We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai at its best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
240/250 City Walk, Canberra, Australia
(02) 62485522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 779 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $100
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Thai at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Loved the place, the fact you can BYO and eat some fantastic thai is a winner everytime. especially when its so close to the city

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    11
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Googong NSW
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good food served promptly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were looking for a good meal, one hour before our film started. Walked in to Banana Leaf. Speedily escorted to a table, orders taken, and food served within twenty minutes. Good size portions that we wondered if we could conquer: but the flavours were good and the food disappeared. We will return - it is good to find a restaurant where you feel looked after, and where the food is satisfying.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Friendly staff who provided quick service. Restaurant is well-located in the heart of Canberra and the beautifully presented food was a wonderful change from the usual Indian and Thai fare.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth it try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Overall I would say an average Sri Lanka cuisine, little bit prices but service was attentive & friendly. I would still come back to try other dishes probably on special occasion.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“First Timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stop by for quick lunch before heading to movie and it was very good with resonable prices.
My husband & I decided to go back for dinner and it was excellent as usual & services was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.