We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing and easy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Radomiri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Radomiri Hotel to your Saves list
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dobrota 220 | Kotor 85330, Dobrota, Kotor, Montenegro   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing and easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Could not recommend the hotel or the staff enough. Perfect for myself and my partner. Made everything easy and delicious!

Staff very helpful and we always felt looked after. The private jetty made the place within a quiet area

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Harry B,
so great of you to write us a review! Thank you very much. It was a pleasure having you in Palazzo Radomiri always smiling and in a good mood! Hope to see you again in the future!
Hello from all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    41
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

During my recent holiday to Europe with my parents, we have travelled to Montenegro. We have stayed in the family suite at Palazzo Radomiri hotel which was perfect for three of us. I had one separate room all for myself! Although there is no sandy beaches around, I loved the sea-side location of the hotel with a deck we have used to hang out during the day. There is Wi-fi in most of the areas, so I could stay in touch with my friends at all times. I liked our trip to Perast village and Kotor - UNESCO World Heritage Site. We have even climbed a wall that surrounds this old town. There are many bars and cafes in Kotor too. My parents enjoyed local food very much, especially meat in the hotel's restaurant, I was more enjoying playing with the owners' puppy or riding a hotel's bike along the village coastline!
The experience made me want to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear NThomas916,
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with your family and had much fun. We do sincerely hope that you will come back to Montenegro in the future and visit us again. Best regards from all the staff in Palazzo Radomiri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Palazzo Radomiri is a relaxing albeit pricey boutique hotel located on the Bay of Kotor.

On the positive side of the ledger, Palazzo is a generally beautiful property with stunning views. The highlights of the property are the two docks at the base of the hotel that extend into the Bay of Kotor, allowing for swimming, kayaking, or simply relaxing and reading on one of Palazzo's many comfortable beach chairs. Furthermore, Palazzo offers free yoga at 8:30am on one of the two docks, which was a sublime experience. Our room, at $200/night, was compact but efficient, with a newly-renovated bathroom and powerful air conditioning. And the included breakfast consisted of an array of choices, ranging from healthy to decadent. The service was generally solid, especially from the helpful front desk employees. English-fluency abounded from the entire staff. And the other guests, generally English-speaking couples, were extraordinarily friendly.

On the negative side of the ledger, Palazzo didn't strike us as a particularly good value. The dinner options were expensive (fish entrees ranged from EUR 20-50), with prices in line with Galion, Kotor's flagship restaurant, yet the food quality, creativity and service fell far short of the ambitious pricing. A large bottle of still water to enjoy near the bay cost EUR 4, a kayak cost EUR 10/hour to rent, and the dinner waiter was quick to note that gratuity was not included, all of which led my wife and I to feel that we were being nickled-and-dimed. Also, the property was missing a certain sparkle that I was expecting -- some of the utility grates and handrails were rusting, and the feeble comforter on the bed in our room was straight out of a Travelodge or Days Inn, with the consistency of 100 grit sandpaper.

Palazzo's location, in my opinion, is a mixed bag, with benefits and drawbacks. As others have mentioned, Dobrota is a peaceful suburb of Kotor, with beautiful views and none of the crowds. Unfortunately, Kotor is a 40+ minute walk or stressful 10 minute drive from Dobrota. As a result, any trip to Kotor is a time-consuming endeavor. At times, we wished we were closer to the action, especially given Palazzo's mediocre food options.

