We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Peppers Gallery Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Escape
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
South Perth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Close to perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night only last year. Really couldn't fault them, reception & staff were friendly, pleasant & very professional. Car park was not part of hotel but very close & not a problem. They were recovering from a recent fire that could have made life difficult for them but they explained in advance about their kitchen difficulties & the rest was perfect. Room was excellent & bed very comfortable. We had stayed the night before at their Sydney branch ... that was good but Canberra surpassed them in every aspect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CBR, General Manager at Peppers Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear JudMen,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Diamant Hotel.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last year and to hear your lovely comments about our staff members, which have been passed onto them.
I can inform you with great pleasure that our restaurant Bicicletta has fully recovered from the fire in July and is very happy to be serving both the public and our guests with their lovely authentic Italian food and just recently won the award for Best Hotel Restaurant in Canberra.
Your lovely comments inspire us all here at The Diamant, both within the restaurant and the hotel itself, to continue creating a memorable and very enjoyable experience for all that come to the hotel.
Thank you again for your kind words about the hotel and our staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Maurits de Graeff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    164
    102
    28
    14
See reviews for
30
207
61
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Victoria Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The reception and room were quite nice. Behind the nice facade though the hotels service ethic and processes are quite poor.

We asked for a cot during our reservation and called to ensure it was noted - despite this they still didn't prepare it. The staff don't have a good service ethic and their is an element of poor attention to detail - the hallways to room are poorly maintained.

I'd try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel is ok but not great. There was a very clear lack of directions from the staff and the sprawling nature of the hotel makes it difficult to navigate. Staff did not tell us car park was not attached to hotel and we struggled with bags up the street after parking then up and down many stairs to get to our room. Not a good start!! TV reception was appalling and staff were unable to help. I will probably not visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed for one night - hotel was fantastic, manages to achieve that nice modern feel without feeling sterile. Room was fantastic - very comfortable. Bed was AWESOME, bathroom great, convenient parking and very friendly and professional hotel staff.

Definitely one of the best hotels i've stayed in, and great value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When the room was initially booked we were told it would be on a higher floor and with a view of the courtyard. Upon checking in, the room was unavailable but we were upgraded to a premiere room on the ground floor. The bathroom is very nice, the double doors are a great touch to the room. The only problem is that EVERYTHING is nickled and dimed, the mini bar, of course, but the snack table on the desk has many things at of course, a price. When coming into the rooms make sure to read the in&out card that is on the desk. It breaks down prices of everything. If I had not read it, I'd have thought that the room came with a few complimentary items. Unfortunately it is hooked to a tether. That chocolate chip cookie I see right now not only comes at a price of kilojoules but also with a price tag of 5.00. Couples with kids who bring their kids to the hotel, be careful since it is in plain view.
Reception is very nice, the staff are very hospitable. Internet was a bit of a hassle to get working since we were not told about the need for a password. The room did come equipped with a cable to plug into the laptop but as I said, you need to call the front desk for the password. The rooms offer broadband internet. It is free though. If you are on ground floor you may be able to log onto the network wirelessly. The TV is a flatscreen but positioned oddly in the room. IMO it should be on a TV stand or attached to the wall entirely, but it does include a DVD player. The TV does, however, need to be bigger.
There is a lounge in the room which is very nice. The wardrobe does lack storage space, but there are two of them. Complimentary slippers in one of them.
The hotel is very nice but not worth 300 a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here last weekend whilst visiting my son at ANU. It's a great location to the colleges at ANU. It is a strange set up with the joining of the 4 buildings. My only complaint was I had to get my bag up 6 steps. I'm a petite woman who never packs lightly - so my fault.
The hotel lobby, bar and restaurant were lovely. The service was always great. The food in the restaurant (who does room service too) was delicious. The halls are dim and a little odd looking. But the room and bathroom was stunning. Beautifully decorated, very clean, everything provided, comfy bed.
Some great cafes nearby too and a great neighbourhood vibe.
With my son just starting his degree at ANU there will be many trips to Canberra in the future. This will always be my 1st choice in hotels.

Room Tip: Just ask for no stairs if you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Really appreciated the environment and design - stylish yet simple rooms, comfortable bed - but found some of the basics of good service missing. Whilst I didn't expect five star service from what is essentially a three star boutique hotel, its important to do the simple things right - calls to room service and reception just rang out (until I used my mobile to call the main number), extended queuing at reception and there was no breakfast before 7.30am which doesn't work for business travellers. Even a quick shower caused the half the bathroom floor to flood and the water didn't drain away overnight. The nearby 'gym' is pretty sparse and poorly equipped, you would be better off driving to Fitness First in the CBD.
The 'women's pack' initially seemed like a thoughtful touch - until I realised that the Vogue was 4 months old... obviously a cost-saving tactic, but doesn't leave a good impression.
Overall great concept, but let down in the execution.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Gallery Hotel

Address: 15 Edinburgh Avenue, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Diamant Hotel Canberra)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Canberra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Gallery Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Gallery Hotel, Canberra combines a unique CBD location with Peppers signature boutique features, designer ambience and service experience. The hotel building is heritage registered, with original features that blend effortlessly with a modern Peppers setting. Every detail has been well thought out - with Bang & Olufsen technology, marble features in boutique rooms and apartments. All rooms have rain showers, luxury bedding, smart technology and original artwork. Choose from Hotel Room, Deluxe and Premier Rooms, and Suites. Unwind in your fully self-contained apartment with one, two or three bedrooms and a balcony. Located within the original Hotel Acton building, this historic and heritage listed site has been transformed into the NewActon Pavilion - Canberra's first true urban village, where Peppers Gallery Hotel has taken up residence as the city's first luxury boutique hotel. Featuring the renowned Bicicletta Restaurant and Library Bar, guests can enjoy true Italian cuisine. Bicicletta specialises in homemade pasta and produce from different regions of Italy and Australia, catering to all occasions including formal sit-down meals. Relax at Soma Day Spa or explore the New Acton precinct, close to the iconic Lake Burley Griffin and within walking distance of Canberra's many high-end attractions. The hotel provides complimentary WiFi in all rooms as well as public areas. Australia's Capital Territory is home to some great attractions, many within walking distance from Peppers Gallery Hotel, Canberra which is located ten minutes from the city centre, near Canberra's many cafes, bars, shops and restaurants. The National Zoo & Aquarium and National Arboretum Canberra is a short drive away, as are the Botanical Gardens and Telstra viewing tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Canberra - By 8 Canberra
Hotel Diamant Boutique
Diamant Boutique Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.