We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plastic box” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Canberra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Canberra to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Canberra
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Tay Street | Antill Street, Watson, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Plastic box”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We ended up in Formule 1 Canberra recently on a very busy night. We has the last room available, right by the front door. We were kept awake all night by the smokers going in and out.
I don't think much of paying $104 for the plastic box they called a room. It was only slightly better than sleeping in the car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    86
    74
    34
    36
See reviews for
72
71
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Looked for affordable accommodation in Canberra and chose the Formule 1. While basic was clean with a comfortable bed, tv and ensuite. The $9 breakfast was filling and complimentary tea and coffee in late afternoon /evening welcome. Enjoyed the stay and will use again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of April 2012. We found the place ok as it's on a major road but finding the entrance driveway was tricky due to major building works in the vicinity and temporary fencing surrounding the motel. We got there at our designated arrival time and our room wasn't ready. My friend uses a walker and the reception man held the door for us and took the time to show us the disabled access room since it was available and ready. The man was extremely helpful. The room was basic but the receptionist found a spare chair for us and we hired a kettle for in-room tea/coffee making. The motel provided tea, coffee, milk, sugar and hot water between 8am-9pm in reception, there was also a shared fridge/freezer & microwave and food & drink vending machine in the corridor. My only complaint was the floor of our bathroom was filthy and smelled like urine with bits of soap, toilet paper and dirt. We asked for it to be cleaned but it didn't get done. I would have extended my stay but the lack of action on cleaning the filthy floor prompted us to move elsewhere. I only showered or walked on that floor with my Crocs on, it was that bad. Caution if you are a late sleeper the building works next door got noisy and busy early. It's as cheap as a cabin or backpackers and you get you own room; good value for Canberra.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the room before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Although the room is not big enough to spend any time in, it is great if you're on a budget and looking for a clean and comfy room to sleep in. The bed was very comfortable, everything was clean and they're well designed to accommodate 2 in the minimum space. The shared fridge in the hallway and boiling water available near reception were useful - take a thermos and fill it up every so often. It was a tight squeeze sharing with a friend - twin beds side by side - but for a couple or single it would be ideal.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I didn't have very high expectations, however for the price I expected a little more. It may have been the cheapest option but it was not significantly less than the other hotels the weekend that we stayed. We should've payed the $15 more to stay elsewhere.
The bed is on wheels and you find that you wake up in a different place to where you started my pillows had fallen down the back of the bed. I don't move around a lot in my sleep either. putting something under the wheels would make it much better. We also only had one thin blanket. Luckily the heating is quite good. So it wasn't too bad but considering the weather lately i expected there to at least be a spare in the room or something.
The bathroom - if you can even call it that - were horrible. Hardly any light in there and was a tiny little cubicle. It was worse and probably smaller than a shower in a carravan.
The staff were friendly enough. check in and out were simple. However, we left a watch behind and they did not bother to contact us to let us know. we happened to realise a few hours later and they had it so we went back to get it.
Overall I was very disapointed. I don't think I would stay here again unless I had no other choice. I have stayed at other Formule 1's before and they were far better than this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Canberra

Address: 15 Tay Street | Antill Street, Watson, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 )
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Greater Canberra > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Budget Canberra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Canberra Hotel Canberra
Formule 1 Hotel Canberra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Canberra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.