We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great group visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Dinosaur Museum

National Dinosaur Museum
Cnr Gold Creek Road and Barton Highway, 2913, Australia
(02) 6230 2655
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It's a fantastic place to learn about dinosaurs and includes those found in Australia. Very interesting.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great group visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a recent sports visit to Canberra our group of girls made two visits to the dino museum. The first time was to visit the entire museum and he dinosaurs and the second was for another "trawl" through he fantastic shop. All had a great time. Will definitely be returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDMCanberra, Social Media Manager at National Dinosaur Museum, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your trip to our museum. We're very excited to hear that you liked the museum so much you visited twice! We hope the rest of your time in Canberra was as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

$14 per adult is way too much for a place that takes less than an hour to complete.
I read all the facts.
Unless you have children to take dont bother.
I should of read the write ups before I left on this place, but did this on the spur of the moment.
Unless you have kids around the 5-8 year mark it would be a waste of time and money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDMCanberra, Social Media Manager at National Dinosaur Museum, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to our museum. We do try to cater for people of all ages, and we are regularly upgrading the exhibits and attractions. We appreciate your feedback and for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and not very suitable for Under 5s”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This museum was a great diappointment. I took my two boys today (2 and 4). The entry fee was incredibly steep $37 for 2 adults, a four year old and a toddler. I was so angry at the end as it was a complete waste of money for a 4 year old, and I cannot understand why they charge for Under 5s at all. The international standard seems to be under 5 or under 12 free. But here it was 4.

Anyway, despite the hefty fee, my 4 year old was given a couple of pieces of paper to do some brass rubbings and a trail that required him to be able to hold his attention long enough to find information on tiny laminated display cards that looked very amateur and with difficult to read text. Impossible. He did the dot-to-dot on the back, for which he was given a fossil at the end. The only good thing.

Otherwise, this was a very poor exhibition. We have been to many museums across the world and this seemed thrown together and aimed at the entirely wrong market. A teenager interested in dinosaurs, or an adult who never learnt enough - then this is for you. Under 12s? Bad news. A curious mix of signs that say 'do not touch the exibit' right next to signs that say 'touch this'. A fossil of a dinosaur footprint might interest older kids for a couple of seconds - under 5s are not remotely interested. The best thing was the free bit - the dinosaur statues outside - that's where we spent most of our time. The kids would have been completely happy playing there for an hour then heading to the gift shop. Instead, I came away angry that a museum had charged us so much for something so badly presented and inappropriate for small children. Incidentally, the shop space is about 25% of their available floor space. And the lift makes you go through the shop. Be warned.

But the WORST thing, that made the most angry, is that they were evidently aware how lacking the museum is for under 5s and decided the solution was to put a play area directly to the left as you walk in. Sure, there are some puzzles and some very heavy fossils to look at (which, under 5s cannot lift because they are so heavy and need help to move them under the magnifying glass), but the real OFFENCE was the very large TELEVISION playing cartoon dinosaurs on a loop. The tv can be seen from the entrance, and is accompanied by beanbags and seats and is the focal point of the interactive area. So, actually, I paid $37 for my kids to watch TV. NOT ACCEPTABLE. They saw it as soon as they walked in, wouldn't shut up about it as we walked around the exhibits, and then there was no way I could TURN IT OFF when I wanted to get them away from it! This, for me, was the worst decision the management of this very strange and badly planned/designed/executed museum have made. Even something faintly educational would be better than this - but fluro cartoon dinosaurs is not in any way alright by me.

So, I would say, wait until your kids are 7 or 8 before going here, and are really greedy for detailed, adult knowledge of dinosaurs. Then it might be worth it, if your kids don't expect a bit more than colour printed paper laminated and blu-tacked up with some fossils and mechanical toy dinosaurs.

Bitterly, bitterly disappointed. (And then the cheap dinosaur toy we bought our toddler in the shop ($4) broke before we had even left the shop... double disappointment).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDMCanberra, Social Media Manager at National Dinosaur Museum, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the National Dinosaur Museum. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to write.

In response to your feedback, our admission prices are in line with other attractions in the Canberra region such as Questacon, Cockington Green, Canberra Walk-in Aviary, and others, who all ask for children's admission prices for children 4-16 years of age.

While we do try to tailor our exhibits to people of all age groups, not everyone will have the same experience when they visit. As you found, there were many activities that were targeted at a younger age group, however, as not all children are the same, it is difficult to predict that what will stimulate one child will stimulate another.

As for the television, the cartoon that you saw playing is Dinosaur Train which is actually quite educational. The show features many different dinosaurs and travels through the Triassic, Jurassic, and Cretaceous periods. At the end of every episode there is a segment with Dr Scott Sampson, who is a world-renowned palaeontologist. This is not the only DVD we have featuring on our television; this week we have Flying Monsters, a BAFTA winning documentary starring David Attenborough. All of which are available for purchase in our gift shop.

We are sorry that the toy you bought broke, however, as you were still in the store, if you had pointed this out to one of our employees, we would have been more than happy to replace it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must for little kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We took our toddler here who had the best morning walking around the dinosaurs. Outside on the front there are some fabulous large models. The entry fee is a little steep but not too bad given the time we spent in there and the activities available. on entry inside, there is a small museum upstairs with moving dinosaurs and some more scientific info. Downstairs there is an area for the kids with colouring in, puzzles and pictures. The shop is generally pretty affordable and there are some great fossils and rocks.
Overall, this place exceeded my expectations and more importantly kept my 2 year old entertained.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDMCanberra, Social Media Manager at National Dinosaur Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the detailed feedback - we always appreciate hearing about your experience at our museum. We try to cater for children of all ages, so it is great to hear that your two-year-old enjoyed himself or herself. Thank you for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kids loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place to take the kids for a couple of hours of fun (mine are 3 and 5) with enough to keep it interesting for parents too. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDMCanberra, Social Media Manager at National Dinosaur Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! While we know dinosaurs are always fun for young children, we're happy to hear that you got something out of the experience too. Our dinosaur and fossil knowledge is always being updated by palaeontologists, so there is always something new to learn about these amazing creatures. Thanks for visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Dinosaur Museum also viewed

Canberra, Greater Canberra
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 
Nicholls, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to National Dinosaur Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Dinosaur Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Dinosaur Museum to your Saves list