In sum, we enjoyed our time at Palazzo, believing it to be an especially relaxing conduit for enjoying the stunning Bay of Kotor. Unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations of being a true luxury boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Andrew W,
Thank you for posting your detailed review. We appreciate every word you have written and agree with most of your remarks. Considering that you have rated our hotel with mark 3, we were very surprised however, to read that you have actually enjoyed your stay overall and written about many positive things.
I understand that every part of your review is your personal opinion, however there are couple of remarks I would like to point out:
We base our prices on the average of hotels and restaurants in Montenegro of our quality. Our fish entrees are around 10- 12 euros, not 20 – 50 euros as in your review. An average 3 course meal for 2 people at our place (including a beefsteak for example) and a glass of wine is around 70/80€, which is reasonable for a seaside restaurant of our quality. We offer authentic local and regional as well as Dalmatian cuisine, which matches our hotels' story and historical ambient. It is sad that it is not to your taste, but we have many returning clients, who don't think it is mediocre and respect our restaurant for they know that we use only the freshest, organic produce, hand picked by our Chef. He is famous around Croatia and Montenegro, with bags of experience from around the world.
Many apologies that you have felt nickled-and-dimed as well, as it is absolutely not our intention. Most likely, waiter has recognised that you are from USA and simply pointed out that we do not have service charge, or additional taxes like in some other countries. I did interview the staff and they were surprised and very apologetic that you felt bad because of that. I hope it was a misunderstanding!

RUST you were mentioning appears very quickly here, especially this year with so many rainy days! We paint everything often and regularly, but sea proximity, lots of oxygen and this year's high humidity did not help. The whole hotel, as well as the rooms that you have nicely noticed, were just renovated this spring, everything painted as well.

By COMFORTERS you probably meant decorative bed covers, which are not intended for covering during a sleep. We have high quality linen and blankets that go into linen covers. In case you have covered with a bed cover, I am really sorry it was not as delicate as you have anticipated.

And lastly, we have found use of the word "TIRED" in the context of a historical hotel very interesting. Palazzo Radomiri is a small independent hotel situated in a historical building that is almost 300 years old, which was painstakingly renovated from the ruins and took several years. Most of the furniture are antiques from Boka Kotorska region. Since the opening, the owners are present at all times and very aware, regularly updating, developing and constantly working on the hotel. If something gets broken or misplaced, it is dealt with as soon as possible.
Hoping that you might visit Palazzo Radomiri one day again for a better experience.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked the two largest suites at this hotel for a two day stay at the end of a very long trip, and wished we had been able to stay for longer and just really soak up the ambience b/c when we arrived I realized it was a true gem. If you're going to stay here try to make sure you have at least one day for just enjoying the property itself before you head out to see other things. You won't need more than a couple of hours in Kotor itself for sightseeing (you could go into town either early morning to hike the walls or late afternoon to sit in the plaza for example). We wasted a whole day going over to have lunch at Sveti Stefan (lovely) but Budva itself is chaotic, dirty and just a traffic nightmare. I so wished we had just spent more time enjoying the views of the bay at Palazzo Radomiri instead of in the car.

This hotel is small and charming, it is a very old property which has been completely remodeled. The owners have a very nice taste and you can tell that they have invested a lot of their personalities into the decor. Our rooms were spacious (each suite had 2 bedrooms and one bath with a foyer so they are perfect for families of 4). We were very comfortable and enjoyed them very much.

The hotel has a waterfront dock (technically you cross the street but we never saw any cars go by, it's just a small road really so practically the dock is attached to the property) where there are plenty of sun chairs for sunbathing or swimming and a covered area for those seeking shade. We also kayaked one morning which was just fantastic and I highly recommend it - beautiful views, easy and fun - since the water is calm and there aren't many boats it was a perfect kayak for beginners. Our children made use of the interior swimming pool which was perfect for them as the swimming off the dock isn't shallow enough for wading in for kids.)

Breakfast is a choice of 4 different menus which makes it possible to vary your breakfast from day to day, which I thought was nice. We also had dinner one night in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Actually the restaurant for dinner is a bit of a hidden gem - the food was so good I was surprised there weren't more people dining there at night. And the outdoor tables under the vines are just lovely.

