We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right next to the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montenegro Hostel 4U

Montenegro Hostel 4U
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Montenegro Hostel 4U to your Saves list
Montenegro Hostel 4U
Donji put bb, Dobrota, Kotor 85330, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Right next to the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Not a far walk from the bus station and was the easiest hostel to find on our travels. The place is right next to the beach which was nice and quiet to relax on during the day. The rooms were nice with air conditioning and a bathroom for each room. The common room was nice as well, with a kitchen, sofas, tables, tv and computer. The only negative was that people kept getting switched around to different rooms and so when i came back from the beach one day, i found someone else's stuff all over the bed i was told i was sleeping in. The hostel staff had no idea herself what had happened as she had shown me the bed that morning. At midnight, i still hadn't found who's stuff it was and so went back to the lady and asked what was happening. Looking not very happy that i had asked, the women looked around and found an empty bed, laid it and said i was sleeping there instead. So not the greatest organisation I thought and from other travelers they felt the same. However for the price and the brilliant location, i would recommend travelers to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hostel is fine. It has a mix of dorm rooms with a slightly unusual layout that separates the dorms a bit more which I think makes it more comfortable. It is fairly clean. The bathrooms are in need of repair/upgrade and smell bad. It is about a 20 min walk from the bus station with a pack on. It is located across the road from a small beach and 50m from a small grocery store. The hostel has air conditioning in the dorm rooms which is good in summer. It is a friendly place that is good but nothing special. There is a small kitchen for self catering on the top floor in the common room. The common room is closed at about 10-11pm each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Worse hostel till now. Didn't feel like home at all, booked via hostelworld, but they didn't check their e-mail so it was not sure if there was a bed for us....! Everything is chaos, hostel is occupied by students, which feels weird, like people living at the hostel. So now traveller atmosphere at all. Was not clean. Location is good, it is cheap and we slept, but that was all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The hostel is right by the water and there are a few bars and restaurants allong the front. The old town is a 10-15 minute walk away but quite a pleasant walk. If you go in the west entrance by the shopping mall that is a quick way to get into the old town. Our room was clean but it was pretty hot. We happened to be there when it was 40 degrees though!

The owner/manager is hilarious! very dry sense of humour that seems to have upset some visitors but he is a really cool guy and looks like Charlie Sheen! We found him very helpfull. The hostel was very friendly and we would highly recomend staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

So far my worst hostel / hotel / homestay / B&B whatever experience.

These three things really pushed me to the limits with the staff here..

1 - No fan / AC in the room on a hot and humid summer day with temperatures hitting 34 deg C. When asked for a fan we were told that there are no fans in the premises.. funny

2 - Booked an en suite room and ended up with a room without a toilet, a toilet near the common lounge area is supposedly the toilet for your use, it had a board stuck on it which read "This toilet belongs to the private en suite room" there were no keys provided to the toilet, this toilet is a launderette with washing machine and dryer inside.

3- All our questions to the staff were responded with a standard and straight face replies of "NO"

Well typically one dosen't expect much out of a hostel but when owners don't keep up to the promises made during booking, it is very annoying... This hostel unfortunately way down that path.

My suggestion is "DO NOT STAY" here....

Room Tip: Do not book the en suite room chances are you will end up with a room with a common toilet next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean, safe, great value, free parking, wifi in rooms, huge lockers next to bed.

I stayed for a full day and a night. Lovely place, great location. The beach is 5 steps away across the road, Kotor old town is a 10 minute leisurely walk.
The rooms are clean, nicely air-conditioned and wireless internet worked in my room.
I travelled by car and It is actually very easy to find but my GPS system didn't know the address and sent me driving into walls and up windy streets narrower then my car ... before you go, look up the address and spot and print it off Google Maps or similar.
I called the hostel and the owner (?) (or maybe 'just' the guy that worked there) came to pick me up when I couldn't find the place. I parked at a nearby shopping mall and he walked there and drove back with me. Super!!
Very nice people, a variety of travelers and clean and safe. And cheap. What more do you want?
Enjoy Kotor!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm. It was good, a little small (mind you I had a BIG suitcase). Comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montenegro Hostel 4U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montenegro Hostel 4U

Address: Donji put bb, Dobrota, Kotor 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor > Dobrota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montenegro hostel 4u wonderful house a few meters from the beach great location! Which is just a 5 minute walk to the old town, 10 min from the bus station. It has a beautiful view of the sea and mountains. Hostel Montenegro 4U and cooperate with the restaurant provides breakfast, lunch, dinner with incredible low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Montenegro Hostel 4U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montenegro Hostel 4U, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.