We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and surrounding s, the staff give 100%, nothing is too much trouble.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slaley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Slaley Hall to your Saves list
Slaley Hall
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Northumberland, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and surrounding s, the staff give 100%, nothing is too much trouble.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel must be one of De vere best hotels, in my opinion better than Loch Lomond. The staff are really friendly and often service is above and beyond normal duties. The food was excellent in the Clarity Jug restaurant and again service equal. If you like to play golf the Hunting course is one of the best top 100 courses in the UK. The Priest man course is also very good, however, not as well manicured. We will definitely be revisiting. Thank you all for a great customer experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    463
    266
    146
    81
See reviews for
218
736
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Brilliant short stay, fantastic food and a great golf course.
The spa area is divine, had a great massage by Natasha.
Bedrooms are amazing.
Fantastic greens.
Could'nt fault the staff.
Craster kippers for breakfast, what more can I say !!!!!


I'll be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for a birthday weekend treat with golf and chill out on the agenda.

The rooms were great and a good price and we were off to a smashing start. The golf was great fun on the Hunting Course although slow play was the order of the day and not a single marshall in sight out on the course.

Afternoon tea for the girls was pretty decent and the spa area was lovely, however, dinner in the evening in the Claret Jug was terrible for the price.

A "Pint of Prawns" was really half that with ice and lots of lettuce and little sauce, unedible pork belly which was sent back, then a curry which was attrocious and an overcooked mixed grill. The Eton Mess Dessert was so hard the merigue was unbreakable and sent back too and four of us rattled up a £160 bill for mediocre pub grub.

The a la carte restaurants were scandallously priced for the region with a t-bone rattling in at £38 plus £4 a side, two would struggle to get a 3 course steak dinner for less than £120. London prices without any of the trappings.

Stay and enjoy the golf and spa but eat elsewhere!! Be warned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very impressive building set in beautiful grounds. There was a small army of gardeners keeping the lawns immaculate. Staff very attentive and gave good service. Room was spacious and clean.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay but we thought it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were met at the door by someone to park the car and another to take our luggage to our room. Being disabled, my husband does not manage stairs or walk very far and the concern for his well being was second to none. Unfortunately our room, although on the same floor as reception, was quite a walk away. The porter was very understanding and even offered to get a wheel chair for us. The room was large, airy and well decorated with very comfortable beds. All usual amenities including fruit teas and hot chocolate, a safe and a fridge (very useful for insulin). We ate in Hadrian's Brasserie both nights and were very impressed with both service and quality of food. Breakfast was mainly self service but so much hot and cold choice, you could not fail to find something that you liked. All staff were most pleasant and helpful throughout the hotel. If I had to find a criticism it would be that the wood smoke smell was a bit overpowering in the whisky lounge where we sat to finish our wine before bed. We stayed here on a 2 night B & B deal for £99 and spent approximately another £200 in the restaurant with wine and drinks. Would definitely go again and recommend to anyone. Obviously it is a golfers paradise but even if you don't play (like us) it really is a most wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We found the room was a little too warm even though it had air conditioning. We think there was als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent 2 days at Staley Hall. It seemed to have everything that we wanted!!
.. I will say the weather was not very good. our room was quite small (premier Inn a lot better and cheaper) The television was at least 15 years old. There was breakfast trays outside bedrooms when we were going down for dinner.
Evening meal was the same for the two nights. Breakfast was a poor buffet. Butter was 1 pat per person.unbelievable. You could get more if you could catch the eye of a waiter.
On the good side, the duvet & pillows were feather and down.
The edwardian decor was very dark and uninviting, and the reception staff not at all welcoming unless you drove up in a very posh car

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed on the way up to the Fairmont St Andrews for our anniversary weekend and couldn't fault any part or the stay . Service was really good both in the main hotel and restaurant ..its all about first impressions and this was a good one .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slaley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slaley Hall

Address: | Northumberland, Slaley, Hexham NE47 0BX, England (Formerly De Vere Slaley Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Slaley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slaley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slaley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not 100, not 500 but 1000 acres of Northumberland moorland and forest play home to this magnificent, elegant Edwardian mansion. That the interiors are almost as dramatic as the exterior says it all. This is very old world grandeur with a modern twist. Bask in the warmth of the reception you receive on arrival, dine at Hadrian's Brasserie, or at the Duke's Grill. Indulge with a Vichy water spa treatment or just flop in the fantastic indoor pool. The great outdoors doesn’t get much greater. After a bracing country walk in the wilds, or round on our championship golf course, retire to the Claret Jug and the 19th Bar for a stiff brandy. Surely you deserve it ? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Slaley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Slaley Hall Hotel Hexham
De Vere Slaley Hall Hexham
Hall Hotel Slaley
Hall Slaley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slaley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.