We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Gallery Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peppers Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Gallery Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Canberra
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Just fab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of the Turner package. The package was great value and the staff and hotel are very pleasant, not only tastefully decorated but heavenly beds and the breakfast pastries, made onsite, are just to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your stay at Diamant Hotel Canberra. Very much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the Turner from the Tate package for the National Gallery of Australia. I do hope you have the chance to visit us again and in particular the new 'Gold and the Incas: Lost Worlds of Peru' exhibition starting at the end of the year.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    149
    98
    27
    14
See reviews for
28
191
56
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Diamont. Reception and restaurant staff are friendly and welcoming and an upgrade was a nice surprise. Check in was 3pm but we were able to access the room earlier and checkout is 11am. The room was large with an awesome King bed, so comfortable with lovely sheets and pillows. A large couch and desk plus good sized bathroom with nice rain shower were great. Tiles were cold but complimentary slippers solved this problem. Room was ground floor at the front but very quiet and heavy block out curtains were great. Room service was good and cleaning staff were unobtrusive if a little tardy in replenishing the tea and sugar. I really liked the staff and that makes a huge difference plus the hotel is stylish and comfortable. A loose power point and running water on one of the dual flushes on the toilet need attention but didn't detract from the experience. I'm sure they will be attended to. 5 mins walk to free city loop bus and a little more to the city centre which is ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about staying here, it seemed a love it or hate it experience and we loved it. It's in a great location, within a beautiful walk of all the things we wanted to see. It is next door to a great cinema complex as well so we managed to see a film too. The bed was very comfortable, I even liked the pillows. The room was very well appointed. Last night we had room service pizza and a delicious salad. The pizza was excellent, fed 2 and was reasonably priced (I thought). The room was very quiet, the sound proofing excellent. The staff were helpful. Top job, top marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear tepee4,

So happy to read your comments in regards to your recent stay here at Diamant Hotel Canberra. September is a great time to visit Canberra and it sounds like you have really had a great visit. So good to see that the new Palace Cinema complex is becoming a popular option for our guests who choose to stay here in the New Acton precinct. Glad you had a relaxing stay. I do hope you get the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this lovely boutique hotel as part of a package to see the "Turner from the Tate" Exhibition. We walked to the NGA along Lake Burley Griffin and took a taxi to return. Hotel has a lovely vibe, beautifully renovated and close to many cafes etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Caroline O,

Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to your recent visit to Canberra and stay at the Diamant Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit the National Gallery of Australia. The 'Turner from the Tate' has been another successful exhibition for Canberra. We are looking forward to the next major exhibition at the end of the year being 'Gold and the Incas: Lost Worlds of Peru'. I do hope you have the chance to visit Canberra again. All the best.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My seemingly never-ending search for a hip hotel in Canberra has ended :) As a heritage architect, I have tried numerous hotels in Canberra, looking for something with character and modern amenities and service. Found it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is a unique offering in Canberra. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay with us. Having an interest in architecture and design I'm sure you are wowed by the precinct and the aesthetics of the buildings and development around us.

Linda B, I do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The apartment was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Bed was really comfortable. Nice size verandah as well. Well equipped kitchen and good bathroom. This hotel is located in an excellent position. It is right at the on-ramp to the bike track around the lake which was perfect for us as we are keen cyclists. Some good cafes at your door as well. The staff were so helpful and friendly- faultless. There was some noise in the early hours from late night revellers but I guess that can't be helped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your recent stay in one of our apartments in the New Acton precinct at Diamant Hotel Canberra. So glad to hear that the apartment met your requirements and the location on Lake Burley Griffin was to your liking. The precinct here is becoming a unique cultural destination for those visiting Canberra and the different restaurants and cafes a highlight. I do hope you have the chance to visit us again.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an old hotel on the outskirts of the city area, about 25 brisk walk into the central CBD. The reception area is the obvious refurbished area and the room have had a make-over and reasonably comfortable. The fridge is fully stocked with mini bar product and there is no room to leave any supplies you may wish to store. If you remove items from the fridge you would automatically incur a fee. Very annoying. If you don't mind the walk - the location is OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarnMorrow, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kel_au,

Thanks again for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay in New Acton and the Diamant Hotel Canberra. We do value your feedback and respect that some people will and some people may not enjoy the comforts of our hotel. Respectfully, whilst our hotel is located in a heritage building with a rich history, contemporary yes...old certainly not. The New Acton area is on the doorstep of Canberra's key cultural and entertainment facilities and a brief 15 minute walk to the CBD. Kel_au if you do get the chance to visit us again, please do let our team know you would like more space in your mini-bar fridge and we will be happy to empty this for you. Most importantly thanks again for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. I do hope we get the opportunity to take care of you on your next visit to Canberra.

Regards,

Tarn Morrow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Address: 15 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Canberra
#6 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel, Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The hotel building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The hotel provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel, Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;