We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forza Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Forza Mare Hotel to your Saves list
Forza Mare Hotel
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor 85 330, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dobrota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Upon arrival at the hotel Forza Mare our expectations were low having previously stayed at the hotel Astoria in Budva, another 'boutique hotel' only costing €15 less a night than the Forza Mare. Thankfully though, from the moment we arrived, this hotel surpassed our expectations.

On checking into our spacious room with side sea view (others have complained about this, but if you want full sea view you have to pay for it - €40 more per night), we were greeted with 2 complementary mini bottles of cava and a plate of fruit and this set the tone for our stay.

The location of the hotel is stunning and its private beach/jetty is by far the best on the stretch of coast.

Each and every staff member was incredibly friendly and helpful, going out of their way to talk to guests so at the end of 3 nights they felt like friends rather than staff.

Finally the food. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide variety of both cold and hot food, but the star is the hotel's restaurant which has a wide range of fish and seafood dishes and an extensive wine menu. The grilled octopus was the best I've ever eaten?

In short this hotel is not cheap - €160 p/n cheapest room, low season, but when you see what you're actually getting, the hotel is actually excellent value for money.

Stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We moved here on very short notice having not particularly like the hotel astoria in Kotor(see separate review) and there is honestly no comparison between the two hotels . The location of Forza Mare is quite simply stunning(on the waters edge) , giving amazing views from the four executive suites. As we booked and arrived on the same day and we are a family of four we had to move rooms a little to accomodate us for the three nights. All of the rooms we stayed in (china, a double and India) were extremely comfortable especially the beds with large well functioning bathrooms (no water supply problems here) and wifi that worked perfectly .
If you can it is worth getting one of the four executive suites with the waters view .
But what really makes this place is the staff, our two children 7 and 6 were treated like royalty (which is not often the case in boutique style hotels). Nothing was too much trouble . They all showed great pride in what they were doing ,going about their jobs with a smile and tremendous professionalism. The restaurant was good , breakfast plentiful.
It is probabley necessary to have a car while you are here as it is 10 mins or so out of Kotor (avoiding all the tourists) and if you,as wedid , are flying out of Dubrovnik try and find the secret border crossing rather than queuing for hours at the main one .
Also try and have a late lunch at Stari Mlini

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in middle tier room on the upper floor (partial sea view on the side) which was funkily styled, extremely comfortable and spacious. The bed was a king size with a very firm (much appreciated) mattress. The bathroom contains a shower cubicle rather than a bath, but it is massive! The setting is beautiful (4km from centre of Kotor town), and the small hotel private beach (sand-less but with very comfortable loungers, free towels etc) is a delightful place to relax. The staff make this hotel exceptional - they are all charming, helpful, friendly, and seem keen to make everyone enjoy their stay as much as possible. The massage service is a bargain (50 euro for 1 hour), and there is waiter/ress service on the hotel beach. The swimming pool is miniscule so if you prefer a pool to the lovely clear expanse of Kotor bay, then this is not for you at all. The restaurant is on the water's edge - a very romantic setting. The food varies from being very good to very average - but it is well worth it for the location. (We found that when we took the waiter's recommendations on both wine and food, we were more satisfied than we selected from the menu without guidance!) There are others good restaurants nearby too (short taxi ride) - Stariye Mlini and Galeon. The buffet breakfast is tasty and diverse. The hotel offers an excellent free collection service from Tivat airport - a real boon for us, but not sure how this works for the many people who will arrive from the much bigger Dubrovnik airport. Free wifi works well throughout the hotel. There is also a computer with internet access for those without their own device. I would avoid this place if you have mobility issues - there is not a lift, and there can be several sets of stairs to negotiate if you are staying on the top floor. Spending 4 nights here was an absolute delight - the whole area is spectacular geographically, and the Forza Mare gets so much right, that I would heartily recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent 3 weeks touring the Balkans in a camper van for our honeymoon, but also stayed in a few hotels too, and Forza Mare was probably our favourite. We stayed in the gorgeous Dubai suite which is on the top floor with an amazing sea view.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and really made us feel special.

We ate at the restaurant one night, which is right on the seafront and the food was excellent, as too were the breakfasts.

It is a bit of a walk to Kotor (about 4km), but the walk is a very pleasant one all along the sea front, and although the hotel is quite expensive I would recommend it, and the Dubai room, for special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenciennes, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Let's start by the good part : the room (Dubai) was very nice,large with a nice bathroom and a wide balcony.The food in the restaurant was good and the service very enjoyable.
But the swimming pool is not a swimming pool but a big bathtub...,the massage services are average for their price and we will also go for the same remarks as some others : the music is not discreet at all and the hotel, as it is very small,can be noisy depending on the other guests around.
Overall, the quality to price ratio is not what it should be...Too bad !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This stay was the only disappointment of our honeymoon, the rest of our hotels through Montenegro and Croatia were lovely.

We were given an ugly room (the ones on the website are gorgeous, but they are not all like that), with a 'side sea view'. ie if we leant out of the window as far as we could and looked around the neighbouring property's balcony which was overlooking our room, then we could just see the sea. We asked if we could move, and the head receptionist said we could upgrade to an executive sea view room for two nights and if we didn't want to move back to the original room for our 3rd night, we could cancel our 3rd night's stay.

We decided to leave after two nights - the hotel is gorgeous, but I could not bear the fact that while in bed I could hear 1) music and any conversation at the reception outside our door and 2) music and everyone at the bar below. The manager then wanted to charge us the whole cost of the room for the 3rd night, shouting at us and threatening to call the Montenegro police. We ended up having to pay a cancellation charge despite our earlier agreement, as he said he could only be held to things in writing!

I'd only stay here if you will enjoy listening to the FAME soundtrack and the similar while lying either on the beach or in your bed, and if you are very careful to stay away from the owner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great location, a boutique hotel with excellent service. We stayed for two nights and it was a very good experience. Hotel is new, rooms are very well equipped, nicely decorated, bathroom is quite big and brand new. Beach is small but very convenient. Staff is excellent and makes the difference vs any peer hotel! Service we got is worth the price. Not suitable for families with children.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forza Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forza Mare Hotel

Address: Kriva ulica bb, Dobrota, Kotor 85 330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor > Dobrota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dobrota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Forza Mare Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxuriously decorated 5-star small hotel Forza Mare is located in Dobrota, at a private beach, on the shore of the Bay of Kotor 3 km from the city center. It offers interestingly decorated rooms, which have different themes and varying interior: Africa, India, Dubai, Japan and China. You can completely unwind and enjoy the warm and friendly ambient of the property. A wellness and spa center is at the guests' disposal, as well as an outdoor swimming pool. The superb, modern a la carte restaurant serves national, Mediterranean and international cuisine. Only fresh, local products are used to prepare the meals. Kotor's old town is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are numerous cultural events being held in the summertime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forza Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forza Mare Hotel Kotor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forza Mare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.