We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Blamey Place, Canberra 2612, Australia
0262496889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $23
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited the Lanterne rooms during Easter, on a busy night according to the staff. We were seated in the front section of the Restaurant and received a cold blast of air every time the front door was opened and it was opened many times while we were there. The service was prompt and we must have been approached for our order 4-5 times before we were ready to order. The entrees or Satay chicken and lamb cutlets were OK . The seafood noodles and beef curry followed. The former was a great disappointment with 3 prawns, 1 scallop and a minuscule serve of calamari served with noodles with a glutinous texture and strange taste, all in a nondescript soy sauce. The beef curry was a rich mussaman style with quality meat cuts included. We retired into the cold night disappointed with our experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

OK, exaggerated service, overly spiced and rich food, rich for the sake of richness, perfunctory service, not really authentic food, westernised, pleasant décor, tasteful setting, friendly maitre'd. Free parking available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent Malay food at the Lanterne Rooms, Campbell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Not much else can be said, other than to say it was excellent food at a very busy restaurant in Blamey Place, Campbell. Don't turn up without booking and be prepared to pay 'Michelin Restaurant' prices. It was well worth the visit you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good service but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Two of us went to Lanterne Rooms about 6 months ago and ordered off the a la carte menu. We enjoyed very much what we had and thought the prices reasonable.
Four of us went last weekend and ordered the Banquet. We were disappointed with what we got for the price. It was 2 entree dishes (1 piece of food per person) 4 main dishes (about 1 or 2 pieces of food per person and I am not talking steak size pieces) and 2 very small (size of a small rice bowl) vegetable dishes. It did not even include dessert. For the price we paid, we expected a lot more and better quality but the food was average. We would have done better to order off the a la carte menu.

The set up of the restaurant is great, the atmosphere is very pleasant and the service was good.

Not sure that we would go back there in a hurry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just enjoyed a fantastic meal at Lanterne rooms. The tasting menu was a great selection of dishes, including some terrific seafood. The wait staff were excellent, knowledgable and polite. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterne Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.