We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE MEAL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wasabii Teppanyaki Restaurant

Wasabii Teppanyaki Restaurant
U 71/ 2 Cape St Dickson 2602, Canberra 2602, Australia
02 6262 7888
Improve this listing
Ranked #504 of 778 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: $14 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“NICE MEAL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Food was very nice but service was not so good. The restaurant appeared not to have enough wait staff for the number of customers. They had difficulty in servicing the transition from one sitting to the next. It took a long time to order but once served the meal was delivered promptly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
“Party Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was excellent - The Chef was very entertaining and the rest of the staff were all very helpful - We thought the prices were very reasonable for the service recieved.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was so looking forward to a recent Teppanyaki experience whilst visiting Canberra last week after a break of some years. Unfortunately our visit to Wasabii was a less than memorable dining experience...and not because of the setting, service or entertaining staff. The food just wasn't good!
My friend and I both chose the $35 banquet (the cheapest of 5 choices from memory) which included a decent array of meat, fish & vegetable selections along with rice dishes & dessert.
Everything was terribly oily and greasy, the chicken skewers were under cooked, the beef was tough, many spillages that didn't quite make it to the plate or mouth (during entertaining moments shared with others at the bbq) were left to sit in & amongst our plates & glassware until we asked for them to be cleared (noone was in a hurry) and nothing tasted flavoursome at all.....in fact each dish tasted pretty much the same as the one before!
There's got to be better options around.... fortunately for me I live in Melbourne where we are just so spoilt for great dining options!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“average teppanyaki”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

went here for my son's 18th birthday. he invited two friends, so all in all we paid over 400dollar for the meal... which was just average, nothing more, nothing less. the chef was good, and played with the food and his guests as you would expect, but his skills were sloppy, i have seen it better and the food was reasonable, but could have been much better. drinks were nice. service was good and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I won't go back...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love Japanese cuisine and really love Teppanyaki...But I was so disappointed with this restaurant...I booked the table at 6pm and I had to wait for 45 minutes to be served...The food was overcooked and very salty...I totally agree with some reviews about the chef...He commented me "Don't be bored like that" when I was not happy for him to throw the egg and bowl of fried rice at me...I have been to some Teppanyaki restaurants in Hawaii and it was such a great experience... The cooking show didn't involve throwing things at customers but the chef demonstrated a lot of their great cooking skills...I don't recommend this restaurant and won't be back there...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabii Teppanyaki Restaurant also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Wasabii Teppanyaki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wasabii Teppanyaki Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.