We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for one night only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rumblie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rumblie to your Saves list
The Rumblie
Gergask Avenue, Laggan PH20 1AH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Laggan B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Portree
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“for one night only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for one noght on 10th May 2012. Taken me a wee while to get round to review! But this was a first rate B&B. Spacious, comfortable, well-equipped bedroom with stunning en-suite bathroom. Perfect for some quiet relaxation.
Breakfast was excellent too.

Room Tip: I had the downstairs bedroom (a twin room) - the bathroom was 5* hotel standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

After a punishing day riding the Correyaireck pass I needed acomfortable bed and something to eat.Fortunately our tour operator had booked us into The Rumblie.
After a friendly but not over the top welcome from Simon and the opportunity to clean our bikes we were shown to our rooms.
To say we were surprised was an undertsatement. Its the oly time I have had a robe and slippers in a B&B and the facilities were first class especially the drench shower and the comfortable bed.
Much appreciated after a long day riding in the hills.
At dinner the food was superbly prepared by Fionas with in sufficient quatities to keep any hungry MTBer happy.with the ingredients sourced from their own garden.
Afterwards a relaxing few beers in the lounge rounded off what had been a tough day but a perfect evening.
The cost was very reasonable for he quality of the food and accomodation.
It goes without saying that I'll be back.

Room Tip: They do not have a pool my mistake on the above ratings but who cares
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We found this place by accident (courtesy of SMARTBOX) and were lucky enough to secure a booking. To be honest you'd probably pass by without giving the place a second thought, but once inside it was clearly evident why all the previous reviews raved about the place.
Simon & Fiona are 'Green' enthusiasts and recyclables and organic food are a prominent feature in what can only be described as a 1st class B&B where hospitality and genuine friendliness are paramount. A beautiful feature garden surrounds the house, where chickens roam freely among the many home grown vegetables which feature heavily in the lovingly prepared food offered to the residents. We we lucky enough to stay on one of the nights Fiona made her signature dish of rhubarb crumble which by my wife's account is "to die for", and a vast array of organic produce at breakfast really put the icing on the cake.
The lounge is a real home-from-home where we relaxed and enjoyed a drink from the well stocked bar.
The bedroom was immaculate, modernly decorated and well appointed offering excellent views of the local scenery, with a very high standard en suite shower room which made for a really pleasant stay.
The couples attention to the comfort of their guests is second to none, both being excellent conversationalists who will gladly spend time offering their local knowledge to enhance your stay, and the welcome signs on the window for cyclists and walkers are testament to their desire to faciltate a memorable break for you whatever turns your crank.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

the exterior does not do justice to the friendly welcome and lovely interior to be experienced here, although the grey dull weather probably didnt help. the attention to detail for the rooms is superb, the cleanliness is excellent, with the facilities in the rooms as good as many five star hotels. the food was fabulous although not too sure about the communal table for meals. a great stay which we hope to repeat sometime this year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are so happy we chose to stay at The Rumblie. Simon and Fiona offer the best in hospitality, customer service, and attention to detail. The meals were delicious! Things we enjoyed most: their organic vegetables and home made bread; their veggie garden with free range chickens; watching the birds (incl. pheasants and a partridge) as we ate breakfast; large, comfortable ensuite room; large, diverse library in the living room for guests to peruse/read; computer for guest use. Let's not forget - laundry room facilities - yeah! :) Each night we were there, guests would meet in the living room to chat or read. Very friendly atmosphere. The countryside around The Rumblie is beautiful and serene. Definitely somewhere we will revisit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I stummbled across The Rumblie on the web and what a lovely find, home from home and some.

My room on opening the door was very grand 'for a B&B'. A good sized clean room, no double bed here, the bed was huge. At 6' 2" this bed was still large with lovely clean linen and 'His n Hers' dressing gowns. The tea tray again had a good selection of teas and its own Cafetiere with 'proper' coffee, no UHT milk ohh no, real milk in the fridge downstairs to help yourself too.
The 'little things' here have been covered, when you forget your toothbrush, only realising just before you go to bed, I looked in the bathroom and found sealed packages containing a toothbrush and toothpaste in case of such 'emergency.

As I arrived in the evening I had decided to stay in for the evening meal after winding down in front of the fire. Lovely pumpkin soup with more homemade walnut bread than I could eat, followed by a healthy main course and a little treat for pudding. An individual portion of rhubarb and ginger crumble with cream.

Breakfast the next morning was just as good, an excellent and plentiful selection of cereal and fruit salad.................................followed by a Scottish fat boys breakfast that sustained me until the evening.

Review by Mr UKJACKS.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I can't add much to what the other reviewers said- the nicest people, amazing food, comfortable accomodations. We spent two nights while walking the East Highland Way and it so nice to be in the same place for two nights. We ordered dinner the first night and it was so good we begged to be able to order it for the second night. It was such a welcome atmosphere we spent the evenings in the guest lounge chatting with the other guests- so friendly! Simon and Fiona were so nice and full of suggestions on the walk. It was sad to walk away.
If you're a Monarch of the Glen fan, you really want to stay here as they have accumulated quite a treasure trove of things from the show.

Room Tip: All the rooms are grand! I guess- I only saw ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rumblie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rumblie

Address: Gergask Avenue, Laggan PH20 1AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Laggan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rumblie offers welcoming, relaxed and friendly accommodation in the village of Laggan, by Newtonmore; in the heart of the highlands and in the Cairngorms National Park. It provides one twin and two double bedrooms all en-suite. We are an eco-friendly place to stay offering organic and fair-trade products; along with home grown and home-made breads & jams featuring in our breakfasts. Our evening meals are usually over 90% organic or home grown with a focus on local produce and sustainability. We are just 2 miles from Wolftrax Mountain Biking Centre; this region is ideal for exploring and you will find yourself amid spectacular scenery discovering stunning trails to forest roads via wonderful natural single track. With over 50 Munro's locally & many Walking routes including the Corrieyairack Pass, the East Highland Way and Creag Meagaidh you have much to choose from. We offer free Wi-Fi, washing and drying facilities, cycle store, guest lounge, a tranquil garden, and much more. Laggan was the fictional "Glenbogle" in Monarch of the Glen where you can see many of the filming locations used. We are open from February to the end of November. Listed in Peter Irvine's "Scotland The Best" latest edition as one of the 6 Great Highland B&Bs, – "eco-friendly and people friendly B&B which takes its green agenda seriously". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Rumblie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rumblie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.