We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterne Rooms

Lanterne Rooms
Blamey Place, Canberra 2612, Australia
0262496889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $23
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chinchilla, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Visit this restaurant. The food is excellent and very innovative without being over-worked. The service is attentive and professional. Tucked away from mainstream restaurants, but obviously highly regarded looking at the patronage the night we were there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    38
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had excellent meals at the Lanterne Rooms. The service was friendly, knowledgable and efficient. The food was excellent and the restaurant has a relaxed formality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Another typical overpriced Asian fusion restaurant that doesn't quite hit the mark. Service was good, the food was extremely average. You're paying $20 for an entree, sometimes for only two spring rolls...for the price you're paying, the quality should be much, much higher. I had heard great things about the restaurant, unsure if we went on a bad night. Regardless...and I'll say it again, for the price you're paying, the quality should be high, and consistent. Unsure if we would go back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

An excellent restaurant that I would thoroughly recommend. Preferably if you were on an expense account as I suspect most diners were on the evening we were there. The staff were terrific, attentive and informative. We shared two entrees, prawns in coconut sauce and duck pancakes. The mains consisted of their signature dishes, wagyu beef curry and pork belly. Both prepared in the Nonya style and lived up to expectations. They were 'melt in your mouth' and we shall be back for more. The wine list had some great choices and did not disappoint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The service is very good, the food is amazing and is a great night out. The wine list was quite good, but Byo was also available.The only downside was that we felt that we were being rushed to leave when there evidently many empty tables available.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterne Rooms also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Lanterne Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterne Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.