We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pulp Kitchen

Pulp Kitchen
Wakefield Gardens, Ainslie, Canberra, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 809 Restaurants in Canberra
Price range: $14 - $23
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Wait staff clearly need some training - I was offered the incorrect meal 3 times. Once we finished our bottle of wine (take your own - not an overly impressive wine selection) there was no offer of another (which we would have had) - looked at the dessert menu to start with but again, no one was forthcoming with asking for our order so we ended up leaving. The food was ok but the service really let the place down. Can't say I'll be rushing back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    15
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Gallic glamour in Canberra's Inner North”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

As near-neighbors of this establishment, it is very exciting and glamorous to have a local French-owned restaurant with a good national reputation. The establishment always seems full, has a nice, quiet outside dining area and has generally added to the jolliness of the Ainslie shops, whose culinary offerings until not so long ago extended mostly to fish and chips, the 'Ainslie' pizza (intriguingly distinguished from the other variants by a fried egg) and a cheap and cheerful Vietnamese takeaway. Pulp Kitchen is now also doing breakfasts in competition with its neighbor, Edgar's Inn.

Our party enjoyed the crab and pork starter, the spatchcock and the kingfish. Good creme brulee and the bread to keep us going at the beginning was very good too. Still, one member of our party thought the offerings a bit dull.

Service friendly but a bit hit and miss - our wine order was forgotten for about half an hour and required reminding. Also, while it's a reasonably pleasant spot, the building in which the restaurant is housed is ugly, so if you're outside better to face in the opposite direction.

Still, not a bad addition to Canberra's dining options and a definite improvement on the grim vegetarian establishment it replaced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
“Relaxed, Classy and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister and I went here for a late dinner last night. At that time the place had a relaxed and quiet feel to it, which we were in the mood for. My sister is vegetarian and I have coeliac disease so we're not the easiest mouths to feed. The staff were happy to discuss the different dishes with us and once we had ordered the meals came quickly. I ordered the bean and pork soup (gluten free) and the mix of flavours was perfect.
We loved our time there and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“In a hurry (smoke, slam)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well, the food was interesting, but unfortunately that was traded against staff who were in a major hurry to have us done and out of there as quick as they can. In fact, they were in such a hurry, they even walked away while I was asking about another glass of wine (which I assume the boss would like to sell so the place can make money)...

Having said all that, it was somewhat of a relief to get out of there - as noted by a previous review, the ventilation is appalling, so you sit and choke on acrid kitchen smoke and leave smelling like steak frites! Moreover, you get to enjoy the slamming glass door, which sends a shudder down the whole place and almost makes you choke on your hastily delivered food for the first 50 times it happens...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
“Brilliant Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had a fantastic brunch with some friends at Pulp Kitchen. The service was great, and the food absolutely delightful! There was so much choice and variety available. I'll have to go back to try more off the menu. The dishes were beautifully presented and great value for money. One special touch that I loved was the coffees served in bowls. Just what you need to start the weekend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulp Kitchen also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Pulp Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulp Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.