Mervin Lim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed as a large group, checkin very easy and no problems. Rooms large enough with full size kitchen which is great to cook meals as everything in canberra closes early. Very convenient having a large washing machine and dryer in own bathroom. Everything clean and tidy. Average beds as you would expect in any hotel, 2 singles = king. Suitable undercover parking, Indoor and outdoor pool and bbq area. Short walk to coffee shops, restaurants and small supermarket. Bad: Trying to find room with map provided. Weird numbering system for the rooms. Expensive internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear trent_eh

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

The team and I a very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Medina Classic, all feedback is great but when we receive good feedback it really makes it all worthwhile.

We at Medina Classic hope to see you again soon and if you have any further questions please call the hotel anytime.

Kind regards
Stuart Frost
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a one bed room, ground level, unit which was large enough for a one week business stay in Canberra. The property is well located just off busy roads; there is a shopping centre within 500m walk, with a good selection of restaurants, plus a hotel with bottle shop across the road. There is good under cover parking.


The unit is not the most modern - but most things work. The iron didn't, and was replaced same day. The cooking facilities and kitchen inventory are sufficient if you are not doing gourmet cooking or entertaining - a microwave and a combined benchtop hotplate and oven. There was no exhaust fan in the unit, so had to be careful with the stove. The unit had split system air conditioners in each room, so you were not at the mercy of a centralised system - they worked well, fortunately, as I was there during a very cold period.

The property does have WiFi - I didn't use it, as it was too expensive. Setting up a mobile phone as a "hot spot" would be a cheaper option.

A couple of minor design faults - the major one was the combined spa bath and shower had no shower curtain or screen, leading to a very wet floor and a potentially slippery exit from the shower. This could be fixed, with a little thought.

Overall, I'd stay there again; it was not over-the-top with high end furnishings, but it was cost effective, had everything required at a moderate level and was close to the business I was visiting.

Room Tip: The rooms at street level have a nice walled courtyard, with a locked gate permitting direct access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear GeoBrisbane

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Medina Classic Canberra.

The team and I are glad to read that your stay was an enjoyable one at our hotel. I am glad you liked the location, the hotel is very well located with some fantastic local dining options all within a 5-10 minute walk.

I want to thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

I wanted to assure you that all feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

For the price, I was quite surprised for what I got. A full two bedroom apartment for the price of a hotel room. Has all the normal perks of a hotel, minus mini bar though. Pool, car park, rooms clean and neat. close to two lots of shops and restaurants, as well as trendy bars etc. Kingston is known as the 'upper' or trendy suburb of Canberra. Everything reachable by walking distance. Close to public transport (Bus and Canberra Train Station).
The Bad: Check out staff were nice but very slow.

Room Tip: Leave time for checking out. Staff don't work fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Johnbernadette

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Medina Classic Canberra.

We are glad that your stay was such a pleasurable experience at our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our rooms and location and that you have found Medina Classic Canberra to be comfortable, well positioned and maintained.

I want to thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

I wanted to assure you that all feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived at this property, and on first glace noticed it could do with a really good clean, thats before we even got inside the apartment.
The smells of dust, that musty smell and the stench of as if someone had been just smoking in our apartment was not very pleasant.
The state of just the overall apartment was very disappointing, could have done with a good vacuum clean and a good wipe around the toilet etc
Bedding was very poor, old doona and the cover looking very shabby to say the least. Bedside lamp not working, the list goes on.
We decided to try put up with this and thought that maybe we were being abit sensitive.
But after a shocking nights sleep had by all, we decided after coming back from our family function the next day late into the afternoon and to be greeted with the bad smells and depressing feel of the place...................left for a 3 1/2 hour trip home.
I informed the lady at the front desk of our decision to leave and was told," thats a shame, if you'd told us earlier we could have done something about it"
Does it take only complaints to do something about getting what you believe your paying for in the first place????
Don't waste your money staying at this place!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HM-TogaHotels, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear amanda w

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Medina Classic Canberra.

I am very disappointed to read that we have not always met your expectations however. I can assure you that this is not the standard we aim for. Please be assured that I have discussed this feedback with our entire team to ensure that we improve.

I want to thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and we will endeavour to ensure that your next visit will be much more enjoyable than the one described above.

I wanted to assure you that all feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Jessica Bergman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.0 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
4.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#4 of 54 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 870 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clifton Suites on Northbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 54 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#8 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#18 of 54 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra

Address: 11 Giles Street, Canberra ACT 2604, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.