Lastly the owners were very present at the hotel while we were there - a lovely couple who were eager to receive us and to chat and were just generally very nice to meet. I couldn't have been happier that we decided to stay here and I am *so* glad that we didn't make the mistake of staying in old town Kotor which as far as I could tell is a 24 hour party where no property would have the views of the bay that this one does. This is by far the best location - direct views out over the bay and mountains and quiet and peaceful as can be. I highly recommend it if you're going to Montenegro.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the two-bedroom suites, they are on the top floor and have direct views out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have arrived to Kotor from Tivat airport and although the hotel is supposed to be only a short drive, we got stuck in the traffic jam for it seemed eternity! The crowds were pouring from the cruisers and crossing the only road available without pedestrian crossing signal on the crosswalk! Rows of cars had to wait every tourist to cross from marina exit to the main gate of Kotor, obviously unaware that it is actually a road. We were surprised how disorganized the entrance to Kotor is. So, when we have finally arrived to Palazzo Radomiri in a quite an agitated state, we were relieved by the calmness of the place and that the crowds of tourists with cameras and socks'n'sandals were behind!
We have decided not to leave the hotel for our entire stay and we are grateful to our initial ordeal with the traffic, because it made us stay in the hotel and we've had an amazing time.
We loved everything! From excellent cocktails to divine food. I loved having my breakfast outside in the garden, as well as every other meal as a matter of fact. Fish and risottos are phenomenal, but mostly I loved octopus meal. We had to order it in advance, because it is a slow cooked for few hours, but when we got it - it was so worth it!
We have stayed in a standard room, which is small, but we didn't mind it at all. We spent most of our time outside and within the hotel premises.There are so many different spaces you can use and spend your time, you only need a room to sleep in!
Staff is truly fantastic and friendly. By the time we had to leave, we felt like we are leaving our family. Luckily there were no cruisers on our way back to the airport and we have arrived in less then 20 minutes.
Will definitely return! Thank you all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Palazzo Radomiri for a couple of nights mid way through our honeymoon break. We drove in from Dubrovnik which allowed us to view the incredible landscapes the area had to offer. The hotel itself has a wonderful position overlooking the sea and mountains. We were greeted warmly and shown around. All the bedrooms are at the front of the building and therefore have the sea and mountains views which is a nice touch. The amenities are good: a bar, restaurant, private beach area, courtyard swimming pool, gym, sauna, spa, kayaks, morning yoga and a number of pretty terraces for an afternoon nap or early evening sun downer. We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel both of which we're fresh and tasty. For dinner we got a cab (5 minutes/5 euros) into the old town where there are a plethora of restaurants serving great seafood dishes.
There are however some areas we thought the hotel could improve upon - the rooms are quirky and interesting, and ours (202) was small - only 1 person either side of the room at one time small. The bathroom even smaller housing only a narrow shower which at a small 5'2" I found awkward and claustrophobic and was unable to shower without accidentally turning it off or having the shower curtain stuck to my face. The room also lacked plug points and a full length mirror. The rooms are also in no way sound proof and we woken both nights by people coming in/out, pipes going and furniture being dragged across the floor.
It's a beautiful hotel in a fantastic spot with a lot if offer but if you're after a big room it would be worth paying the extra for a suite.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this small, family run hotel.
The outstanding feature is the personal service from the small staff, all of whom we felt we knew by the time we left.
A beautiful location in a tastefully converted ancient building and excellent food and drink.
The walk down to Kotor old town along the waterside is pleasant and scenic, but quite a bit longer than we had initially imagined.
Recommended without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo R, Public Relations Manager at Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear dred11,
Thank you for taking some time and sharing your experience by writing this beautiful review. We would be happy to host you again sometimes in the future.
Best regards from Montenegro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Radomiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Radomiri Hotel

Address: Dobrota 220 | Kotor 85330, Dobrota, Kotor, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Radomiri Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extraordinary historical hotel, nested in an early 18th century captains palace, on the waterfront of Boka Bay in Montenegro, restored to breathtaking excellence, opens the door to exquisite guests to enjoy delicious food to everybody's taste, made by a renown chef and served on a pleasurable terrace where silence is broken only by the sound of sea waves at the arm length from the dining tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Palazzo Radomiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Radomiri Palazzo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Radomiri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.